Progenitus

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Modern Masters mythic rare
From the Vault: Legends Mythic Rare
Conflux Mythic Rare
Promo Set Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Progenitus

Legendary Creature — Hydra Avatar

Protection from everything

If Progenitus would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, reveal Progenitus and shuffle it into its owner's library instead.

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO)

1.72 TIX $1.69 Foil

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Progenitus Discussion

maxon on Eldrazi Style Triggered Grave Shuffling

4 days ago

DarkLaw: Progenitus can't be played in mono-blue EDH and it's ability doesn't match the eldrazi. With the eldrazi, the whole grave gets shuffled up with it. thanks anyways though.

DarkLaw on Eldrazi Style Triggered Grave Shuffling

4 days ago

Don't forget Progenitus. But then I'm pretty sure that's all.

Teufell on Boardwipe destruction!!!!

6 days ago

Dude, I don't think Armageddon will help your deck. You already have 2 high cost creatures in your deck, If you destroy your lands like that It will make casting them real hard. Unless you plan to cast it as a last resort or after you have all of your heavies in game, including your non-creature spells, it can be a solid, but not reliable game. I have a white deck which uses this card, but the mana curve is really low, the most expensive creature is a 4 and the most expensive non-creature is a 5. I use Armageddon only against ramp decks with creatures such as Kozilek, the Great Distortion or Progenitus, and that only after either I lost all my creatures or most of my army is in play.

Now, if you want to move forward with Armageddon, I have another advice for you Flagstones of Trokair in order to keep at least one plains ready.

Colgate on If I equipped sword of ...

6 days ago

E also stands for "Fortified" and "cannot be damaged" just simply prevents damage. With Leyline of Punishment out even Progenitus can be dealt damage.

KylerStar on Polytheism to the max!

1 week ago

I would use Heroes' Podium the utility is obvious, though as a blanket effect, it can buff Progenitus.

The_Squirrel on loopholes

2 weeks ago

Well I really think you should add 4 Simian Spirit Guide and 4 Elvish Spirit Guide. Yes, you would need two of them in hand to cast your spell t1. BUT, you only need one of them to cast it turn two. They are a better fit than the Dwarven Ruins type lands in my opinion. With those, you have to have one in your hand t1. If your spell is countered or your creature is killed, you're also down a land. The guides are the best colored mana acceleration with CMC greater than two. You could do them and keep 1-3 Geothermal Crevice.

Your mana could be something like this:4 Simian Spirit Guide, 4 Elvish Spirit Guide, 4 Pillar of the Paruns (I'd never heard of this card. It's a great find that's prefect for your deck), 4 Mana Confluence, 4 Gemstone Mine, 4 City of Brass, and 2 Geothermal Crevice

I didn't realize initially how few black cards you have. Unmask wouldn't work. If you don't have that or Force of Will you'd have no protection what so ever, which would be very bad. You want to have at least 14 cards of that color to cast those cards, including the cards themselves.

If you added Shardless Agent and Ardent Plea, you would have 17 blue cards. I would replace the four Omniscience with four Force of Will. Force is expensive, but if you plan on continuing to play legacy, you'll want them anyway. I honestly think you should have 4 Unmask as well. You currently have ... one ... black card. Now you certainly could add 4 Griselbrand. That guy is as good as any to cheat into play. Maybe more Progenitus could work. I don't think he's a great card for you though. You could look into more black fatties.

If you don't go with either of those protection spells. Trinisphere may work.

Sorry for the ridiculously long post.

Raging_Squiggle on Does Dead Weight kill the ...

3 weeks ago

Let's see if I can keep up on everything said so far.

ORIGINAL QUESTION

For simplicity and argument's sake, let's say you have a Cryptoplasm already copying an Alabaster Leech and it's been enchanted by Dead Weight. On your upkeep, you may change Cryptoplasm to another target creature and you target White Knight. The moment the ability resolves, and before the active player receives priority, the game checks for, then performs all applicable State-Based Actions simultaneously; then repeats until no SBA's are found. There are 2 State-Based Actions happening simultaneously:
1. A creature having 0 toughness. (704.5f)
2. An aura that's attached to an illegal object. (704.5n)

These are performed at the same time, and both permanents, the creature and the aura, are immediately put into their owner's graveyards.

CHEATING AURAS INTO PLAY AND SHROUD/PROTECTION

Whenever an aura spell is cast, it requires a legal target as per the casting process in rule 303.4a. An object is considered a spell Only when it is on the stack. If an Aura enters the battlefield from any zone other than the stack, it does not require a target and enters the battlefield attached to a permanent it can enchant.

Example: Progenitus and Argothian Enchantress are on the battlefield. Someone attacks with Zur the Enchanter and tutors for Dead Weight. Because it enters the battlefield from a zone other than the stack, a target is not needed and therefore not made, allowing Dead Weight to enter the battlefield enchanting Argothian Enchantress. This is because Shroud only stops spells or abilities from targeting it. And since in this particular scenario, Dead Weight is neither a spell nor ability, and it does not require a target, it can enchant Argothian Enchantress. As for Progenitus, Dead Weight cannot enchant it whatsoever, due to the fact that it specifically prevents it from being enchanted, as per the acronym DEBT.

HANDLING MISPLAYS

Even though this is primarily a tournament related subject regarding where to find more information on it, this happens quite often in casual settings. Say you tried to Doom Blade a White Knight, forgetting that it has protection from black and you spent mana from Thought Vessel and a Swamp on it. The game recognizes that you performed an illegal action and reverses the game to a point in time in which the infraction has not yet happened. Meaning anything up to that time is reversed, including your spending mana from your mana rock and your land. They become untapped and the game resumes.

This is not to be confused with Doom Blade's target becoming illegal after the casting process has been completed (including selecting a legal target). Say it's targeting an Elvish Mystic, and in response it's given hexproof from Blossoming Defense. When Doom Blade goes to resolve, the game sees its target is no longer legal and it fizzles, being removed from the stack instead. Its effect does not happen.




Hopefully I covered everything being discussed, and helped to answer the OP's question. If I didn't or I made a mistake, let me know and I'll fix it.

Alixen on Korona's God Party

3 weeks ago

I have a god themed deck that uses Progenitus. You might find the deck list useful. What is a pantheon and why is it after me?

Load more

Latest Commander