Moldervine Reclamation

Moldervine Reclamation

Enchantment

Whenever a creature you control is put into the graveyard from the battlefield, you gain 1 life and draw a card.

Browse Alters

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Legacy Legal
Limited Legal
Leviathan Legal
Vintage Legal
Custom Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Pioneer Legal
Unformat Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Gladiator Legal
Arena Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Historic Legal
Modern Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal

Moldervine Reclamation occurrence in decks from the last year

Latest Decks as Commander

Moldervine Reclamation Discussion

Vertical on Mazirek, Kraul Death Priest, the Insect Shaman

1 month ago

This looks like a pretty solid deck, I built a Mazirek deck and so far I think it's my strongest. There are a few things Your deck didn't have that mine does, but your deck seems to be built for the long game, while mine is built to have one explosive turn and pretty much win then and there.

This commander loves to sacrifice things, but he shouldn't be the only one in this deck. Effects like Zulaport Cutthroat are very powerful in aristocrat style decks, and Moldervine Reclamation can be good for drawing.

One of my favorite sacrifice outlets that I didn't see on your board was Altar of Dementia which lets you mill your opponents potentially out of the game, and provides you with a free place to sacrifice your vast army! And if any of your opponents like to use a lot of graveyard recursion, throw in a Tormod's Crypt for a free sacrifice trigger and some graveyard hate. There's also Priest of Forgotten Gods which forces opponents to sacrifice, lets you draw and gives you mana!

If you want to go down the path of forcing opponents to sacrifice their creatures, effects like Grave Pact and Dictate of Erebos are fantastic. If you want something that can attack, Butcher of Malakir will be your new best friend. another card that can easily shrink an opponent's army is Archfiend of Depravity. If you do go down this path, throwing in things like Kothophed, Soul Hoarder will let you draw tons of cards off of opponents sacrifices.

If you're consistently having trouble finding creatures that generate tokens, I'd suggest throwing in a Fiend Artisan who has a sacrifice and tutor effect in one. If you're running some recursion, Jarad's Orders is a fantastic way to grab the creatures you need.

Well now you've sacrificed a bunch of things and your creatures are huge but you have nothing to do with them, so what now? One of the simplest ways to win is by using Rogue's Passage or something similar to make your commander unblockable and swing for lethal damage. If you want to stay on theme, Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord lets you drain your opponents fo ra ton of health with your creatures for a fairly small amount of mana as well.

If you want any infinite combos, throw in any creature with persist along with a free sac outlet. Probably the one that would be the most devastating to your opponents would be Woodfall Primus, as it can even destroy lands. When you sacrifice a creature with persist, two abilities go onto the stack, Mazirek's counter ability and the Persist ability. Since they are both your effects, you can choose what order they happen in, and you can choose to have the creature reenter the battlefield with a -1/-1 counter, and then remove that counter, and then you can sacrifice it again to repeat the loop. Check with your playgroup before you use this, as some people don't like having infinite combos in their games.

I know that was a lot and I'm sorry, but this deck was super fun and I love talking about it!

RiotRunner789 on BCC Week 2 | Slimefoot the Stowaway

2 months ago

I would recommend an aristocratic build. You may choose to go spore counter route, which I'm not a huge fan of, but the following ones pull double duty (and I am a fan of):

On-theme Sac outlets that also make saprolings:

Deathspore Thallid: Great sac outlet and potential removal piece.

Savage Thallid: Another great sac outlet and protection piece.

Vitaspore Thallid: I think giving haste is the weakest effect of the bunch, this is just another budget on-theme sac outlet.

Budget sac payoffs,

Epicure of Blood and Marauding Blight-Priest: Help to increase the payoff of slimefoot and are so cheap they are essentially free (literally, ask anyone at your LGS for these, they have them and don't want them).

Falkenrath Noble: Who doesn't love life loss?

