Solar Blaze

Solar Blaze

Sorcery

Each creature deals damage to itself equal to its power.

Browse Alters

Trade

Have (2) gmars , abby315
Want (0)

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Solar Blaze Discussion

TheVectornaut on the akroan war

6 months ago

Generally, the abilities of sagas are intended to synergize with each other. For instance, Chainer's Torment raises your life total to give you a larger token, History of Benalia creates knights that it can buff, and The Binding of the Titans puts cards in the yard so it can interact with them later. Thus, it stands to reason that The Akroan War was designed to force your opponents' creatures to attack specifically so it can then damage them on your next turn.

At the beginning of your next first main phase after you play The Akroan War , you'll put a second lore counter on the enchantment, causing the second chapter ability to trigger. This forces opposing creatures to attack each combat if able. However, attacks can only be declared during the combat phase of the player controlling those creatures. For example, in a 3 player game where you have 2 opponents, the first opponent will be forced to attack with all of their creatures (that are able) during their combat phase. That opponent doesn't have to attack again on the second opponent's turn or your turn since that would violate the rules of combat. Then, the second opponent is forced to attack during their combat phase. If your opponents gain extra turns or extra combat phases, they will be forced to attack then as well. Finally, it will be the start of your turn again and the effect will no longer apply.

Once you move to the precombat main phase of that turn, you'll again put a lore counter on the saga and trigger the third chapter ability. This will cause all tapped creatures to damage themselves by the relevant amount. This will probably include many of your opponents' creatures that were forced to tap on their turns because of the prior ability. If they tried to dodge the forced attack by tapping their own creatures before combat, they will still get hit by the Solar Blaze effect. However, if the creatures had vigilance, summoning sickness, were untapped by something like a Savage Surge , or were otherwise unable to attack and/or remain tapped, they won't get hit. Note that your creatures are also subjected to the effect, although they'll likely be untapped at this point. If you can find a way to tap down the creature stolen by The Akroan War 's first ability before your first main, you might be able to kill it before you're forced to give it back. Once the final chapter ability has resolved, you will sacrifice the saga.

TLDR: Creatures tapped during attacks provoked by the second chapter ability will usually be victims of the third chapter ability. Sleep effects are not required, although they could still be useful if you're trying to build a deck around Sunblast Angel effects like this.

I'd normally include the relevant rulings here, but I find the saga rules text needlessly hard to parse. If you're still confused about any of the rules, let me know.

ive-been-degaussed on Varian Wrynn, King of Stormwind

10 months ago

Solar Blaze is another great wipe if you have the monarch.

Blazing Sunsteel gives a Stuffy Doll-style effect to any creature: useful with the damage wipes.

Akroma's Will can be a finisher or protection!

seaplain on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

1 year ago

Rhadamanthus I thought it did but I realized I had only ever tried directing damage TO Stormwild Capridor, which works, but not away.

I was just testing it again and I had Gideon Blackblade and Brash Taunter out. I played Gideon's Sacrifice on the taunter and played Storm's Wrath. It only dealt 4 damage to my opponent rather than the 8 I expected, although no damage was done to Gideon. Seems to be a stacking issue with any damage and redirect.

My original issue still doesn't make sense to me though because Solar Blaze still dealt damage to all my creatures, at least this new time prevented damage to Gideon.

Rhadamanthus on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

1 year ago

It's not really a "bug", it's just Arena's game engine making a choice one way when it could have been made the other way. I'm not familiar with Arena so I don't know if it's even capable of letting you make the choice for situations like this versus making the choice itself.

Are you saying Deafening Clarion and Storm's Wrath do produce the interaction you want with Stormwild Capridor + Gideon's Sacrifice?

Tylord2894 on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

1 year ago

Ya, I would recommend submitting a ticket. As far as Stormwild Capridor and Gideon's Sacrifice are concerned, there is no difference between the damage from something like Deafening Clarion and Solar Blaze.

Tylord2894 on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

1 year ago

In short, this is a bug on Arena. You should be able to choose what happens here. This outcome is legal, but the reason why doesn't follow the rules.

When you resolve Solar Blaze, there are multiple replacement effects affecting the damage to Stormwild Capridor, namely these effects are the Capridor's replacement effect and the replacement effect from Gideon's Sacrifice. When multiple replacement effects are trying to replace the same event, certain replacement effects are applied before others. In this case, these two replacement effects have the same level of "importance" and the controller of the affected creature chooses the order they apply/which one applies. You, as the controller of the Capridor, should be able to choose whether the Capridor's prevention effect or the Sacrifice's "redirection" effect takes over.

I've included the relevant rules below. I did not include the "order of importance" rules for replacement effects as they don't really affect this, but you can read through it between rules 616.1a-e (found here).

Hope this helps!!

120.4b Second, damage is dealt, as modified by replacement and prevention effects that interact with damage. (See rule 614, “Replacement Effects,” and rule 615, “Prevention Effects.”) Abilities that trigger when damage is dealt trigger now and wait to be put on the stack.

616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object’s controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 101.4).

seaplain on Solar Blaze Not Damage?

1 year ago

on MTG Arena, I had Stormwild Capridor out with 12 power and Truefire Captain. I played Gideon's Sacrifice targeting the truefire, then played Solar Blaze. I expected it to deal 16 damage to truefire, but instead it did 12 to stormwild and 4 to truefire. Does solar blaze not count as damage the way gideon's sac is worded? Why would stormwild still get hit with the damage?

Load more