Vildin-Pack Alpha

Front:

Geier Reach Bandit  Flip

Legality

Format Legality
Magic Duels Legal
Heirloom Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Frontier Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Shadows over Innistrad (SOI) Rare

Combos Browse all

Vildin-Pack Alpha

Creature — Werewolf

Whenever a Werewolf enters the battlefield under your control, you may transform it.

At the beginning of each upkeep, if a player cast two or more spells last turn, transform Vildin-Pack Alpha.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Ebay

Have (1) Pumpkinking913
Want (0)

Recent Decks

Vildin-Pack Alpha Discussion

furiousgeorj on Wolf Lord

6 months ago

cdkime and Sagarys

Thanks for the feedback.

Most of my werewolves aren't actually human so I am not sure Moonmist and Immerwolf would be too helpful, but i think i will get some to play around with. Geier Reach Bandit  Flip is what i use to accelerate and Waxing Moon to flip it or others after i have Vildin-Pack Alpha. I already am planning on getting Rootbound Crag but i don't think i can justify the others as I don't play too competitively. Ulvenwald Captive  Flip i am pretty iffy on, but i had some to fill out and was thinking of dropping them for something else? Wolfkin Bond i may get rid of, and reduce some of my other creatures to get some Springsage Ritual and Prey Upon to get rid of troublesome permanents.

RicketyEng on Transforming Dinos In Cars!

6 months ago

I haven't tried going completely one way or the other, but it has occurred to me that doing so might have its advantages. If I were to try it I would probably go full dinosaur since those are more readily available to me. For going full dinosaur I would be torn between using Grimlock or just using Gishath since he would offer card advantage that Grimlock doesn't. Gishath is also 100% legal.

Huntmaster of the Fells might be my only pre-SOI werewolf. I think there are a number of the best ones (and other relevant tribal cards) which I would have to track down. However, a werewolf version could have put some focus on a particularly interesting interaction with the Eldritch Moon werewolves. There are one or two effects like Vildin-Pack Alpha which would allow the EMN werewolves to transform immediately and for free and their transformation is permanent.

The conclusion I come to is that I think Grimlock would be perfectly fine for a full werewolves deck (and probably the best werewolf commander). His place commanding a full dinosaur deck is certainly good (and extremely flavourful), but could be debated.

For myself, the foreseeable future has my version of Grimlock continuing to seek representation from each of his three supported tribes. Some of these card decisions may lower the power overall, but I am doing it for the novelty.

CrazedGinger on How etb triggers interact with ...

10 months ago

I've seen similar questions to mine but I just need clarification. Assume I have a Vildin-Pack Alpha, Temur Ascendancy, and an Adaptive Automaton(werewolf) or Metallic Mimic on the battlefield at the same time. I cast Kruin Outlaw  Flip, she flips become Terror of Kruin Pass  Flip. Do I draw a card? Would the outcome be different if it was a Mondronen Shaman  Flip etb but not flipping?

Pheardemons on Howling in the Night

10 months ago

Are you trying to keep this strictly budget tribal? Also, Have you seen the new werewolves in the new innistrad block? One that comes to mind is Geier Reach Bandit  Flip which transforms into Vildin-Pack Alpha which should be in every werewolf deck. Also, why no Huntmaster of the Fells  Flip?

Tyrant-Thanatos on Riku of Two Reflections and ...

1 year ago

Basically it's your choice, based on what order you put the two triggers on the stack. Riku doesn't copy the creature while it's on the stack, he copies it after it enters the battlefield.

When you play Wolfbitten Captive  Flip, both effects trigger, you choose what order they go on the stack in. If Riku's effect resolves first (because you put it on the stack last) it will create a copy of Wolfbitten Captive  Flip, then Vildin-Pack Alpha  Flip will trigger off the token. Tokens can't be transformed, so it will remain a Wolfbitten Captive  Flip, and the original will transform into Krallenhorde Killer.

On the other hand, should Riku resolve second (because you put it on the stack first), it will create a copy of the already-transformed Krallenhorde Killer after Vildin-Pack Alpha  Flip resolves. Notably, again, tokens cannot transform, so a Krallenhorde Killer token will always remain in it's non-human form.

Okamaru on Riku of Two Reflections and ...

1 year ago

If Riku of Two Reflections and Vildin-Pack Alpha  Flip are out and a have a Wolfbitten Captive  Flip enter the battlefield can I have Riku of Two Reflections make a copy of it's flipped side Krallenhorde Killer? or can Riku of Two Reflections only make a copy of the Wolfbitten Captive  Flip?

I'm a little shaky on how a copy effects would work on double faced cards on the stack. I know you can put the triggers on the stack anyway you want since they both are triggering when the creature enters, I'm just not sure who needs to go on the stack first to make a copy of the flipped side of the card or if it's even possible.

Thank you for your time and help!

Neotrup on Do Conspiracy and Vildin-Pack Alpha ...

1 year ago

In case 1-3 you cannot transform a face-down creature, so the ability will trigger and do nothing. You also cannot turn a double-faced card face-down, but you can manifest it face-down.

As for the bonus question, yes, it will trigger twice and you can transform it twice, resulting in it being on it's front side, and something like Huntmaster of the Fells  Flip triggering both it's sides. The relevant rule here is 701.26f, as quoted by Dracoson. It says that you don't transform the creature if one of it's own abilities tries to transform it. Because Vildin-Pack Alpha  Flip is the source of the ability, rather than the transforming creature, it can still transform the creature any number of times.

Dracoson on Do Conspiracy and Vildin-Pack Alpha ...

1 year ago

In regards to cases 1-3:

701.26b Although transforming a permanent uses the same physical action as turning a permanent face up or face down, they are different game actions. Abilities that trigger when a permanent is turned face down wont trigger when that permanent transforms, and so on.

Basically, they don't work together. While Conspiracy will give the face-down cards the Werewolf subtype, and the trigger from Vildin-Pack Alpha  Flip will happen, it will not do anything.

As to the Bonus question:

701.26f If an activated or triggered ability of a permanent that isnt a delayed triggered ability of that permanent tries to transform it, the permanent transforms only if it hasnt transformed since the ability was put onto the stack. If a delayed triggered ability of a permanent tries to transform that permanent, the permanent transforms only if it hasnt transformed since that delayed triggered ability was created. In either case, if the permanent has already transformed, the instruction to transform is ignored. This is a change from previous rules

Basically, while the trigger will go again, if you choose to transform it, the subsequent triggers won't do anything

Load more