Poison-Tip Archer: Great blocker (reach and deathtouch? No one wants to lose there dragon to this) but this one starts to impact the budget.

Syr Konrad, the Grim: He just does soo much.

Vindictive Vampire: This guy should say life loss.... I mean, it's black and not red.

Zulaport Cutthroat: Classic but approaches a dollar.

Bastion of Remembrance: Possibly my favorite. Comes with free sac fodder on a permanent that doesn't die to Wrath of God.

Slime Foot god stuff,

Jade Mage: Back up slimefoot that does stuff at a discount.

Massacre Girl: Best board wipe in this build.

Verdant Force: It says EACH upkeep. Yes, each.

Gift of Doom: Cheap protection for slimefoot that has the added benefit of killing a saproling you already want dead.

Moldervine Reclamation: Card draw and life for just playing? Of course.

Snake Umbra: Protection and three cards every time you sac a saproling.

Sprout Swarm: Convoke makes this broken.

Some less budget friendly cards (all under $10, but above $1):

Ohran Frostfang: Turns each saproling into a card draw or a removal spell.

Pitiless Plunderer: Solid ramp.

Priest of Forgotten Gods: Under appreciated. This card does everything a black mage should be doing.

Tendershoot Dryad: Can win you the game on its own.

Black Market: Slime foot loves stupid amounts of mana.

Keen Sense: Insane card draw for 1 green mana.

Vraska, Golgari Queen: All abilities are helpful and the ult is just perfect. Tie in an Overrun effect on the same turn and you should win.

Casualties of War: Expensive to cast but worth it. Worth it every time.

Best of luck building.

slashdotdash on Golos attempt II

3 months ago

Hey there Kronhamilton,

First of all, I like the improvements you’ve made to your deck. It’s already looking a lot slicker and I can see you’ve made some very fun looking changes to how the deck plays.

You’ve got a nice array of threats (I always love to see the Bringers and Ur-Dragon) and a decent amount of ramp which are both a big plus. Additionally, you’ve got the beginnings of some nasty graveyard synergy shaping up, which looks really, really cool as a sort of plan B.

That being said, I’d like to make a few suggestions to help guide you toward a more consistent and powerful Golos deck. Please remember that these suggestions are just my informed opinion, and that I totally respect whatever deck choices you decide to make. I really just want to help you get comfortable with deck building and learning what to look for in a ‘good’ or ‘bad’ card.

Broad Suggestions

I would encourage you to add 2 Lands, 3 Removal cards, and 8 Draw cards. I’d also think about adding 2 more Ramp cards, but that is less critical to the overall health of the deck. Your Threats look great and I think your Sweepers are also appropriate. Anything that synergizes with your graveyard backup plan is great.

There are a couple of things to think about as you play this deck; 1. “Am I happy or sad to be holding this card in my hand or drawing it off the top of my deck?” – If a card seems to constantly be ‘the wrong card’ for the situation, or you can never seem to cast it, or you always play other cards instead, or you tend to die while holding a certain card, then you probably want to think about how well that card fits in your deck and whether or not you should cut it or modify the deck to support it. 2. “What ongoing advantage does this card give me?” – Some cards seem like a decent card based on having decent power/toughness, a fair cost, and some neat keywords or abilities. Just having those upsides alone though doesn’t make a card truly powerful. Instead, try to think about what ways a card can synergize with your deck to create crazy effects or otherwise how it will become more dangerous as the game progresses (like a Quartzwood Crasher, Scute Swarm, or Giant Adephage). Additionally, try to find cards that do multiple things such as Chasm Skulker which gets bigger when you draw cards and also explodes into tokens when it dies, or even Ravenous Chupacabra which deals with a threat and also acts as a blocker when you are facing pressure. The key is finding a way to levarage the most amount of value in each individual card – even a 2 mana ramp spell will set you up to play all of your future spells 1 turn earlier than normal for the rest of the game, which can be an insane advantage when you think about it. 3. “Am I out of options?” – If you can’t seem to find a solution to a problem or you’re ‘running out of steam’, then it is likely that you need more card draw and more ways to create ‘engines’ that accrue value. An example of an engine would be Fertilid + Evolution Sage or Rampaging Baloths + Elemental Bond or Kruphix, God of Horizons + Victory Chimes or Atraxa, Praetors' Voice + Ajani, the Greathearted or Anointed Procession + Endless Ranks of the Dead or Search for Azcanta  Flip or Deadbridge Chant or Mind Unbound, etc.

