Mistblade Shinobi

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Planechase Anthology (PCA) Common
Planechase 2012 Edition (PC2) Common
Betrayers of Kamigawa (BOK) Common

Combos Browse all

Mistblade Shinobi

Creature — Human Ninja

Ninjutsu _(, Return an unblocked attacker you control to hand: Put this card into play from your hand tapped and attacking.) _

Whenever Mistblade Shinobi deals combat damage to a player, you may return target creature that player controls to its owner's hand.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

PCA

PC2

BOK

Ebay

Mistblade Shinobi Discussion

Kogarashi on When do ninjutsu effects trigger?

2 weeks ago

As a note, ninjutsu itself doesn't trigger. It's an activated ability. The requirements to be able to activate it are that you must have an attacking creature that hasn't been blocked. This means you can't activate ninjutsu until the declare blockers step, and you have through the end of combat step to do so, when your attackers are no longer officially attacking. However, as long as you have priority during any of those steps, you can activate ninjutsu, so you could use Quickling to bounce your blocked Mistblade Shinobi and then use the Mistblade's ninjutsu ability to swap it with Faerie Miscreant.

And as DragonKing90 said, while first strike can cause the combat phase to have two combat damage steps, the combat phase will only have one declare blockers step no matter what, so using ninjutsu will not reset that.

DragonKing90 on When do ninjutsu effects trigger?

2 weeks ago
  1. yes you can pay the ninjutsu cost for Mistblade Shinobi.

  2. you can either ninjutsu before damage, or after damage, but the combat damage step only happens once. only 1 creature deals its damage. the only exception to this is if first strike is involved. if the unblocked creature has first strike (or double strike) it can deal its damage in the first strike damage step, then you can ninjutsu before the normal damage step to allow the ninja to deal damage as well.

  3. blockers are only declared once. the opponent does not get to declare blockers again. if such a thing were allowed it would completely defeat the purpose of the ninjutsu mechanic to begin with, which is to showcase the ninja's specialty in stealth and surprise tactics.

mfogle on When do ninjutsu effects trigger?

2 weeks ago

An extremely specific example that creates a step by step analysis for how "fast" ninjutsu effects are:

Assume you have 2 creatures on the field; Mistblade Shinobi and Faerie Miscreant. You also have a Quickling and a Ninja of the Deep Hours in your hand with plenty available mana.

You declare both creatures are attacking, then the opponent declares he will block Mistblade Shinobi but not Faerie Miscreant.

You then play Quickling with flash and return the Mistblade Shinobi to your hand with Quickling etb effect, removing the Mistblade Shinobi from combat before damge is dealt.

From there, can you pay the ninjutsu cost for Mistblade Shinobi and return the Faerie Miscreant to your hand within that same combat?

The second part to this question is whether ninjas are ninjutsu'd in before the damage step (after declare blockers) or afterwards, so that the ninja's and the unblocked attacker's damage are both applied?

If the latter is the case can a second ninjutsu be activated after the first has dealt damage?

Finally, once a ninjutsu is used, and the ninja is summoned (tapped and attacking), does the opponent get to declare blockers again?

Apologies for the long explanation, but i felt it necessary to avoid confusion.

Icbrgr on Fairy Two-Step

1 month ago

with 4 toughness becoming so popular in the format i think Oona's Gatewarden is a worthy 1 drop for scarring the more beefy bodies out there. I have a personal love/hate for Familiar's Ruse... although straying away from faerie tribal ninjas have great synergy with Fae ETB effects. Mistblade Shinobi/Ninja of the Deep Hours are interesting substitutes that can give the deck a bit more versatility.... Glaring Spotlight is also neat.

PTsmitty on Ninja Upgrades/Binder for sale/trade

1 month ago

I recently took apart the planechase anthology decks so I have a few of the ninja cards people have been getting for their Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow decks. I have:
Ink-Eyes, Servant of Oni
Sakashima's Student
2x Ninja of the Deep Hours
Walker of Secret Ways
Higure, the Still Wind
Mistblade Shinobi
Throat Slitter
Okiba-Gang Shinobi
Silent-Blade Oni

I have noticed while making this thread that the hyperlink is not reflecting the updated price for several of the cards so check on the TCGplayer website will be needed. The rest of my binder is for sale as well as long as I receive a fair offer based on the TCGplayer pricing. As always, I am willing to explore trades as well. My biggest wants right now are Surgical Extraction, Blackcleave Cliffs, and Leyline of the Void. Just let me know if we can work anything out.

Neotrup on How do ninjas interact with ...

2 months ago

No special rules. If you're attacking with Smuggler's Copter (in which case it has to be a creature) and it isn't blocked, you can return it to your hand as part of the ninjutsu cost of Mistblade Shinobi. If your opponent has a Smuggler's Copter that's a creature (perhaps they crewed it to block something) and your Mistblade Shinobi deals combat damage to them, you can return the copter to their hand with the triggered ability. If your opponent has a Smuggler's Copter that isn't a creature (maybe they have nothing to crew it with), you cannot return it to their hand with Mistblade Shinobi's triggered ability, because it can only target creatures.

student-of-life on How do ninjas interact with ...

2 months ago

Are there any special rules on how ninjas such as Mistblade Shinobi interacts with Smuggler's Copter?

Load more