|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Eighth Edition (8ED)||Rare|
|Mercadian Masques (MMQ)||Rare|
|Promo Set (000)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
Search target opponent's library for a creature card and put that card onto the battlefield under your control. Then that player shuffles his or her library.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
|Have (10)||NobleSlay3r , Metaphisyk , itheoryz , Kleptozaniac , mandoso , CrimsonKing , KillDatBUG , Roadhog , Vasbear1 , Benniator|
|Want (52)||Willis1994 , eralebus , Zybbyz , psoliver , AwesomeOctopus , Myrolluth , LordGinger , Mousemke , Ssserra , scouts2nd , Amagon , CastleSiege , Donktor_Jcon , uhore , No1HanSolo , Va1mar , afeuling , eleventhend , spike1395 , zephrosDelite , lightbow , mtgfortheboyz , Rathe , Cromby , Orbrunner , tomshwag , Jaberw0cky , MasterRoach117 , PapaSkeletor , AquaDave , The-Eternal_King , pandythemonky , adb_slayer , randalfmorn , NivStormfront , RoninH3RO , pphhaazzee , chucklebot , SillyPsycho92 , Enkki , essex0619 , xpsychovampx , cainanunes , noobhammer , georgehades , Thered708 , theilluminaire , Amazements , MoJoMiXuP , Jbarthol33 , Blueberry314 , SlickWizard|
3 days ago
I do not like the equipment subtheme you have going here. Most of the time, you will not be able to equip your commander, and your other creatures are more for utility than combat. I would cut all these cards, except Assault Suit, as that gives you an easy, repeatable way to gift someone else your commander.
I also take some issue with this statement:
“When vampiric link is on xantcha, anytime she deals combat damage I gain life.”
While it is technically correct, it is far more limited than it needs to be. I presume you know, but, for the sake of clarity, I want to make clear that Vampiric Link works for all damage, not just comabt damage.
The relevant text is “gains control” as this indicates it is a control-changing effect. Per Rule 800.4a, control-changing effects end before cards owned by others that are controlled via non-control-changing means (such as Bribery) are exiled.
1 week ago
To add a point of clarification to Boza's post - just because one control-changing effect is currently applicable does not cause any others to go away. Control-changing effects are in Layer 2, and the game remembers these effects when a new effect is put on top. So, if Player A owns a creature, Player B takes it, Player C takes it, and Player D uses Act of Treason, the creature will revert back to the next highest control-changing effect in the layer--Player C.
It's also important to drive home the point that Bribery is a bit strange and is not really a control-changing effect. Bribery does not allow you to "gain control" of a creature--the creature enters the battlefield under your control without having ever been under another's.
This very minor distinction makes a critical difference in multiplayer games--in fact, Bribery is specifically mentioned in the examples to Rule 804(a).
Why is this important? When a player loses the game, the first thing that happens is all control-changing effects end. So, if a player using Act of Treason loses the game, their control changing effect will end, and the creature will revert back to whoever is next highest in the layer.
Bribery, however, is not a control-changing effect, since the creature was never under another's control. It will not revert back to its owner, but rather will be exiled (Then, if there are any objects still controlled by that player, those objects are exiled.)
Example from Rule 800.4(a): Alex casts Bribery, which reads, “Search target opponent’s library for a creature card and put that card onto the battlefield under your control. Then that player shuffles their library,” targeting Bianca. Alex puts Serra Angel onto the battlefield from Bianca’s library. If Bianca leaves the game, Serra Angel also leaves the game. If, instead, Alex leaves the game, Serra Angel is exiled.
1 week ago
There is a multiplayer EDH game consisting of players A, B, and C in that turn order. Player A casts Bribery on player C, stealing a Prodigal Sorcerer. Next turn player B casts Act of Treason on the Sorcerer. When the Treason effect ends, who gains control of the Sorcerer? It's preveious controller (A) or it's owner (C)?
1 week ago
Alright man, this deck has some real potential and I am super into it. The first things as you said is that you need to cut cards. You do not want to be running more than 100 otherwise it will weaken the whole deck. Some of my own suggestions would be Kiss of the Amesha, Vizkopa Guildmage, Elixir of Immortality, Spectral Searchlight, Karmic Justice, Victory Chimes, Blessed Alliance, Second Sunrise, Axis of Mortality and or Beacon of Immortality
My next thing I think your deck needs is a strong game ender. This is pretty much a control deck but you could really use a way to end a game when it gets down to just you and your "friend". Note most of my suggestions are trying to be as political as possible. Check out Corrupted Conscience, Paradox Haze, Cultural Exchange, Bribery, Mind's Dilation, Reins of Power, and Archfiend of Despair. These are just my own suggestions though I am super interested to see where this deck with go! Ps Celestial Dawn is just a good card in this deck.