Ramp

Your ramp looks pretty good with 10 dedicated Ramp cards. I’d suggest adding 2 more Ramp spells to really help speed things up early. Examples would be Kodama's Reach, Llanowar Elves, Wild Growth, Farseek, Rampant Growth, Springbloom Druid, etc.

Ramp - 10

Not Ramp

Draw

Overall, I think your card draw package needs a little bit of love. I want to note I see a lot of ‘looting’ effects like the ones on Teferi, Master of Time or Obsessive Stitcher and while these cards are great for a graveyard strategy they still don’t count as card draw. I’d keep most of these ‘looting’ type cards, but try to find cards that get you about 2 or 3 cards such as Harmonize, Concentrate, Escape to the Wilds, Urban Evolution, Moldervine Reclamation, Deathreap Ritual, Recurring Insight, Mind Unbound, Underworld Connections, Cloudblazer, Mulldrifter, Drawn from Dreams, Return of the Wildspeaker, Harvester of Souls, Momentous Fall, Dream Trawler, Keeper of Fables etc.

Draw - 2

Not Draw

  • Barrin, Tolarian Archmage – drawing 1 card does not really count. If anything, Barrin is like slow, bad removal for dealing with your opponents’ stuff temporarily. If you’re interested in reusing Golos’s land finding ability I would recommend playing Soulherder instead.

  • Solemn Simulacrum – He has sort of ‘incidental value’ with his death trigger but doesn’t actively net you a bunch of cards like Keruga, the Macrosage or Beast Whisperer. Sad Robot is still great though.

  • Titanoth Rex – still keep this guy because he is a threat that isn’t dead in your hand on turn 5.

  • Void Beckoner – same story as the Rex

  • Teferi, Master of Time – Teferi’s great, but he is really at his best when you’ve got 4-7 card in hand so that you can throw a bunch of big threats to the graveyard and hopefully draw a reanimation spell. Other than that, Teferi isn’t going to refill your hand so he doesn’t count as true draw.

Removal

Your removal package looks like it needs a couple more additions to keep your deck responsive and able to handle imminent-doom type threats. It is worth noting that cards like Blatant Thievery or Mythos of Illuna can save you in certain situations, but be wary of their crazy mana costs and the fact that they are not instant-speed answers. Examples include Mythos of Nethroi, Beast Within, Price of Fame, Reality Shift, Terminate, Return to Nature, Putrefy, Utter End, Eat to Extinction, Murderous Rider, etc.

Removal – 4 (aim for 7)

Cuts

There are several cards that I would consider cutting first when modifying the deck.

  • Lukka, Coppercoat Outcast - he relies very heavily on luck and only interacts with creatures. This makes him good with only 30% of your deck. Additionally, Lukka can’t ‘protect’ himself like Garruk can (making tokens to block for him), nor does he have an immediately accessible removal ability like Teferi. Overall, Lukka is interesting but a little lacking in consistency, defensibility, and power.

Azusa, Lost but Seeking – you don’t have enough land + card draw to really capitalize on Asuza’s ability. Yes, you can use the double lands (like Gruul Turf) to bounce a land to hand and then play that land with Asuza, but realistically that’s such a narrow and relatively tame synergy (in this non-landfall deck, that is) that you would be better off playing a Farseek or a Rampant Growth or even a Fertile Ground.

