Prison Term

Legality

Format Legality
Noble Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Casual Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
MTG: Commander (CMD) Uncommon
Planechase (HOP) Uncommon
Shadowmoor (SHM) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Prison Term

Enchantment — Aura

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature can't attack or block and its activated abilities can't be played.

Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under an opponent's control, you may attach Prison Term to that creature.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

CMD

HOP

SHM

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Prison Term Discussion

Maccano1 on Daxos The Returned - Prison of Pillows

4 weeks ago

Change Log:

I managed to grab a foil Imperial Seal at a GP, side events are the best!

In:

Imperial Seal, Teferi's Protection

Out:

Prison Term, Windborn Muse

luin on 9 degrees of Flanking

1 month ago

Thanks! I made some other changes to make the mana curve more balanced. The main change consists of 4 Sidewinder Sliver, which can make the combo even more powerful. Then I replaced Prison Term with Nemesis Mask as a secondary combo with a multi-flanker.

KingMathoro on

3 months ago

Alrighty then. For starters I think you are too concerned with mana fixing. In my experience in playing many games of commander what you have is straight overkill. So I would ditch the panoramas and the Warped Landscape, the Transguild Promenade, Shimmering Grotto, Rupture Spire, the Manalith, and Selesnya Keyrune. You really won't need them. I would replace the lands with basics/ and lands like Fortified Village,Canopy Vista, Temple of Plenty, Temple Garden, Selesnya Guildgate. And then for the Manalith and Keyrune drop them for Kodama's Reach and some other enchantments that I will mention below. You will probably want to run as few artifacts as possible for an enchantress build also. I say this because of one of the recommendations that I have. And now onto the card recommendations

First off for the 11 missing cards I will recommend the following as options (emphasis on options, some of these are pricey which is why so many options): Solitary Confinement, Sylvan Library, Exploration, Open the Vaults, Replenish, Green Sun's Zenith, Worship, Ajani's Chosen, Enlightened Tutor, Eternal Witness, Commune with the Gods, Blind Obedience, Authority of the Consuls, Eladamri's Call, Abundant Growth, Utopia Sprawl, Witchbane Orb , Ground Seal, Grand Abolisher, Nyx-Fleece Ram, Sigarda, Host of Herons, Nylea, God of the Hunt, Heliod, God of the Sun, Seal of Cleansing, Kismet, Soul Snare, Sigarda, Heron's Grace, Courser of Kruphix, Prison Term, Starfield of Nyx, opalessence, Overgrowth, and lastly Stony Silence. Stony Silence is a powerful card that excels in commander. Although at the cost of your artifacts activations. I personally like it for an enchantress build. And remember I am not saying that these are end all be all cards but they are in my experience very useful. And since you have options you can just pick and choose what you like and don't like

I also have some ideas for things you should cut from the deck. Things like Nissa, Vastwood Seer  Flip, yeah she's cool and all but she doesn't really fit well with the deck and she can die easily and that can be a hassle. Another card which I would cut is White Sun's Zenith, it takes a lot of mana just for some kitty cats and I it does not perform that well in general. Another card I feel is under performing is Archetype of Endurance, personally Asceticism is better if you are concerned about that. And lastly I feel torn about Celestial Archon. I feel like he has potential but I am uncertain.

Ok that is all I have to say! I think anyways... regardless take some time and think about what it is you want to do with what I have recommended. Of course as always the final choice is yours. Please tell me your thoughts after you have mulled it over!

sonnet666 on Does Dead Weight kill the ...

3 months ago

Schuesseled, dude you're bringing extraneous information in here, and it's probably more confusing than it is helpful. Please stop.

Examples of of what he was talking about:

  1. I go to cast Prison Term on my opponent's Black Knight. Black Knight has protection from White and can't be targeted by a white spell. Halfway through the casting process of my Prison Term, the game notices that my spell is illegal. The game rewinds to the moment just before I chose to cast Prison Term. I never have to pay mana for it. (The lands untapping is just a product of people's habit of tapping mana before declaring they're casting a spell. Technically, you don't tap mana until the end of the casting process, after you've declared the spell, but nobody likes to do that.)

  2. I cast Prison Term targeting my opponent's Eight-and-a-Half-Tails. It goes on the stack. In response, my opponent uses Eight-and-a-Half-Tails's ability to give it Protection from White. When Prison Term tries to resolve, its only target is illegal, so it is countered by the game's rules. (A creature gaining Shroud or Hexproof would work the same way.)