1 week ago
Ah...good ol' fashioned Sliver Hate™. All I can say is that politically - you will be weak. Prepare to be targeted heavily during games "Because Slivers". Take it as a compliment, but prepare for the worst my friend. At least, that's my perspective from my own experience. I don't know how to start lol so i'll just talk about whatever.
Creatures: So you chose to include 33 creatures - making them about 1/3 of your deck. while it's nice to have Slivers, you are limiting yourself on spells that can help you interact more with players (i.e. counterspells and removal). Speaking of Slivers, you chose pretty much the best of the best. None of those horribly misguided attempts created during the Futuresight block - i'm looking at you Reflex Sliver. I would try to cut your Slivers down to about high 20's- Maybe 28-26.
Artifacts: You don't have enough mana rocks in this deck. Since you need to rock hard and fix your manabase, you need make some room here. If you're on a budget, you can always consider the Talismans from Mirrodin, Fellwar Stone, maybe Prismatic Geoscope (I mean, it's slow but it gets you WUBRG). Also, I know it's expensive now, but getting a Paradox Engine in your deck would pay in dividends. It's essentially a value engine that wins you the game if you have Gemhide Sliver + Heart Sliver.
Enchantments: Can't really argue with the choices you made here. If you ever feel like you're hurting on draw, maybe consider Mystic Remora? It's a great T1 drop.
Instants: Can't really argue with the choices you made here. Good stuff.
Sorceries: Also solid choices - I can see that you really enjoy creature control sneaking in Peer Pressure. But I say, why not cut to the chase and drop in Expropriate or Bribery? Who needs nuance when you partake in Blatant Thievery?
I've run out of time, but i'll add another post on your landbase, and what suggestions you could use there for a stable 5 color manabase on a budget.
4 weeks ago
By “enters under opponent’s control”, I was referencing specific language of cards like Bribery not the actual effect of entering under an opponent’s control. However, this was not exactly clear from context, so I appreciate the clarification - thanks!
1 month ago
Whoops, correction to my answer: Endless Whispers is NOT a control-changing effect. The game has no "memory" of who controlled Phage before Endless Whispers put her onto the battlefield (new permanent, after all). Instead this falls under the last part of "what happens when a player leaves the game." It's simply exiled.
What happens when a player leaves the game is this:
All objects owned by that player leave the game. This means every card in their deck.
All control-changing effects end. This means the other players get their permanents or spells back if that permanent or spell had its control change without it changing zones.
Anything else controlled by that player on the stack (such as spell copies from Isochron Scepter) ceases to exist.
2 months ago
Neotrup is correct, but in case there’s still confusion on the “ultimate can be triggered more than once” scenario, I’ll elaborate:
When the player who owns Aminatou, the Fateshifter leaves the game, all objects owned by that player leave the game too, and any objects that the leaving player controls (but does not own) return to the previous controller (or are exiled if there was no previous controller, as would be the case with Bribery).
This is regardless of how many times Aminatou’s third ability was triggered.
This is covered in ruling 800.4a:
Ruling 800.4a Show
(Note: This means ruling 704 does not apply in this situation; the game does not wait for priority to change.)
The card’s ruling supports this:
- In a multiplayer game, if a player leaves the game, all cards that player owns leave as well. The effect of Aminatou’s third ability stops applying to all permanents that player controlled and control of them reverts to their previous controller.
This also means permanents owned by surviving players but controlled by other surviving players stay with their current controllers i.e. they are unaffected by the player leaving.
The card’s ruling also supports this:
- The effect of Aminatou’s third ability lasts indefinitely. It continues to apply after Aminatou (or her controller) leaves the game.
The result would be:
Player B (controls nothing, Player A’s objects leave the game)
Player C (controls Player B’s permanents)
Player D (controls Player C’s and Player D’s permanents, since Player D controlled his own permanents before Player A took them and left)
Now let’s assume instead that Player A who controls Animatou uses the third ability for a second time before leaving the game.
Player B (controls Player D’s objects)
Player C (controls nothing, Player A’s permanents leave the game)
Player D (controls Player C’s and Player B’s permanents, since Player D controlled Player C’s permanents before Player A took them and left).
This one took me a while to get my head around, but according to the comprehensive rules I believe this is how it would play out.
If I’ve got it wrong anywhere though, please let me know :)
Edit: I’m too slow on my phone, Kogarashi explained it well. I’ve added examples to help explain.