Phyrexian Reclamation

Phyrexian Reclamation

Enchantment

, Pay 2 life: Return target creature card from your graveyard to your hand.

Browse Alters

Trade

Have (3) Azdranax , Pieguy396 , metalmagic
Want (1) VGKanri

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Jumpstart (JMP) Uncommon
Mystery Booster (MYS1) Uncommon
Commander 2015 (C15) Uncommon
Commander 2013 (C13) Uncommon
Urza's Legacy (ULG) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Arena Legal
Unformat Legal
Limited Legal
Leviathan Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Legacy Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Historic Legal
Custom Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Vintage Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Phyrexian Reclamation occurrence in decks from the last year

Latest Decks as Commander

Phyrexian Reclamation Discussion

MrKillStar on Blood Diamonds

5 days ago

Optimator: Hello there! Always gotta love Vilis decks, especially as detailed as this one :D A lot of cards in Maybeboard would fit the deck really well (I just have no idea why you got some cards two or three times there), but I would try to minimalize the maybeboard as much as possible, to not look the deck so chaotic.

I run Vilis in my Syr Konrad's For the Void deck.. he doesnt really fit the theme/idea of the deck so well, but Vilis is just too badass to cut out :D (anyway, any feedback/suggestions would be welcomed aswell <3 )

Some cards in deck I would cut, why, and their replacement:

1) Falkenrath Noble - might be a nice card in an aristocrat deck, there isnt really any way to generate->sac big amount of your creatures to abuse Falkenrath Noble as much as possible, also costs . If you want an aristocrat, Bastion of Remembrance could be a possible option aswell. Its cheaper, gives you a 1/1 token and has the same effect as F.Noble. Sure, can't attack or block, but Bastion is also harder to remove since its an Enchantment.
2) Leaden Myr - as you already mentioned, a possible cut for some other mana-rock.. I would switch it for Malakir Rebirth  Flip as an another kind of "protection" to either Vilis or another important creature at the moment. With Vilis on board, it even draws you two cards (destroy protection, draw two cards, triggering aristocrat-like effects at instant speed for only ? YES PLEASE! ). In worse case scenario, its also additional land drop. Another possible replacement could be Blood Celebrant, which synergies well with both Vilis and K'riik.
3) Liliana's Contract - would probably fit better in some Demon tribal deck or Conspiracy deck. You also have only six Demons in your deck, all of them with fairly high mana cost. As a better card-draw, I would add either Greed, since it draws you 3 cards with Vilis on board, maybe even Skullclamp that would draw you two cards every turn with Ophiomancer, but Greed would be most likey better option, since there isnt really any other way to generate a lot of tokens every turn.
4) Crux of Fate - no Dragons in your deck, not even so many of them in black in general, so outside of politic reason, other 5CMC or less boardwipes would be better. I personally love Life's Finale, its more expensive than Crux of Fate, but enables you to look and search in target opponent's deck and put up to 3 creatures from their deck into theri graveyard, which would synergize with Chainer, Dementia Master, Geth, Lord of the Vault and some other.
5) Ruinous Path - sorcery speed removal is kinda meh, so something like Hero's Downfall is just better. I personally like Eat to Extinction, even if its more expensive, it helps with top-deck managment (+exiles targeted creature/pw).
6) Cut few swamps for:
6a) Cabal Stronghold - Stronghold is cheap, can tap itself for and can give you plenty of later on.
6b) Emergence Zone - I personally love this utility land, just because it gives you spells Flash whenever you sac it. It doesnt ETB tapped and can help you casting some stuff when you sac it.
7) Chaos Wand - might be a fun card, but doesnt really fit the deck at all. I would cut it for Bontu's Monument to make a lot of your big black stuff cheaper and another small source of life-gain.
8) Big mana-rocks: Gilded Lotus and Thran Dynamo - I used to run those too, but slowly started replacing them with cheaper mana rocks like Thought Vessel and Arcane Signet. Hedron Archive is okay-ish since it can draw you two cards when you no longer need it, but with Vilis and especially mono-black, there can always be enough card draw.
9) Spellbook - would be fine, if you didnt manage to get your Reliquary Tower or Venser's Journal on board, but otherwise its just a dead card that does nothing to you anymore. I would rather replace it with Ivory Tower to get some life back.
10) Curtains' Call - I would replace this one for one of the following:
10a) Devour in Shadow/Vendetta - cheap removal that can potentionaly draws you X cards aswell.
10b) Dismember - depending on how big the creature is, but since you could cast it for only one and draw 4 cards aswell, its decent choice aswell.
10c) Snuff Out - free removal in 99.999% time, which can draws you 4 cards aswell, but not for black creatures, which, depending on your opponent's deck, might be important. Still most likely a better option.
10d) Tragic Slip - goes through indestructible, but requires a creature to die to be maximum effective, which might be sometimes a problem. Still, really good one.
10e) Malicious Affliction - another cheap removal, which is also locked to non-black creatures, but is able to destroy two creatures if a creature died already, so similar issue like Tragic Slip.
10f) Profane Command - I just totally love this card. Its not instant, but can be really flexible in various situations, so I would probably go for this as a replacement.
10g) Erebos's Intervention - similar to Profane Command, it flexile aswell, providing you to remove some indestructible creature and get some life; or serves as a fairly decent graveyard hate at instant speed.

