Possible Infinite Loop?

Asked by fireflamedark 6 years ago

When Colfenor's Urn , Sharuum the Hegemon , Platinum Emperion , and Thousand-Year Elixir are on the field when Kuldotha Forgemaster activates it's tap ability (sacrificing itself, Platinum Emperion , and Sharuum the Hegemon ), would the end of the turn be delayed enough (by the activation of Colfenor's Urn 's 2nd ability) to activate Kuldotha Forgemaster 's ability again before the turn ends?

filledelanuit says... #1

Short answer: Yes but...

Longer answer: At the beginning of the end step Colfenor's Urn trigger would go on the stack. When it resolved it would be sacrificed and the other artifacts would return to the battlefield.

Your ending board state will have Sharuum the Hegemon , Platinum Emperion , Kuldotha Forgemaster , Thousand-Year Elixir and the artifact you tutored.

July 31, 2014 12:34 a.m.

filledelanuit says... #2

Also. The end of the turn isn't delayed. After the ability resolves there will be a round of priority before the game moves on,

July 31, 2014 12:36 a.m.

Dracoson says... #3

Colfenor's Urn 's second ability is a triggered one that occurs at the BEGINNING of the end step (read the Oracle text, which updated the wording to make it clearer). So while you would be able to get Kuldotha Forgemaster out and make the sacrifices and exile them again, you only get the one chance to return them from exile per turn with the Urn. The end step is in process, and not beginning anymore.

July 31, 2014 12:43 a.m.

FancyTuesday says... Accepted answer #4

It's worth noting that Colfenor's Urn has an Oracle Text errata to change its wording slightly. You can see its Oracle Text on Gatherer.

I assume Colfenor's Urn will be the target you're reanimating with Sharuum the Hegemon . After all those triggers resolve there is a round of priority in which you can activate Kuldotha Forgemaster again but the Urn will not trigger again until the next end step. See:

513.1a Previously, abilities that trigger at the beginning of the end step were printed with the trigger condition at end of turn. Cards that were printed with that text have received errata in the Oracle card reference to say at the beginning of the end step or at the beginning of the next end step.

513.3 If a permanent with an ability that triggers at the beginning of the end step enters the battlefield during this step, that ability wont trigger until the next turns end step.

July 31, 2014 12:49 a.m.

fireflamedark says... #5

Thanks for all the help, even though it isn't a loop it still serves as a useful strategy in an artifact deck considering it is possible to do it at each end step.

July 31, 2014 6:10 a.m.

This discussion has been closed