Typhoid Rats

Legality

Format Legality
Modern Legal
Legacy Legal
Vintage Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Frontier Legal
Pauper Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Fate Reforged Common
Magic 2015 Common
Conspiracy Common
Innistrad Common

Combos Browse all

Typhoid Rats

Creature — Rat

Deathtouch (Any amount of damage this deals to a creature is enough to destroy it)

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO)

0.02 TIX $0.03 Foil

Ebay

Have (2) ironax , ajmcnulty
Want (0)

Typhoid Rats Discussion

Neotrup on How does the Combat Step ...

6 days ago

Not entirely on topic, but there was an issue with priority you missed that I want to address, because it is a fairly common bit of confusion. From Scenario One:

"Active player casts Spark Jolt, targeting Typhoid Rats, then passes priority.Non-active player passes priority.Spark Jolt resolves on the stack, destroying Typhoid Rats.Combat Damage Step begins."

When Spark Jolt resolves Typhoid Rats is destroyed as a state based action, then the active player gets priority. They can then pass priority, and if the nonactive player passes priority the combat damage step will begin. Every time a spell resolves the active player gets priority again. The stack resolving doesn't automatically move to the next step or phase, and the stack doesn't resolve all at once.

Scenario Four, addendum:

Refocus resolves on the stack, untapping Fugitive Wizard. Non-active player draws a card. Active player passes priority. Non-active player casts Crippling Chill targeting Fugitive Wizard. Active player passes priority, non-active player passes priority, Crippling Chill taps down Fugitive Wizard and non-active player draws a card.

Does Fugitive Wizard deal combat damage despite having been tapped down by Crippling Chill? Of course, because nothing removed it from combat or created a damage prevention effect.

Also, side note, Crippling Chill can be cast on tapped creatures to prevent them from untapping on their controllers next untap step and to draw a card. Even though tapping them does nothing, the other effects of the card still work.

TheCheese on How does the Combat Step ...

6 days ago

There are some things about the rules of the Combat Phase and Instant spells that are bothering me and I'm reading things that sound like they're conflicting. I thought I'd lay out some specific scenarios that will answer my concerns definitively. These questions may have been answered, but after hours of rewording my questions to try and find the answers I'm looking for, I'm more confused than ever. Hopefully, this will put my questions to rest.

SCENARIO ONE:Active player declares they're entering the combat phase.Declare Attackers Step begins.Active player declares attacker Elvish Mystic, tapping it and making it an attacking creature. ( I dunno why they're attacking with it and not using it for mana ramp. They're a moron. Maybe they don't have a turn two 3-drop and want to see if their opponent is dumb enough to block one damage on turn two. First 1/1 that came to mind. Just go with it. )Active player passes priority.Non-active player passes priority by declaring they're entering the Declare Blockers Step.Declare Blockers Step begins.Non-active player declares blocker Typhoid Rats, making it a blocking creature and making Elvish Mystic a blocked creature. ( This player is also not so keen on how to use their 1/1 with Deathtouch to maximum effect against what we're going to find out is a Gruul aggro mana ramp deck. I'm aware. Apparently they're as dumb as the active player thinks they are. )Active player casts Spark Jolt, targeting Typhoid Rats, then passes priority.Non-active player passes priority.Spark Jolt resolves on the stack, destroying Typhoid Rats.Combat Damage Step begins.

QUESTION ONE: During the Combat Damage Step, will Elvish Mystic deal 1 damage to the non-active player due to a lack of defending creatures on the battlefield during the step, or will becoming a blocked creature during the Declare Blockers Step prevent the damage and apply the Typhoid Rats' damage to the Elvish Mystic despite the fact Typhoid Rats no longer exists during the Combat Damage step?

SCENARIO TWO:Active player declares they're entering the combat phase.Declare Attackers Step begins.Active player declares attacker Elvish Mystic, tapping it and making it an attacking creature.Active player passes priority.Non-active player casts Spark Jolt targeting Elvish Mystic, then passes priority.Active player begrudgingly passes priority.Spark Jolt resolves on the stack, destroying Elvish Mystic.Declare Blockers Step begins.