I won't go through cards in maybeboard, even though there is plenty of really nice cards that would work so well in Vilis's deck, like Bolas's Citadel, Doom Whisperer, Font of Agonies and Phyrexian Reclamation and many more, it would just be a little too much, I would say... :D

I hope some of my suggestions will help, gonna upvote this for sure, just because it looks really nice, especially with so many possible cards that could easily fit so well :)

Crow-Umbra on Brokkos Buried in this Jungle

5 days ago

Forceofnature1 thank you! I own this deck as listed in paper, and have played it irl about 3-4 times so far in the past 2 months. I haven't won with it (yet), but since it is a more Voltron-y build, I don't really expect it to.

I tend to play this deck as like "Threat Police", I usually only swing at the commanders in our meta that I know can snowball & run away with the game ( Korvold, Mimeoplasm, anything that's really group sluggy & oppressive to the table). I do this in part to try to build some good will, but also let everyone else know what can happen on a crack back.

In the couple games I've played, I've consistently had Cephalid Constable and/or Sawtusk Demolisher in my opening hand, or in the first couple draws. Mutating Sawtusk onto Cephalid on Turn 4, and making someone pick up potentially 6 permanents can be backbreaking and a special kind of filthy.

I haven't pulled it off yet, but I am hoping some future games will give me the opportunity to create some Mutate stack clones with Mist-Syndicate Naga or especially Scute Swarm with 6+ lands on board.

Cards I'm kinda on the fence about after a couple of plays: Drana, the Last Bloodchief and Wilderness Reclamation. The one time I've played Drana, I had a graveyard with Birds of Paradise and 2-3 other smaller, but more threatening creatures. I think of my friends was playing Mogis, God of Slaughter, so I kept saccing Birds of Paradise, would swing with Drana, and my friends would always return Bird to my field instead any of the other creatures. I'm considering replacing Drana with Phyrexian Reclamation, Painful Truths, Spawnwrithe, or even Wash Out. I want to play it a bit more to get a feel for what I really need.

Wilderness Reclamation & Seedborn Muse are more here to help me keep mana open for removal, or to flash in a creature before my turn if I have Leyline out. I pre-ordered a Court of Bounty, so that might take Wilderness Rec's slot.

The last game I played, I had a Cephalid Constable/Sawtusk Mutate stack swinging at my friends playing Mogis, God of Slaughter, God-Eternal Kefnet, and Otrimi, the Ever-Playful. I essentially took Kefnet out with the Cephalid bouncing, and was in a position to continue swinging away and keep everyone's boards clear, but was eventually bled to death from Mogis' various group slug effects. My Mogis friend had a creature that was bigger than my Sawtusk stack, so I couldn't connect to remove his bleeding effect enchantments.

My friends have told me this deck is scary to play against.

