Unholy Indenture

Unholy Indenture

Enchantment — Aura

Enchant creature

When enchanted creature is put into the graveyard from the battlefield, return that card to the battlefield under your control with a +1/+1 counter on it.

Browse Alters

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Core Set 2020 (M20) Common

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Limited Legal
Highlander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Casual Legal
Pioneer Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Arena Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Leviathan Legal
Modern Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Historic Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Pauper Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Legacy Legal
Vintage Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Unformat Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Unholy Indenture Discussion

VorelNailo on Mono Black Enchantments

2 days ago

Blightcaster seems to be rather underwhelming. Instead, i would suggest Unholy Indenture or Minion's Return.

Coward_Token on Need help finding cards to …

3 months ago

Oh and you can recur the component parts of stacks under your control too: Athreos, Shroud-Veiled, False Demise, Minion's Return, Shade's Form, Unhallowed Pact, Unholy Indenture, Fool's Demise

king-saproling on Xantcha, Sleeper Agent

4 months ago

Xantcha is so rad. Have you considered Heartstone? It would make it easier for everybody to use her draw ability.

These might interest you too: Revel in Riches, Unholy Indenture, Minion's Return, Blessing of Leeches, Soul Channeling, Visions of Brutality, Treacherous Link, Ragged Veins, Binding Agony, Spiteful Shadows, Unnatural Hunger, Errantry, Inner Demon, Psychotic Fury, Vampiric Link (unlike lifelink, the controller of the aura gets life, not the creature's controller)

Kogarashi on Can ownership of a card …

5 months ago

The video may have been confusing Gift of Immortality with other auras that would do what they describe. Fool's Demise, for instance, does something similar, except it returns to the battlefield "under your control" instead of "it's owner's control." Journey to Eternity  Flip and Unholy Indenture also function like that.

As mentioned, the owner of a card is set at the start of the game.

  • 108.3. The owner of a card in the game is the player who started the game with it in their deck. If a card is brought into the game from outside the game rather than starting in a player’s deck, its owner is the player who brought it into the game. If a card starts the game in the command zone, its owner is the player who put it into the command zone to start the game. Legal ownership of a card in the game is irrelevant to the game rules except for the rules for ante. (See rule 407.)

sonnet666 on How does Massacre Girl interact …

7 months ago

Sure, but based on how OP's friends were talking, it sounded like there were more than a few other creatures on the field.

"They explained that the -1, -1 counters that built up during MG's delayed ability was still on the board"

Nobody describes something as "built up" if there are three or less of that thing.

The point of the example was to show how the triggers from Puppeteer Clique and Unholy Indenture have to happen before any extra Massacre Girl triggers are cleared. I chose 5 1/1's because it was the simplest way to illustrate that.

sonnet666 on How does Massacre Girl interact …

7 months ago

You actually asked a really complicated question and, based on your response, I don't think you totally got the answer from what was posted. Furthermore, Rhadamanthus's answer is correct in terms of how the rules work, but doesn't do a good job of explaining what happens in this situation.

I'm going to go over it in more detail.

Short answer:

Massacre Girl's Enters the Battlefield ability is a triggered ability. When it resolves it does two things: give every other creature currently on the board -1/-1, AND create a delayed triggered effect for the rest of the turn, that triggers when a creature dies, and will also give every other creature on the board -1/-1 when that delayed trigger resolves.

In the situation you describe, Puppeteer Clique and Falkenrath Noble WILL still die and you WON'T end up with them, or the creature that PC brought back, on the battlefield when the dust settles (probably).

Detailed Example:

The board is as follows: Puppeteer Clique on your side, and Falkenrath Noble enchanted with your Unholy Indenture under your opponent's control. I'm also going to assume there are some other creatures on the board and that at least one of them is a 1/1, because otherwise nothing would die to Massacre Girl's ability. To make this example run smoothly, I'm going to say this is a multiplayer game, and that your second opponent controls five 1/1 elf warrior tokens.

It's your turn. You play Massacre Girl. This happens, step by step:

  1. Nobody counters Massacre Girl. It resolves, then its ETB resolves, giving everything -1/-1.

  2. The five 1/1 Elf Warriors die as a State-Based Action. Before the next player gets priority, five of Massacre Girl's delayed triggers get put on the stack. Abilities on the stack resolve in First-In-Last-Out order, so I'm going to name these triggers M1 though M5, with M1 being the first on the stack. M5 will be the first to resolve.

  3. Falkenrath Noble's ability also triggers five times (F1 through F5). Your opponent controls these triggers. Because you are the active player (its your turn) your abilities went on the stack first. Your opponent chooses a target player to lose life for each trigger.

  4. F5 through F1 resolve. Your opponent gains 1 life and the targeted player loses 1 life, five times.

  5. M5 resolves, Puppeteer Clique and Falkenrath Noble get an additional -1/-1.

  6. Puppeteer Clique and Falkenrath Noble die as a SBA. Six abilities trigger from this: Unholy Indenture's ability, Puppeteer Clique's persist, two new Massacre Girl delayed triggers (M6&7), and two new Falkenrath Noble triggers that your opponent controls (F6&7).

  7. Again, your triggers go on the stack before your opponents, but you get to choose the order you want your triggers to resolve in. Lets say you stack them like this: Puppeteer, Unholy, M6 and M7 (M7 will resolve first), then your opponent's F6 and F7 go on after. (Your opponent's chooses targets now.)

  8. F7 and F6 resolve. Same as step 4.

  9. M7 and M6 resolve. There's no creatures left except Massacre Girl, so nothing happens.

  10. Unholy Indenture's trigger resolves and gives you Falkenrath Noble.

  11. Puppeteer Clique's Persist resolves and it comes back with a -1/-1 counter. It's ETB triggers and goes on the stack on top of everything else. You choose which creature you're targeting now.

  12. Let's say there's a Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur in your opponent's graveyard. Puppeteer Clique steals until the end step, so you figure you'll be able to get 7 cards off of it. PC's ETB resolves and put in into play under your control.

  13. The first four Massacre Girl triggers are still on the stack. M4 resolves, giving PC, FN, and Jin -1/-1.

  14. PC dies as a SBA. Your Falkenrath Noble triggers from this (Fa). Choose a player to target. Fa resolves, you drain them for 1.

  15. M3 resolves, giving FN and Jin -1/-1.

  16. FN dies as a SBA. It triggers itself (Fb). Repeat step 14.

  17. M2 and M1 resolve, giving Jin -1/-1 twice.

  18. Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur is a 5/4 and has been given -4/-4. It dies as a SBA. It goes back to your opponent's graveyard because PC only exiles at the end step.

  19. Massacre Girl triggers one last time (M8), but the ability does nothing like in step 9.

And that's everything. As you can see, even though Massacre Girl's triggered ability only effects the creatures that are on the battlefield when the trigger resolves, the triggers resolve individually, and everything that comes into play in the middle of it will probably die too. Even stacking the triggers as well as possible back in step 7 wasn't enough to save a 5/4 in this example, and things will probably be even more hectic in a game with a clogged board full of creatures. (Maybe if you pulled someone's Emrakul, the Promised End, and there weren't too many creatures on the field, that might survive the massacre.)

Your friends were explaining it rather simply when they said the delayed triggers "built up" but in this instance that's a good way to look at it.

(Note: Any time I said "__ resolves," there was a chance for players to cast instants and activate abilities just before that happened. I left that out because this was complicated enough already.)

Hope this helps :)

Rasaru on How does Massacre Girl interact …

7 months ago

Rhadamanthus Additionally, I mentioned the wrong enchanment, it was actually Unholy Indenture

Load more