Sharuum the Hegemon

Sharuum the Hegemon

Legendary Artifact Creature — Sphinx

Flying

When Sharuum the Hegemon enters the battlefield, you may return target artifact card from your graveyard to the battlefield.

Start Commander Deck Browse Alters

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Sharuum the Hegemon Discussion

Scheer218 on [Primer] EDH Sharuum Engine: Jostin version

1 month ago

How does this game plan compare to the Clone + Sharuum the Hegemon + Blood Artist game plans, I feel the like the redundancy of any clone effect, the commander, and anything that cares about creatures/artifacts entering or leaving play would be more consistent

rshistorysmuf on Infinite Combo for Monkey Cage?

1 month ago

Sharuum the Hegemon + Nim Deathmantle + Ashnod's Altar

Yes I can see this working but maybe with a Sculpting Steel or Copy Artifact , coupled with Cathodion and a Su-Chi (expensive) with a Junk Diver and a Scrap Trawler ?

However, with Metalwork Colossus because when the Monkey Cage enters and with Ashnod's Altar that is a total of 8 mana, then add in Nim Deathmantle Metalwork Colossus can be retuned to hand and cast for free, creating 11 Apes when sacking the Monkey Cage .

Think we are on to something here.

enpc on Infinite Combo for Monkey Cage?

1 month ago

You could use Sharuum the Hegemon + Nim Deathmantle + Ashnod's Altar , however at that point any other artifact creature will make the combo work.

Emerald_Void on [cEDH Primer] Breya the Malevolent

1 month ago

oo7x7oo or Coumie

I was needing some clarity on the Sharuum the Hegemon + Phyrexian Metamorph combo. Is it possible to use Altar of Dementia with this?

You can't respond to the Legend rule being in effect correct? Like, would I be able to sacrifice Sharuum to the Altar at any point during the interaction?

Like, I have Metamorph in the graveyard. I cast Sharuum. I target Metamorph. Use metamorph's ability to make a copy of Sharuum.

At this point, the legend rules takes precedence over everything else, correct? So I have to choose which sharuum I wish to keep, correct? I would want to keep the copy because the next ability to go on the stack would be the new "sharuum" ability?

I would use the ability to target Sharuum and the chain would start over. I understand how I can bomberman people with Reckless Fireweaver , Disciple of the Vault , Marionette Master or even mill with Altar of the Brood but, I am wondering if it is possible to use this loop with Altar of Dementia ?

Also, you had mentioned earlier in the thread that it could be infinite mill/mana? How does tha mana part play into this combo? Would it not be the same issue if you were trying to use Ashnod's Altar or KCI?

Also, Coumie thank you so much for the primer! I love it and it has inspired me to try and write my own guide for Breya.

DuTogira on Blue players

2 months ago

Sorry been super busy.
Ramble I get it’s a moot point by now, but Allosaurus Shepherd does not make Mystic Repeal uncounterable. All spells are colorless thanks to Mycosynth Lattice .
Also I know the challenge was to reasonably assemble a lock. I have, at one point in time, played exactly that lock initiated by Open the Vaults in a Sharuum the Hegemon deck (minus the Rest in Peace ). What I found is that nobody likes being beaten to death by 32/32’s worth of power every turn, so they tend to just fold when you pull it off, and it’s easy to hate out. I don’t expect to lock a cEDH deck out of the game, ever. They’re designed not to be locked out. So the closest we can get is an amalgam of unlikely cards that can be played semi-casually and converted to a lock reasonably, which my lock can.

I don’t particularly appreciate being dismissed as “putting all permanents ever into play” when you explicitly challenged the collective site to a mental gymnastics competition, to which I did in fact put considerable effort.

Gidgetimer on How fast does this Combo …

2 months ago

Also of note is that you will always want to put the Sharuum the Hegemon card in the graveyard to SBAs since Copy Artifact is not itself an artifact.

Neotrup on How fast does this Combo …

2 months ago

I'm not sure what you mean by instant speed in this context. When you cast Copy Artifact it will enter as a copy of Sharuum the Hegemon (without targetting), the it's ability will trigger. From there you choose to put the original Sharuum the Hegemon into the graveyard, then actually put the triggered ability on the stack and choose the target. Then the active player receives priority again and players will have a chance to respond to the ability before it resolves.

Quickspell on How fast does this Combo …

2 months ago

When I have Sharuum the Hegemon in play and cast Copy Artifact targeting Sharuum, one of them will die and may be returned to the battlefield due to the other's recursion ability, creating an infinite loop.

While the first casting happens in sorcery speed, how fast does the recursion happen? Instant speed?

Load more