Optimator on Giant's Deck

1 week ago

The amount of utility cards that facilitates for a large-creature/stompy deck (like giant tribal) is completely unparalleled and unrivaled. There are things--both budget and expensive--like Garruk's Uprising, Soul's Majesty, Hunter's Insight, Snake Umbra, Triumph of Ferocity, Lead the Stampede, Garruk, Primal Hunter, Return of the Wildspeaker, Abundance, Rhythm of the Wild, Selvala's Stampede, Shamanic Revelation, Elemental Bond, Colossal Majesty, Guardian Project, Rancor, Primal Rage, Heroic Intervention, Wrap in Vigor, Golgari Charm, Lifecrafter's Bestiary, Canopy Cover, Aspect of Mongoose, Alpha Authority, Asceticism, Defense of the Heart, Lignify, Lurking Predators, Bow of Nylea, The Great Henge, Eerie Ultimatum, Reap, Creeping Renaissance, Seasons Past, Reap the Past, Genesis Ultimatum, Beastmaster Ascension, Overwhelming Stampede...

The list is huge, and it grows every year.

This is on top of the superior ramping ability of Green and it's above-average removal options. One big advantage of Green's land-based ramp is things like Planar Cleansing, Hour of Revelation, Play of the Game, Bane of Progress, Creeping Corrosion, and Merciless Eviction can't send you back to the stone age by destroying all your mana rocks.

Everything you will want to be doing with Giant Tribal, Green supports and supports well. I cannot stress this enough. Not to mention the good green giants that keep getting printed.


Black doesn't provide too much in the way of utility specific to giant tribal or stompy decks other than recursion and good card draw like Greed, Phyrexian Arena, and Erebos, God of the Dead. Personally I like cards like Damnable Pact, Read the Bones, Ancient Craving and Ambition's Cost but if you're running Green and/or Blue you shouldn't need to lose life to draw cards. Painful Truths might still be useful due to it's great rate (three cards for three mana is good). Syphon Mind is a great rate and has the upside of making your opponents discard.

Obviously Black specializes in removal (but so does White!) so you could run things like Mortify, Despark, Utter End, Vindicate, Anguished Unmaking, Dreadbore, Terminate, Bedevil and Ruinous Ultimatum. In Garruk's Wake and Decree of Pain are probably good in your giant deck since you're ramping so hard. Since you're running White you shouldn't need Black's wraths, but those two stood out.

Things like Phyrexian Reclamation, Animate Dead, and Reanimate are great for creature decks. Palace Siege is all right on a budget. So is Twilight's Call. It's no Oversold Cemetery or Meren of Clan Nel Toth or Rise of the Dark Realms but those are pricey. Recovering from boardwipes will be important.


Blue has some interesting removal options like Curse of the Swine, Pongify, Rapid Hybridization, and Reality Shift. You have some Cyclonic Rifts in your trade binder, right? That alone is a great reason to run Blue in your deck (it's literally one of the best cards in EDH straight-up). Do it!

Blue also has all the card-draw--from per-turn stuff like Kumena's Awakening and Mind Unbound; chunks of cards like Concentrate, Treasure Cruise, Fact or Fiction, Fathom Trawl, and Tidings; huge hand-refillers like Overflowing Insight, Mind Spring, Stroke of Genius, and Pull from Tomorrow; and some sneaky stuff like Windfall, Keep Watch, Drawn from Dreams, Verity Circle, and Insight. Green has some amazing card-draw already but it wouldn't be a terrible idea to supplement it with Blue cards. Rush of Knowledge would be REALLY good in a giant-tribal deck--especially with Morophon, the Boundless at the helm.

Counterspells are very much not Giant/Stompy but I have a few aggro decks that run a silver-bullet copy of Negate or Swan Song just as anti-boardwipe tech. Not necessary though. Boros Charm, Golgari Charm, and Wrap in Vigor work well in that capacity. There are lots of 3-cmc options too but the mana difference between 2 and 3 is huge.


You could even run some interesting charms like Abzan Charm or Esper Charm. There are some surprisingly potent options. Some are stinkers of course.

Temur Ascendancy would be reason alone to run five colors and be utterly fantastic in this deck.

Garruk's Uprising alone is reason to run at least Green.

Merciless Eviction is one of the best removal spells in the game. Four or five colors would allow you to run that.

Urban Evolution would be good in a big-mana deck like this. Inspired Ultimatum, while not amazing, is playable.