  • Sparkhunter Masticore - This little fellow has a major drawback and no seriously crazy abilities that make him worthwhile. Yes he can deal with planeswalkers, but so can a Murderous Rider or an Eat to Extinction. Yes he can be an indestructible 3/4, but you have to pay 3 mana just to make him indestructible. Under normal circumstances that’s 6 mana for a 3/4 that dodges death one time - a 3/4 just isn’t fantastic. The biggest bad news about this robocat is its “additional cost to cast” ability which means that even if you hit it with Golos’s ‘Rainbow Wheel of Death’ ability, you still have to discard a card for a 3/4. I just honestly think you’d rather have a removal spell (Beast Within, Mythos of Nethroi) instead of this cat any day.

  • Pursued Whale - While this whale is kinda cool and he does force combat, he is just sorta expensive for what he does. 7 mana for an 8/8 is pretty standard and giving your opponents tokens (that they could just attack you with or sacrifice to an effect) can be a bad idea in some situations, such as when they have an Beastmaster Ascension or a similar effect on the field. While his semi-hexproof ability (3 more mana to target) seems nifty, that is one of the only really powerful highlight abilities of this card, meaning that ability is protecting a relatively low-powered card. A couple immediate alternatives come to mind for me; Geode Rager to force combat AND keep you safe, and Dream Trawler for a flying, hexproof, lifelinking, card drawing threat.

  • Renata, Called to the Hunt - She just isn’t fantastic. You aren’t playing a devotion centric deck in which she might become a 10/10, and your strategy doesn’t really care about 1/1 counters either. I would consider replacing her with a Harmonize or another 3 or 4 drop with more impactful abilities. Heck, even another reanimation spell could be nice like Unburial Rites or Grave Upheaval since your deck seems to have some tendency to but things in the graveyard for later.

  • Lorescale Coatl - Cards like this (or his bigger cousin Chasm Skulker) are really designed for “wheel decks” that play “wheel effects” like Windfall or Reforge the Soul. He is fine, but really not much better than that. If you want a threat that can grow faster and do more important things, try Managorger Hydra or even Scute Mob.

  • Colossification - This aura is too expensive, taps your creature down, and worst of all is an aura. Auras are generally quite bad because your opponent can destroy your creature and the aura attached to them with one spell – and odds are they’ll do that because it is usually too juicy not to. The fact that you can’t attach Colossification and attack immediately means that your opponents will have a full turn to deal with it before you get a chance to use it (and keep in mind your Colossified creature needs to survive 3 opponents’ turns!). This means you’ll most likely run out of cards in a hurry without accomplishing anything.

  • Door to Nothingness - Unlike Progenitus, you can’t reanimate the Door, nor can you get its full value off of the Rainbow Wheel of Death. The only time this card does anything at all is when you literally have 10 mana of the exact color combination necessary to use it. It’s still your call, and I know some people make it a goal to Door their opponents, but be warned: you probably don’t have as much ramp as you need to make this work well. I’d consider supporting this crazy cards (and your many expensive threats for that matter) with a few more ramp spells – Boundless Realms, Migration Path, Circuitous Route, Kodama's Reach, Explosive Vegetation, Zendikar Resurgent

  • Azor's Gateway  Flip – This card belongs in a very specific variant of Golos. That variant is the Minamo, School at Water's Edge Golos deck which also runs stuff like Vizier of Tumbling Sands, Fatestitcher, Kiora's Follower, and other payoffs like Jegantha, the Wellspring, or Captain Sisay. Especially considering that Sanctum of the Sun (the flip side) adds X mana of only 1 color, I think this card is just rarely going to work like you want it to unfortunately.

  • Lathliss, Dragon Queen - Basically, you only have 3 other dragons in the deck so I would either exchange a bunch of cards for more dragons or cut Lathliss, since she will rarely be able to use her best ability (5/5 tokens). Keep in mind, you could also run a bunch of cards with the ‘changeling’ keyword if you wanted to get really funky, in which case you may as well also play stuff like Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow, Reaper King, Crested Sunmare, The First Sliver but that’s a very slippery and insane slope that I’m not sure you want to get sucked into.

