|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Khans of Tarkir||Common|
|Duel Decks: Speed vs Cunning||Common|
|2012 Core Set||Common|
|2011 Core Set||Common|
|Duels of the Planeswalkers||Common|
|2010 Core Set||Uncommon|
Combos Browse all
Act of Treason
Gain control of target creature until end of turn. Untap that creature. It gains haste until end of turn. (It can attack and this turn.)
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
Act of Treason Discussion
1 day ago
4 days ago
You know another fun trick? Bazaar Trader. Target 'player' (including you) gains control (permanently) of a creature, artifact, or land that you are in control of (at least until end of turn). Basically Bazaar Trader is worded in such a way that you can keep the things you borrow. Act of Treason to take their creature until end of turn, use Bazaar Trader to give permanent control to yourself of the creature you now only temporarily control, and the new control effect overrides Act of Treason's temporary control effect so that you don't lose control of it at end of turn. Bazaar Trader on board literally turns our Act of Treason-like effects into Control Magic, only without needing the enchantment.
4 days ago
It returns to the control of the player with the most recent control-changing effect in place, or it's owner if there isn't any. There is actually no technical difference between auras like Mind Control and other control-changing effects, as the aura's effect doesn't "overwrite" anything (or otherwise, you wouldn't be able to steal it with Act of Treason in the first place). The only difference is that the control-changing effect doesn't last until end of turn, but only as long as the aura remains attached.
To give an example:
- player B casts Bribery, pulling any random creature from player A's deck. This control-changing effect lasts indefinitely.
- on player C's turn, they cast Mind Control on that creature, taking control over it. Bribery's control-changing effect is still in place, but overwritten by the more recent Mind Control effect.
- on player D's turn, they cast Act of Treason on the same creature. Again, both previous control-changing effects are in place, yet Act is the most recent, so it takes precedence. In the cleanup step, control of the creature returns to player C (who's Mind Control is now the most recent active control-changing effect).
- On player A's turn, they activate Homeward Path's second ability, creating a control-changing effect for all creatures, which also lasts indefinitely and is most recent, so even though Mind Control remains attached, it doesn't do a whole lot at this point.
5 days ago
When Act of Treason or similarly worded cards effect ends at end of turn does the creature return to its owners or previous controllers control? This comes into play if a card was stolen permanently earlier in the game and you target it with Act of Treason. This does not effect creatures with enchantments like Mind Control or Hypnotic Siren as clearly the controller of the enchantment would regain control.
1 week ago
Ill have to replace Act of Treason in my modern B/R aggro deck with Hijack, I havent seen that card before as I dont play standard. Deck seems fun, could be weak to creatureless decks tho? You also might wanna consider buying some cheap dual color lands
1 week ago
This deck isn't standard; Act of Treason, Daybreak Ranger, Evolutionary Leap, Gatstaf Shepherd , Gruul Guildgate, Huntmaster of the Fells, Instigator Gang Flip, Mayor of Avabruck Flip, Might of the Masses, Phytoburst, Rugged Highlands, Scorned Villager, Titan's Strength, Titanic Growth all rotated out.
2 weeks ago
Can you cast Act of Treason on a creature that an opponent has to put it under you control until end of turn, and then cast Cloudshift on it to return it to the battlefield without an "end of turn" effect on it, meaning you'll keep the creature even after the turn ends. I would think so since Act of Treason resolves but the creature still has the end of turn effect, but when you exile and return it, it would lose that effect.
2 weeks ago
If you do exert the Champion in this example, it would only stay tapped during your opponent's untap step if your opponent had exerted it on their previous turn. Note that the reminder text after the Champion's exert ability says "An exerted creature won't untap during your next untap step". The Comprehensive Rules entry for Exert is more specific:
701.37a To exert a permanent, you choose to have it not untap during your next untap step.
Anything that says "you" or "your" is talking to an object's current controller, and you controlled Champion of Rhonas when it was exerted during your turn. It won't affect whether or not it untaps during your opponent's next untap step.