You get the idea.


As you can see, there is a myriad of reasons to run more colors. Honestly, I really can't recommend it enough if true Giant-Tribal is the goal--whether Naya giants or five-color giants.

One extremely important thing for large-creature decks is to consider how you're going to recover from board wipes. Superior card-draw from Green, Black, and Blue cards will help immensely. Card advantage like Phyrexian Reclamation, Palace Siege, Seasons Past, All Suns' Dawn, Reap the Past, Reap, Creeping Renaissance, Eerie Ultimatum, and abilities like Mayael the Anima's, Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's, and Kenrith, the Returned King's reanimate ability will help you recover. These are things that Red and White simply can't do well. Sure there's Resurrection and Reya Dawnbringer, but they aren't great.

Brion Stoutarm is a legitimately good general--he really is!--but not for giant tribal. He brings nothing to the table for giant tribal other than being a decently-statted Giant himself and pigeonholes you into the worst color pair in EDH for essentially no benefit. As I mentioned, Iroas, God of Victory and, to a lesser extent, Kalemne, Disciple of Iroas would make better commanders if you are dead-set on Boros colors (which I do not recommend if you want to play maximum giants). If you were building around Brion's ability and had some giants around as support that would be one thing, but it seems that's not the goal. As such, please consider switching commanders :) I think that if you want Brion Stoutarm as the commander, you should make a Brion deck.

I really do think you'll be happier in the long run with a different commander It doesn't have to be expensive. Most of what you would need I can trade to you, including Morophon, the Boundless, and most supplemental cards I don't have are in the 25-cent to $1 range (Realm-Cloaked Giant, Mayael the Anima, etc). I actually have a shitload of this utility stuff on-hand, and you have some great staples like Cyclonic Rift on-hand--and probably more! I want you to be satisfied with your deck! It doesn't have to be competitive to be fun, but it doesn't have to be expensive to work better and smoother and be more competitive.

Tzefick on Teysa Karlov’s Double D's

1 week ago

KibaAlpha I would say Bitter Ordeal is a possible wincon when you are able to go infinite, and when not it can disrupt against opponents you know are mainly combo orientated. I would not consider it interaction like I would removal on the board like Wrath of God or Despark.

The way you'd go infinite would most likely be through Bolas's Citadel, at which point I would argue that Aetherflux Reservoir serves the same wincon but is a lot more flexible/valuable throughout the game.


I feel like you have a few too many cards dedicated to card draw/card advantage.

Erebos, Bleak-Hearted, Erebos, God of the Dead, Yawgmoth, Thran Physician, Arguel's Blood Fast  Flip, Dark Prophecy, Greed, Liliana, Dreadhorde General, Skullclamp - and adding card advantage cards; Phyrexian Reclamation, Bolas's Citadel, Athreos, God of Passage.

I would probably cut some of the less efficient / most mana hungry, like Erebos, God of the Dead and Arguel's Blood Fast  Flip. You have a lot of sources giving you card draw, but if you spend your mana on getting cards, you cannot cast those cards you draw. If you still feel too light on card draw, I would rather suggest one-tricks like Night's Whisper or Ambition's Cost.


I like being practical, so this bit is a bit tongue in cheek. Commander is about the big splashy stuff, so I get the motivation behind these but...

Black Market feels a bit like a greedy fantasy, without much intention. You hope to drop it down, sac some creatures and cash in on the mana next round, but there's no X spell finishers or particularly demanding costs. It would seem most likely that this mana will be used to cast a few spells in hand, pay Commander tax, or sink into Greed-esque cards. It feels like it doesn't support much in your game plan. The same could be said of Cabal Coffers. It's there to fill a fantasy, but one that is unlikely to see reality.


Reading through your deck's comment history it seems like you've walked back and forth from using infinite combos. It also makes more sense to me why you have so many Doomed Traveler-esque cards instead of token generators and death synergy cards.

If you want a more casual structure, I would say Pontiff of Blight is a good way to sink mana into, and it turns even the smallest and crappiest creature spell into a meaty drain chunk with the Extort of a few creatures on board.

KibaAlpha on Teysa Karlov’s Double D's

1 week ago

MrKillStar

Thank you.

