Priest of Forgotten Gods

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Pioneer Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vintage Legal

Priest of Forgotten Gods

Creature — Human Cleric

T, Sacrifice two other creatures: Any number of target players each lose 2 life and sacrifice a creature. You add BB and draw a card.

DrukenReaps on You Think I Care? Foolish...

2 weeks ago

Think I made about 20 changes, more than I intended before even playing it once. Just cards I already owned though nothing crazy imo. Haven't even finished fishing through my collection at this point for more potential cards to try out in the deck... Who knows what I'll find lol.

I hadn't read Liquimetal Torque very closely... Almost included it thinking I could use it on lands. I'll have to pick up a Liquimetal Coating for that though. Once I do it can double up a few of the sac land effects. Evolving Wilds, Buried Ruin, Ghost Quarter, Myriad Landscape, and Terramorphic Expanse. Don't want to go any deeper on that idea though. It's cool if it all comes together but it takes having the commander and 1 other very specific card plus one of those lands. Without playing some tutor effects going deep on that isn't worthwhile.

A note on Priest of Forgotten Gods if you look at the scryfall/gatherer page you'll see the ability is not seen as a mana ability because it can have targets. So it is possible to double up that ability with Ashnod!

DrukenReaps on You Think I Care? Foolish...

2 weeks ago

Need to go through the rest of my cards to pull out more things for this to potentially use but I ended up making more changes than I initially thought I wanted to. Around 20 cards have been changed as those ones were just not good or work better with Mishra at the head. We know who the real powerhouse is here though, she's taking her rightful spotlight xD

Added some sweet interactions. Priest of Forgotten Gods if you look on the Gatherer or Scryfall you'll see is ruled as not being a mana ability. So that's a lot of things to double up on with just one card's ability. Several ways to make treasure tokens were added, as treasure counts double for me with my commander. I'm even considering Tempting Contract though I'd generally consider such a card to be pretty awful. Here it could make the cut, I'll just have to see how the deck plays out first. Besides that I think I'm missing some other treasure production that's better...

DrukenReaps on Ashnod | Can't be Arse-tifact

2 weeks ago

Just been perusing through the Ashnod decks as I ordered the precon today and would like to lead it with her. Yours looks good! I did want to mention that on The Gatherer Priest of Forgotten Gods's ability is stated as-

"Because it may have targets, the ability of Priest of Forgotten Gods isn't a mana ability. It uses the stack and can be responded to, even if no targets were chosen."

For this reason Ashnod does copy it. Unless there was some other thing I missed, always possible...

Rhadamanthus on Savra and Priest of Forgotten …

4 weeks ago

You can use double square brackets around a card's name to create a reference link/pop-up. It's the best way to help make sure everyone understands what's going on in your question: Savra, Queen of the Golgari, Priest of Forgotten Gods

Yes, this works. Savra's ability is written in a way that makes it trigger for each black and/or green creature you sacrifice. If you sacrifice multiple creatures at once then it will trigger separately for each one. If Savra was only meant to trigger once for multiple things being sacrificed then it would be written to say "Whenever you sacrifice one or more (black/green) creatures..." instead.

hootsnag on The Black Machine

1 month ago

Phyrexian Altar is included because of the Bontu's Monument and Oathsworn Vampire infinite damage three card combo. I'm not adding Rings of Brighthearth because I don't want to. I'm not adding Nim Deathmantle either. I do agree that Kalitas, Bloodchief of Ghet isn't the best and I should cut it. Priest of Forgotten Gods has a lot of synergy in this deck. I could add Vampiric Rites or any similar cards instead but I have chosen not to. I think I will add in Contamination instead of other cards. It is much more powerful than other options in my opinion. Thanks for the feedback!

king-saproling on The Newspaper

1 month ago

You might like these: Rasaad yn Bashir, Ghoulcaller Gisa, Lena, Selfless Champion, Pawn of Ulamog, Sifter of Skulls, Sling-Gang Lieutenant, Teysa, Orzhov Scion, Skullclamp, Endrek Sahr, Master Breeder, Woe Strider, Abhorrent Overlord, Rakshasa Gravecaller, Priest of Forgotten Gods, Tormod, the Desecrator, Adeline, Resplendent Cathar, Haazda Marshal

Personally I would cut these: Corrupt, Asphyxiate, Go-Shintai of Hidden Cruelty, Go-Shintai of Shared Purpose, Honden of Cleansing Fire, Honden of Night's Reach, Sanctum of Stone Fangs, Bogbrew Witch, Bubbling Cauldron, Festering Newt, Bloodsworn Squire, Blood Host, Staff of the Death Magus, Dead Weight, Mind Rot, Proclamation of Rebirth.

There are some other cards I would add and cut. Let me know if you're interested. Good luck!

Balaam__ on 101% Mono Black Burn

2 months ago

Thanks Epicurus, and I appreciate the suggestion too. I’ll add Priest of Forgotten Gods to the maybeboard for the eventual revision.

Edit-it’s literally not letting me save the deck after adding the card. No idea what’s going on. I’ll try again later.

Epicurus on 101% Mono Black Burn

2 months ago

I'd give this deck +2 if I could. One because it's brutal, and again because you're running the most underrated card in black!

Too many pages of comments to see if anyone had already suggested Priest of Forgotten Gods, so I'll go ahead and do that. She covers a few of your themes in one card. She certainly would be even better if you had some Mumms in there with your Scorps, but I think there's enough on the list already to squeeze her in.

Cheers!

Load more