Artifact Creature — Juggernaut
When Leveler enters the battlefield, remove your library from the game.
Printings View all
|Mystery Booster: Store Edition (MYSTOR)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
1 day ago
There are a few matters here up for discussion: (1) order of resolution of triggered abilities of creatures entering the battlefield ‘simultaneously,’ and (2) responding to creatures entering the battlefield in order to potentially disrupt the resolution of the triggered ability. Also, in the conclusion of this comment I will address WarSpaniel’s scenario perhaps more clearly with a mention of revisions of the deck moving forward.
Creatures with ETB triggers enter the battlefield ‘simultaneously,’ simultaneous entrance is a fiction for the following reason: the entrances do not actually go on the stack simultaneously nor do the triggered abilities go on the stack simultaneously (or resolve simultaneously). The controller of each of the ‘simultaneous’ objects chooses their relative order on the stack. See Rule 405.3.
_ 405.3. If an effect puts two or more objects on the stack at the same time, those controlled by the active player are put on lowest, followed by each other player’s objects in APNAP order (see rule 101.4). If a player controls more than one of these objects, that player chooses their relative order on the stack._
In sum, all of the creatures that enter ‘simultaneously‘ actually enter in an order chosen by their controller. All of the triggered abilities that go on the stack ‘simultaneously’ actually go on the stack in an order chosen by their controller.
As for the hypothetical regarding responding to a creature’s ETB and corresponding ETB triggered ability: the creature’s ETB triggered ability goes on the stack when the creature ETBs, however the creature’s ETB triggered ability exists independently of the creature. Therefore, disrupting the creature once resolved will not disrupt the ETB trigger. See Rule 117.7a
_ 113.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability[...]_
In other words, either a Counterspell targeting a creature spell (before resolution) or a Stifle targeting the creature’s ETB triggered ability (after resolution of the creature spell) will prevent the ETB triggered ability from resolving. On the other hand, sport removal such as Swords to Plowshares will not prevent them ETB triggered ability from resolving. Instead, it will merely remove the creature and the independently existing ETB triggered ability will remain on the stack and resolve in order.
WarSpaniel, I should also mention in reference to your specific question, I was referring to a disruption in which Leveler would be exiled from the library via Praetor's Grasp or Thada adel, aquisitor, or a similar effect, so Leveler has never resolved. I’m sorry, I should have been more clear.
In such a case, One could respond to the exiling spell by creating infinite mana to draw the library including Leveler and Altar of the Brood( if Leveler or Altar of the Brood have already been exiled but the player has the Blue Sun's Zenith in hand and Mass Polymorph he/she can still execute a winning combination utilizing What remains in the library. I will clarify this in my write-up. Nice catch.
Also, note that Blue Sun's Zenith is on the chopping block for the next revision of this deck which you will see shortly next week.
Thank you for reading and I hope this helps.
5 days ago
Also, what is your win condition here? Control decks enflame the board, but you won't always be ablE to counter spells. I'd recommend Jace, Wielder of Mysteries/Laboratory Maniac/Thassa's Oracle+Mirror of Fate/Leveler as a good alt win, or some Leviathans to destroy the empty board after your opponents empty their hand.
2 months ago
2 months ago
Two combos to suggest:
With the Leveler in there, among many other things, the cards in that second combo I just stated all seem relevant.
And finally, because it's wicked fun if you can manage to pull it off, Donate + Illusions of Grandeur .
Ok, that's all I got.
3 months ago
I'll have to replace it with Leveler. I don't like it as much, because you can only cast it with the Orb out, but it works well enough.
5 months ago
5 months ago
There is so many combos that I dont know. Just do some research.