Haunted Crossroads love it. Was looking for cards similar to Phyrexian Reclamation.

On the fence with Grey Merchant. Like my land Nykthos I'm looking at just how much devotion I'd have.

Bitter Ordeal does seem so synergistic. May have to make room for that. Good interaction and something I was wanting to improve.

SomeDipshit on Teysa Karlov’s Double D's

2 weeks ago

Phyrexian Reclamation is usually vastly superior, but I like that Tortured Existence is a discard engine

TheRheX on Got 99 Upvotes And A Bitch Ain't One - Marchesa

2 weeks ago

Hi Last_Laugh!

Can you give some insight on how these following cards perform in practice:

Drana, Liberator of Malakir:

Seems to only be useful when you attack a player that's not on the throne.

Also only applies the counter after damage has been dealt, so the attacking creatures would have to survive the combat damage phase.

Gray Merchant of Asphodel:

It seems awkward to not deal enough damage to take your opponents out of the game while simultaineously putting yourself on the throne. Would be interesting to know how this performs on its own and in comparison to Kokusho, the Evening Star.

The Ozolith:

This card looks like it is made for this deck, but the restricion to only be able to move the counters at the beginning of combat on our turn seems problematic.

Herald of Secret Streams:

Is this a "win-more" card or a crucial piece to win the game? I played it for a while and was never too impressed - maybe the strength of this card depends a lot on what kind of decks you are facing in your playgroup.

Spellskite:

To figure out whether this card can find a spot in my deck I checked the decks I face in my playgroup and found surprisingly little single target spells/abilities where this card would be useful.

Last One Standing:

It's a strong card but seems clunky to resolve when you have 3-4 opponents with something like 14 creatures and 23 tokens. Do you use an app that can roll an x-sided die where x=number of creatures in play?

Sadistic Hypnotist:

How much of a drawback is the sorcery speed in practice? I find it immensely useful to be able to sac at instant speed.

Phyrexian Reclamation:

How often do you activate this - is it really better than Reanimate?

I'd also like some feedback on cards that have performed really well for me, but did not make your list:

Blasphemous Act:

It's usually a bordwipe for - I regularly tutor for this card.

Deadly Rollick:

The unexpected removal of a key creature can really mess up your opponents turn / combo. It has been really solid for me and has been really annoying to play against.

Deflecting Swat:

I feel super save playing Marchesa, the Black Rose without any ability to put counters on her when I have this card in hand.

Even just your opponents knowing that you have this card in your decks gives you some savety because they try to play around it even when it's not in your hand.

Reef Worm:

The worm seems like a dull beater that needs a setup to perform, but this card never lets me down.

Give your creatures haste via cards like Urabrask the Hidden and your opponenty will quickly be facing an army of sea-creatures.

(For reference you can check out my list here: Marchesa, the Black Rose)

Judging form the comment section of other Marchesa lists on this site you seem to put a lot of thought and effort into this deck so I am looking forward on your feedback on this topic.

Have a nice day :)

Coward_Token on Commander Legends Spoilers

3 weeks ago

Tormod, the Desecrator: Desecrated Tomb in the command zone. Dodge the dreaded "one or more" templating with repeated single-card graveyard manipulation like Withered Wretch or Phyrexian Reclamation. Note that it's only your gravyeard, but not just creature cards. Guess we now know who this belongs to.

DemonDragonJ re:Plague Reaver: yeah what's strange is that there are several other "Reaver" cards featuring quadrupedal Beasts, but all of them also belong to either of the two creatures types you mentioned. I was going to be anal and say it might be an Ikoria thing, but then you think'd it at least have the decency be a Nightmare and maybe not resurrect itself from the dead. (I'm guessing it's a Phyrexian thing and they just forgot to add an extra creature type.)

Hi_diddly_ho_neighbor re:Soulfire Eruption: just in case you missed it, the impulsive draw lasts until the end of your next turn, so you're free to untap with the exiled cards even if you're unlikely to play all of them. I'll acknowledge tho that there's some tension between that and wanting high CMC for damage, since even with a fresh turn you're then going to cast less of the exiled cards if most of them are expensive.

Load more