What Schuesseled brought up is how Auras function when you cast them from your hand. When you cast them they are spells, and work like any other spell. This has to do with 702.16b, targeting a permanent with protection, much more than it has to do with 702.16c, enchanting a permanent with protection. A Lightning Bolt trying to target a creature with Protection from Red works the same as a Prison Term trying to target a creature with Protection from White.

Please tell me your question is answered at this point and you can select an answer.

sonnet666 on Does Dead Weight kill the ...

3 months ago

Not exactly. That's sort of a complicated question. It depends where the the aura is coming from, and when the creature gained protection.

Protection from X just means, "If this permanent would be enchanted by another permanent with quality X, it can't be." The rules get a little more specific on how to deal with how that plays out in different situations:

If the aura is already on the battlefield, and is trying to move to a creature with protection from it, then rule 303.4j says it just doesn't move:

  • 303.4j If an effect attempts to attach an Aura on the battlefield to an object or player it cant legally enchant, the Aura doesnt move.

Example: I control a Prison Term attached to a creature. A Black Knight enters the battlefield. Prison Term triggers, and when the trigger resolves I'm allowed to say that I want Prison Term to move to the Black Knight. However, the Black Knight has protection from Prison Term and can't enchant it, so it simply doesn't move.

If an aura is moving from another zone attached to a particular creature. Rule 303.4i states that it stays where it is:

  • 303.4i If an effect attempts to put an Aura onto the battlefield enchanting an object or player it cant legally enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone.

Example: I play a Boonweaver Giant in an all-white deck. Its enter the battlefield trigger goes on the stack. In response, my opponent uses their Eight-and-a-Half-Tails to give my Boonweaver Giant protection from White. I only have white enchantments in my deck. When Boonweaver Giant's ability resolves, I can search and reveal a white enchantment if I want to, but it won't be able to enchant Boonweaver Giant, so it will just stay in my library.

The weird part is that players aren't allowed to make illegal choices, so most of the time you're not going to get stuck like that.

Example: I control only a Nomad Mythmaker and a Black Knight. I activate Nomad Mythmaker's ability targeting an Ethereal Armor in my graveyard. When Nomad Mythmaker's ability resolves, Ethereal Armor can't legally enchant Black Knight, so Nomad Mythmaker is the only creature I can pick to attach it to. I can't "choose" Black Knight in order to have Ethereal Armor stay in my graveyard, since that would be an illegal choice. (IDK why you'd want to do this, but I had to make my example work.)

This has less to do with the Protection ability, and more to do with how Auras handle objects they can't enchant. Protection only means what it says it means in rule 702.16, which I quoted for you earlier.

303. Enchantments

303.1. A player who has priority may cast an enchantment card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty. Casting an enchantment as a spell uses the stack. (See rule 601, Casting Spells.)

303.2. When an enchantment spell resolves, its controller puts it onto the battlefield under his or her control.

303.3. Enchantment subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: Enchantment Shrine. Each word after the dash is a separate subtype. Enchantment subtypes are also called enchantment types. Enchantments may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3h for the complete list of enchantment types.

303.4. Some enchantments have the subtype Aura. An Aura enters the battlefield attached to an object or player. What an Aura can be attached to is defined by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, Enchant). Other effects can limit what a permanent can be enchanted by.

303.4a An Aura spell requires a target, which is defined by its enchant ability.

303.4b The object or player an Aura is attached to is called enchanted. The Aura is attached to, or enchants, that object or player.

303.4c If an Aura is enchanting an illegal object or player as defined by its enchant ability and other applicable effects, the object it was attached to no longer exists, or the player it was attached to has left the game, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)

303.4d An Aura cant enchant itself. If this occurs somehow, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard. An Aura thats also a creature cant enchant anything. If this occurs somehow, the Aura becomes unattached, then is put into its owners graveyard. (These are state-based actions. See rule 704.) An Aura cant enchant more than one object or player. If a spell or ability would cause an Aura to become attached to more than one object or player, the Auras controller chooses which object or player it becomes attached to.

303.4e An Auras controller is separate from the enchanted objects controller or the enchanted player; the two need not be the same. If an Aura enchants an object, changing control of the object doesnt change control of the Aura, and vice versa. Only the Auras controller can activate its abilities. However, if the Aura grants an ability to the enchanted object (with gains or has), the enchanted objects controller is the only one who can activate that ability.

303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a players control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesnt specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Auras enchant ability and any other applicable effects.

303.4g If an Aura is entering the battlefield and there is no legal object or player for it to enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone, unless that zone is the stack. In that case, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard instead of entering the battlefield.

303.4h If an effect attempts to put a permanent that isnt an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification onto the battlefield attached to an object or player, it enters the battlefield unattached.

