Metallurgic Summonings

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Frontier Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Standard Legal
Legacy Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Casual Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Kaladesh (KLD) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Tokens

Metallurgic Summonings

Enchantment

Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, create an X/X colorless Construct artifact creature token, where X is that spell's converted mana cost.

3 , Exile Metallurgic Summonings: Return all instant and sorcery cards from your graveyard to your hand. Activate this ability only if you control six or more artifacts.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

KLD

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Metallurgic Summonings Discussion

Ruw on Mizzix Spellslinger

10 hours ago

Mizzix's Mastery and Epic Experiment, I would take out the cluestone and keyrune for signets. Also I would cut back on the creatures you will have enough blockers and possible wincon with Metallurgic Summonings and Talrand, Sky Summoner. Melek is 6 mana you could use to play spells which in my opinion slows down the deck to much. And if you switched Archaeomancer with Mystic Retrieval you could cast for one blue and flashback for one red for the same effect. Past in Flames is and auto include. and if you are looking for another wincon Sphinx-Bone Wand. Not bad for a first attempt. Hope this helps.

projectneptune on They see me Roilin', I'm Shapin'...

1 day ago

It's been a long time since I've visited but here's some more suggestions:

Spellweaver Volute - Super unique card that I found recently. Two factors you'll want to consider are the high number of counterspells you have (which are essentially useless for this) and the low number of sorceries you have. I only run with 5 counterspells and my instant/sorcery ratio is closer to 1-to-1.

Spelltwine - really shocked to see this one wasn't suggested yet. 3 cast triggers in one card.

Cascading Cataracts - Another Darksteel Citadel.

Supreme Will - can serve as a counter or an Impulse, I like having options.

Cerulean Wisps - pays for itself and replaces itself.

Contested War Zone - So good news / bad news situation. The bad news is that Mirrorweave doesn't act as a board wipe in this deck like I previously thought. The copies simply become unanimated lands instead of 0/0 elementals. (Although maybe you have it for its general usefulness.) The good news is you can combo Mirrorweave with Contested War Zone if you're into this kind of trickery. The combo works by getting past an opponent's blockers, and then casting Mirrorweave targeting an animated Contested War Zone. All the defending player's creatures become a Contested War Zone and now you control them all.

Hostile Desert - Kinda "meh" but if you have lands in your GY and you want to put them to good use, here's one way. Flavorful too.

Attunement / Pursuit of Knowledge - Strong effects. Combo well with Alhammarret's Archive or Thought Reflection.

Question for you - how do you like Metallurgic Summonings in place of the creatures that share a similar "cast to get stuff" ability - Talrand, Sky Summoner and Docent of Perfection  Flip? Would you ever run all of them or would you consider it overkill?

FossilGolem on Miss Coupon never pays the retail price

4 days ago

Have you considered removing Talrand, Sky Summoner for Metallurgic Summonings? Same token production rate but with the added bonus of pulling spells back from the grave. It would be easy to get to 6 artifacts with all the spell duplication in the deck.

TheVectornaut on Metallurgic Summonings and Split Cards

5 days ago

Catch has a cmc of 9 at all times except when it is on the stack.

"708.3. A player chooses which half of a split card he or she is casting before putting it onto the stack.708.3a Only the chosen half is evaluated to see if it can be cast. Only that half is considered to be put onto the stack.708.3b While on the stack, only the characteristics of the half being cast exist. The other halfs characteristics are treated as though they didnt exist."

Metallurgic Summonings has an ability that triggers when an appropriate spell is cast. Such abilities trigger after modes have been chosen and a spell is put on the stack.

"601.2i Once the steps described in 601.2ah are completed, effects that modify the characteristics of the spell as its cast are applied, then the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. If the spells controller had priority before casting it, he or she gets priority."

Therefore, Catch will have a cmc of 3 when it is cast, causing Metallurgic Summonings to create a 3/3 creature token.

Dryxyx on Metallurgic Summonings and Split Cards

5 days ago

If I cast Catch While I have a Metallurgic Summonings, does it create a 3/3 or a 9/9? Rulings on split cards say Catch Would have a CMC of 9 but I'm not entirely sure.

DayDreamer147 on Sultai Control for Ixalan

5 days ago

I'll be honest if it's just for fun this deck is great but if you're trying to be competitive I think you could make some changes.

In this up coming format we can only guarantee one deck will remain... RED. And right now I would say this deck is just way to slow to stop Red (honestly just way to slow in general), granted red v control already is a hard matchup.

As for my constructive thoughts I would say cut green entirely. Both planeswalkers aren't doing much for you and hardcasting either, even if on curve still leaves you with all your mana tapped out. This gives your opponent a free turn to resolve anything they want, which is bad for control. As for alt win conditions like the green dino there are other alt win conditions available in your other two colors and the Prowling Serpopards dont do much for you even if you sideboard in all your creatures but that point I would dare question is the deck even doing what you want it to at that point.

Metallurgic Summonings while I agree is a stellar and fun card, I think its just too slow and not a good enough pay off. By the time you get this out and start getting it going, a majority of good aggro decks will already have you dead. And cards like Battle at the Bridge is only good if you have Metallurgic Summonings out and ticking, otherwise is just a giant mana sink to try and kill something big and then (if its a ramp deck) just get plowed when they play another big thing but this time no mana to counter it or remove it.

I agree with a lot of your instant choices.

HOWEVER. If are dead set on going sulti-control, I can respect that, but I would still recommend taking out the Metallurgic Summonings. It being an engine solely on its own with no support is something I think will ultimately hurt you. Again its a fun card but I just don't think it fits here. But again if your dead set on it ,try to make it so other cards in your deck utilize it more and vice versa. And put more counters in here to protect it from being destroyed. Because if it goes down. Your whole ship goes down.

I hope at least something I said helps. And honestly is all about perspective, my play group could be on an entirely different level than yours or vice versa. So take everything I saw with a grain of salt.

DrukenReaps on Building EDH Simic

1 week ago

Simic is pretty good for throwing down giant X spells. I had a list I worked on for a bit but it was sultai so that I could use some of the really nasty X spells black offers. I would use Kruphix, God of Horizons so that you can just keep stacking up mana. Also it is hard to get rid of the gods... 10 or so spells like Blue Sun's Zenith and Metallurgic Summonings should be enough win conditions. The idea is viable, if using such effects to win you may want Boseiju, Who Shelters All, Sphinx of the Final Word, and similar things. Hydras wouldn't be out of place either with lots of mana.

VraskaTheCursed on Would swarm intelligence trigger metallurgic ...

1 month ago

No, it would not.

Metallurgic Summonings's ability triggers when a spell is cast. On the other hand, Swarm Intelligence copies spells, which means that the copy is put directly onto stack and is not cast. Therefore, the copy created by Intelligence would not creature an additional Construct from Summonings.

Load more