Summary

Nice changes Kronhamilton, I can see that your deck is really starting to shape up as a rampy graveyard-mingling Golos deck, and that’s really cool. I encourage you to try and pay attention to what situations you find yourself in, as that’s often the best way to tell what cards you need to cut or add to the deck for it to work best. As a default, I’d consider making a few of the changes I mentioned in the Broad Suggestion section, as those changes should just generally help with your deck’s consistency.

Please do let me know how you decide to tune your deck – it’s really fun to watch honestly, and I’m always down to help advise you. Other than that, take care and enjoy Golos!

Best,

-Slashdotdash

bushido_man96 on Token Deck Help

4 months ago

Dont forget cards like Fecundity and Moldervine Reclamation that draw you cards when creatures die. Deathreap Ritual would also be decent.

Apollo_Paladin on Rat-tastic Rampage

4 months ago

Love it! +1

Have you considered including some Vanquisher's Banners along with those Coat of Arms? Same cost to cast but especially in a strong tribal theme deck like this, that's an awful lot of card draw (card advantage).

That's about the only criticism I can see, that it looks like it plays out pretty quickly and then has no way of overcoming Topdecking afterward (except for that single copy of Moldervine Reclamation. A couple more of those wouldn't be the worst thing in the world either should you not want to drop cash on Vanquisher's Banners. Same casting cost but with color requirements, and no +1/+1 lord effect to help beef up your Rats simultaneously.

Fun-looking deck either way though!

abby315 on Bomber Bois

4 months ago

I'm going to suggest a lot of possible cards to give you options, but I'm not saying they should all go in the deck!

Here's some additional sac outlets, since I think they'll be useful for keeping your creatures flowing:
Viscera Seer
Birthing Pod
Woe Strider
Yahenni, Undying Partisan
Yawgmoth, Thran Physician
Diabolic Intent
Attrition

And here are some cards that go well with doing damage and saccing creatures:
Dictate of Erebos
Butcher of Malakir
Erebos, Bleak-Hearted
Midnight Reaper
Moldervine Reclamation
Chandra's Ignition (deals double damage to the chosen player and is also a panic button)

You might need some additional protection since you're likely to be a target:
Teferi's Protection
Flawless Maneuver
Deflecting Swat

Hope that gives you a good starting point. However, I don't think Saskia is necessarily a high synergy commander. If you're really looking for synergy and/or combo decks (since you have Aluren in the deck), I'd recommend Korvold, Fae-Cursed King, Prossh, Skyraider of Kher, or Meren of Clan Nel Toth.

dominionloser123 on Hapatra EDH

4 months ago

You could consider adding a Desert package (Desert of the Glorified, Desert of the Indomitable, Grasping Dunes, Endless Sands, and possibly a few of the more minor ones) in order to enable Ifnir Deadlands. If you do, I might consider cutting Opal Palace as your colorless landcount is perhaps a bit on the high side.

Nesting Grounds seems fun in this list.

Cut Golgari Guildgate, Foul Orchard, Jungle Hollow, and Vivid Grove. They're taplands with no upside, and there's plenty of better options out there.

Tectonic Edge doesn't really fit the current meta, since nobody's running any of the broken lands that would actually warrant getting destroyed.

Your swamp count is only at...9, if you count the budget fetchlands and Urborg. That's a bit low to make Tainted Wood work.

Generous Patron, Seshiro the Anointed, Yawgmoth, Thran Physician, Skullclamp, Moldervine Reclamation, and Driven / Despair are your only ways to accrue much in the way of card draw. It's over the minimum threshold I'd set to run Reliquary Tower, but I'd keep in mind that the Tower is rarely going to do much for you, so cutting it wouldn't be the worst.

Load more