|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
Combos Browse all
Creature — Giant Warrior
When Boldwyr Heavyweights enters the battlefield, each opponent may search his or her library for a creature card and put it into play. Then each player who searched his or her library this way shuffles it.
Boldwyr Heavyweights Discussion
2 months ago
Lightning Berserker seems better than Glitterfang . In a pinch you could play it normally and not be forced to return it to your hand. Kher Keep is legendary. With only 20 lands, getting 2 of them would set you back. Maybe swap 2 of em for 2 more Mountains. I'm not sure if Brand is worth it in this deck since most of the stuff you trade away gets returned or sacrificed?
4 months ago
This looks like a blast to play! Do you find yourself running out of steam in the late game or wishing you are drawing more?
Your deck reminds me of my Xantcha, Sleeper Agent deck that allows me to get pretty political and I love the idea of donating creatures. Also, cool find with Boldwyr Heavyweights . Never heard of it and can't wait to work it in a deck.
6 months ago
about death by karona, absolutely it happens if you aren't careful lol. i usually only play karona if i'm basically doing nothing in the game, or have a way to make her not attack me.
as for the extreme group hug and letting people cheat things out ( Braids, Conjurer Adept , Boldwyr Heavyweights , Hunted Wumpus , etc.) i think those could be a lot of fun and bring a bunch of chaos to the table. with this list, though, i kinda like the game going a bit slower and not exploding things too much. however, it would definitely be worth a try if you were planning on building a version of this deck yourself. i'd also recommend trying out the global ramp cards ( Mana Flare , Heartbeat of Spring , Dictate of Karametra etc.) if you were going that route
6 months ago
yooo this is just the kind of chaos-hug I want to see!
I've been sitting on a Karona, but I didn't know what to do with her... like, have you ever put her down and the table decides to name "Avatar" and 3-shot someone(you)?
Is the enchantress theme doing what you want? I'm thinking about more creature stuff. Random things like Boldwyr Heavyweights and the Hunted series seem fun.
Oh Wild Research .
If you have lands worth playing, Pir's Whim feels good.
Missing Akroma, Angel of Wrath for the lore flex.
10 months ago
11 months ago
Ok, that makes sense.
So when I cast Boldwyr Heavyweights, do I have to declare my morphing of Containment Priest before my opponents choose whether or not they even want to search for a creature, or vice versa?
11 months ago
You can only turn a manifested creature face-up when you have priority, so you can't wait until creatures are chosen before you turn Containment Priest over.
The way it works is that Boldwyr Heavyweights enters the battlefield, triggering its ETB ability. That goes on the stack, and all players receive priority in turn. If you choose not to turn Containment Priest face-up, then the Heavyweights' trigger starts resolving. No player receives priority during the resolution of a spell or ability, so you can't turn Containment Priest face-up during the resolution, when the opponents choose their creatures and place them on the battlefield. Once the ability has resolved, everyone receives priority again and you can turn your Priest over, but at this point it's too late to use its ability.
So if you want to actually stymie everyone's creature choices, you're going to have to turn Containment Priest over before the Heavyweights trigger starts resolving, when you don't know what they'll choose (and they can change their choices based on seeing your Containment Priest.
Relevant rule: 701.33b Any time you have priority, you may turn a manifested permanent you control face up. This is a special action that doesn’t use the stack (see rule 115.2b). To do this, show all players that the card representing that permanent is a creature card and what that card’s mana cost is, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up. The effect defining its characteristics while it was face down ends, and it regains its normal characteristics. (If the card representing that permanent isn’t a creature card or it doesn’t have a mana cost, it can’t be turned face up this way.)
11 months ago
Say I have a manifested Containment Priest on the battlefield, then cast Boldwyr Heavyweights. Since morphing is a special action (and thus doesn’t use the stack), and each creature my opponents search for enter the battlefield simultaneously, can I wait for them to declare the creature they’re fetching to morph my Containment Priest to screw them over?
I feel like I’m missing something that makes this not work, but I wanted to ask just in case. Thanks in advance!
No data for this card yet.