303.4i If an effect attempts to put an Aura onto the battlefield enchanting an object or player it cant legally enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone.

303.4j If an effect attempts to attach an Aura on the battlefield to an object or player it cant legally enchant, the Aura doesnt move.

303.4k An ability of a permanent that refers to the enchanted [object or player] refers to whatever object or player that permanent is attached to, even if the permanent with the ability isnt an Aura.

702.16. Protection

702.16a Protection is a static ability, written Protection from [quality]. This quality is usually a color (as in protection from black) but can be any characteristic value. If the quality happens to be a card name, it is treated as such only if the protection ability specifies that the quality is a name. If the quality is a card type, subtype, or supertype, the ability applies to sources that are permanents with that card type, subtype, or supertype and to any sources not on the battlefield that are of that card type, subtype, or supertype. This is an exception to rule 109.2.

702.16b A permanent or player with protection cant be targeted by spells with the stated quality and cant be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.

702.16c A permanent or player with protection cant be enchanted by Auras that have the stated quality. Such Auras attached to the permanent or player with protection will be put into their owners graveyards as a state-based action. (See rule 704, State-Based Actions.)

702.16d A permanent with protection cant be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality or fortified by Fortifications that have the stated quality. Such Equipment or Fortifications become unattached from that permanent as a state-based action, but remain on the battlefield. (See rule 704, State-Based Actions.)

702.16e Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent or player with protection is prevented.

702.16f Attacking creatures with protection cant be blocked by creatures that have the stated quality.

702.16g Protection from [quality A] and from [quality B] is shorthand for protection from [quality A] and protection from [quality B]; it behaves as two separate protection abilities. If an effect causes an object with such an ability to lose protection from [quality A], for example, that object would still have protection from [quality B].

702.16h Protection from all [characteristic] is shorthand for protection from [quality A], protection from [quality B], and so on for each possible quality the listed characteristic could have; it behaves as multiple separate protection abilities. If an effect causes an object with such an ability to lose protection from [quality A], for example, that object would still have protection from [quality B], [quality C], and so on.

702.16i Protection from everything is a variant of the protection ability. A permanent with protection from everything has protection from each object regardless of that objects characteristic values. Such a permanent cant be targeted by spells or abilities, enchanted by Auras, equipped by Equipment, fortified by Fortifications, or blocked by creatures, and all damage that would be dealt to it is prevented.

702.16j Protection from [a player] is a variant of the protection ability. A permanent with protection from a specific player has protection from each object the player controls and protection from each object the player owns not controlled by another player, regardless of that objects characteristic values. Such a permanent cant be targeted by spells or abilities the player controls, enchanted by Auras the player controls, equipped by Equipment the player controls, fortified by Fortifications the player controls, or blocked by creatures the player controls, and all damage that would be dealt to it by sources controlled by the player or owned by the player but not controlled by another player is prevented.

702.16k Multiple instances of protection from the same quality on the same permanent or player are redundant.

702.16m Some Auras both give the enchanted creature protection and say this effect doesnt remove either that specific Aura or all Auras. This means that the specified Auras can legally enchant that creature and arent put into their owners graveyards as a state-based action. If the creature has other instances of protection from the same quality, those instances affect Auras as normal.

golgariizzet on Zedruu the "friendly" goat

4 months ago

Prison Term is another one and i feel it is better then suppression bonds

veritas723 on Brago EDH (Looking for a Wincon)

5 months ago

some creatures you might consider. Sunblast Angel, Frost Titan, Phyrexian Ingester

utility creatures... or trix creatures Resolute Archangel, Mnemonic Wall, Knight-Captain of Eos

I also think some of the "detain" creatures are a waste. especially when there's plenty of exile creatures. Fiend Hunter Restoration Angel Angel of Serenity things like that. if you pair it with blink gimmicks, you detain something forever.

Also think a spell like Detention Sphere is meh in edh, unless you're naming like sol ring. i like Prison Term locks down a thing, and then can be moved to another thing. but that's just my personal preference... i find i have answers for misc things, what i like is being able to see what's played, and lock a new creature down.

other win-con ideas. swarm ball creatures like Myr Battlesphere

I also like Reality Acid in a deck like this.

i also think... altar of the brood is kinda meh. but maybe adding other etb mill creatures could help with that plan. also... maybe gilded lotus is too much, or tsabo's web. Even something like sphynx rev...is kinda meh. you'll get more action blinking mulldrifter or other draw/recycle cards if your engine is going. and the life... from rev is kinda meh. there's prob a few cuts for better cards. I'd kinda want more wraths. and maybe some bigger bodies. and trim out meh artifacts/enchants

Load more