Serra Avatar

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2018 (C18) Mythic Rare
Commander 2014 (C14) Mythic Rare
Commander 2013 (C13) Mythic Rare
Magic 2013 (M13) Mythic Rare
Urza's Saga (USG) Rare
Promo Set (000) Rare
Magic Online Promo Cards (MOP) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Serra Avatar

Creature — Avatar

Serra Avatar's power and toughness are each equal to your life total.

When Serra Avatar is put into a graveyard from anywhere, shuffle it into its owner's library.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

C18

C14

C13

Ebay

Recent Decks

Serra Avatar Discussion

bryanedds on Angels and Dragons

2 weeks ago

Consider adding the following -

Waves of Aggression - Combat win-con.

Heartless Hidetsugu - Win-con with Gisela, Blade of Goldknight .

Aurelia's Fury, Master Warcraft - Kill-con with Serra Avatar.

Might replace the minor spot-removal in this deck...

LGFlatron on Can Alesha, Who Smiles at ...

3 weeks ago

DragonKing90 is correct, and as stated, the Gatherer entry also explains how it should behave.

Rhadamanthus is also correct, in that there is a difference between a characteristic-defining ability and a static ability that creates a replacement effect.

Cards like Tarmogoyf and Serra Avatar have characteristic-defining abilities, so ruling 604.3 applies:

Ruling 604.3 Show

Cards like Sewer Nemesis and Minion of the Wastes have static abilities that create replacement effects, so ruling 208.2b applies:

Ruling 208.2b Show

Rhadamanthus on Can Alesha, Who Smiles at ...

4 weeks ago

It depends on exactly how the value of * is determined. For cards like Tarmogoyf and Serra Avatar, the ability is constantly updating * to the appropriate value. For cards like Sewer Nemesis or Minion of the Wastes, where the value of * depends on a choice or some other condition that's undefined while the card is in the graveyard, then * will default to 0 while it's in the graveyard.

DragonKing90 on Can Alesha, Who Smiles at ...

4 weeks ago

if you go to the gatherer, it is explained there. under the rulings for Tarmogoyf and Serra Avatar, the rulings state that their abilities work in all zones, not just the battlefield. so in the case of Tarmogoyf, if there are 3+ card types in all graveyards, it cannot be reanimated by Alesha

falc0n1234 on Can Alesha, Who Smiles at ...

4 weeks ago

Alesha, Who Smiles at Death can of course, reanimate creatures in your graveyard with power 2 or less, but can she reanimate cards, like Tarmogoyf, or Serra Avatar that each have * as their power?

Peoyogon on Resplendent Accord

1 month ago

Awesome looking deck! You could consider throwing in a Serra Avatar or two in as an alternate finisher. Also, Luminarch Ascension could be a beast in your deck!

Venturub on Holier than thou

1 month ago

One question: did you consider Condemn, Transmutation,Serra Avatar or Vizkopa Guildmage? Or even Task Force, Nomads en-Kor, Diamond Valley and Animal Boneyard? All those cards are worth to be considered for your deck :)

Load more