Torrent of Souls

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Modern Masters 2017 Edition (MM3) Uncommon
Eternal Masters (EMA) Uncommon
Duel Decks: Sorin vs. Tibalt (DDK) Uncommon
Shadowmoor (SHM) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Torrent of Souls

Sorcery

Return up to one target creature card from your graveyard to play if B] was spent to play Torrent of Souls. Creatures target player controls get +2/+0 and gain haste until end of turn if R was spent to play Torrent of Souls. (Do both if BR was spent.)

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

MM3

EMA

DDK

Ebay

Have (4) maR2307 , ironax , Vasbear1 , voidruby
Want (0)

Recent Decks

Load more

Torrent of Souls Discussion

Rhadamanthus on Mycosynth Lattice and Torrent of ...

7 months ago

Nothing happens. Mycosynth Lattice lets you spend the green mana in your example "as if it were" black or red mana, but it isn't actually black or red mana. Torrent of Souls and similar cards only take into account the mana that was actually spent.

There's nothing about this play that's illegal or would otherwise require the game to back up.

GearNoir on Mycosynth Lattice and Torrent of ...

7 months ago

I did some more looking, the clearest similar example I could find was between Celestial Dawn and Firespout.

Dawn states:

  • You may use a different color mana than the color required for spells and abilities that require a specific color. If you do, and the spell or ability checks the actual color of the mana, it can tell the difference.

Spout states:

  • This spell cares about what mana was spent to pay its total cost, not just what mana was spent to pay the hybrid mana symbol in its cost.

  • This spell checks on resolution to see if any mana of the appropriate colors were spent to pay its cost. It doesnt matter how much mana of that color was spent; the effect isnt multiplied.

It seems that this is taken to mean the game looks back at the actual mana used to cast the spell, meaning that though the mana may be used as mana of any color, this effect only takes place when casting, not when the game checks upon resolution.

While Mycosynth Lattice does not have a similar ruling to Celestial Dawn, Torrent of Souls does have similar rulings to Firespout, so I guess the extra abilities would not trigger after all?

acbooster on Mycosynth Lattice and Torrent of ...

7 months ago

See that's where my question comes from. Does Torrent of Souls see it as the color it's being used as, or the color it really is?

GearNoir on Mycosynth Lattice and Torrent of ...

7 months ago

From Mycosynth Lattice's Gatherer:

  • The Lattices third ability lets players spend even colorless mana as though it had a color. However, it doesnt remove restrictions on the mana. For example, Mycosynth Lattice doesnt allow mana from Vedalken Engineer to be used to cast a nonartifact spell._

From Torrent of Souls:

  • This spell cares about what mana was spent to pay its total cost, not just what mana was spent to pay the hybrid mana symbol in its cost.

-This spell checks on resolution to see if any mana of the appropriate colors were spent to pay its cost. It doesnt matter how much mana of that color was spent; the effect isnt multiplied.

I'm going to say that it would make sense that if you declared the mana you were to spend (regardless of actual color on the card) to cast Torrent of Souls to be and or , then the appropriate abilities would trigger? That's how I would see it.

acbooster on Mycosynth Lattice and Torrent of ...

7 months ago

So I opened some packs of MM17 today and got a Torrent of Souls, a card I had forgotten about. I've been using Mycosynth Lattice a lot lately and it made me wonder:

If I have Mycosynth Lattice out and use a green mana to pay for the hybrid red/black and don't use any red or black mana for Torrent of Souls, what happens? Does the spell resolve and do nothing? Does it constitute as an illegal play and the game gets rewound? Or does it accept the green mana as one or the other for the purpose of the spell?

Load more