QUESTION TWO: Does the non-active player need to apply a blocker to the damage initiated by the attacking Elvish Mystic, or will the damage be ignored as the creature will no longer exist on the battlefield and be in the graveyard during the Combat Damage Step?

SCENARIO THREE:Active player declares they're entering the combat phase.Declare Attackers Step begins.Active player declares attacker Fugitive Wizard, making it an attacking creature. ( I hope this player has a very specific reason for having this thing in their deck beyond attacking, but who am I to judge? I just made this person up. )Active player passes priority.Non-active player passes priority by declaring they're entering the Declare Blockers Step.Declare Blockers Step begins.Non-active player declares blocker Typhoid Rats, making it a blocking creature and making Fugitive Wizard a blocked creature.Active player casts Crippling Chill, targeting Typhoid Rats, then passes priority.Non-active player passes priority.Crippling Chill resolves on the stack, tapping Typhoid Rats. Active player draws a card.Combat Damage Step begins.

QUESTION THREE: Will Fugitive Wizard do 1 damage to the non-active player due to the Typhoid Rats being unable to block by being tapped when the Combat Damage Step occurs, or will the two creatures damage one another and be destroyed because the Typhoid Rats card is still on the battlefield during the combat step after being declared a blocker?

SCENARIO FOUR:Active player declares they're entering the combat phase.Declare Attackers Step begins.Active player declares attacker Fugitive Wizard, tapping it and making it an attacking creature.Active player passes priority.Because Crippling Chill would not deter an attacker due to attackers being tapped upon their declaration, non-active player casts Refocus, targeting Fugitive Wizard, then passes priority.Active player passes priority.Refocus resolves on the stack, untapping Fugitive Wizard. Non-active player draws a card.Declare Blockers Step begins.

QUESTION FOUR: Does the non-active player need to declare a blocker in order to stop the incoming damage from Fugitive Wizard, or is there no damage being applied because the attacking creature is not tapped any longer and does not have Vigilance?

SCENARIO FIVE:Active player declares they're entering the combat phase.Declare Attackers Step begins.Active player declares attacker Fugitive Wizard, tapping it and making it an attacking creature.Active player passes priority.Non-active player says "Before Fugitive Wizard becomes an attacking creature..." and casts Crippling Chill, targeting Fugitive Wizard, then passes priority.Active player passes priority.Crippling Chill resolves on the stack, tapping Fugitive Wizard before it is declared as an attacker, making it unavailable to be tapped and declared an attacking creature. Non-active player draws a card.Declare Blockers Step begins.

QUESTIONS FIVE AND SIX: Has the non-active player made a legal play if the active player allows this to occur? Would a tournament official deem this play legal if the active player called the official over to dispute the play?

I BELIEVE I know the answers to these questions, but I've seen so many answers that SEEM to conflict with one another, I need to lay out my specific concerns exactly and get specific answers before I can say with all confidence that I'm correct and teach my circle of Magic-playing friends what-for. Thank you so much for taking the time to read this and respond if you do. I know it's sort of a lot, but I appreciate it.

DrawStep on Marrow-Gnawer, Rat Catcher of Kamigawa

3 weeks ago

do it or dont, if your playing Relentless Rats you dont need anything else and if your not then dont have them in there, ive seen decks play 40 swamps and 58 relentless only splashing for thrumming stone, but i cant suggest that cause then the funs not there. but if you dont care about that then take out Riptide Replicator for thornbite staff and just sacrifice a creature and get infinte 1/1 rats from nothing, it also just happens to wipe the board if they have creatures and you have Dictate of Erebos. in my rat deck i opened Dark Ritual, Sol Ring, Swamp Liliana of Dark Realms, Demonic Tutor, Talisman of Dominance, Typhoid Rats. topdecking an Attrition,gravepact and nothing else good and searching for a thornbite staff meant a army of 99 1/1 rats swinging on turn 5. that is the power of combo in black

Lord_Olga on Deathtouch Abuse

1 month ago

Rogue_Titan Thanks, dude! I basically already have it - Pharika's Chosen. Just the Theros version of Typhoid Rats. :P

Rogue_Titan on Deathtouch Abuse

1 month ago

Have you thought about Typhoid Rats?

A 1 drop deathoucher is pretty serious opponent!

+1

Lame_Duck on Master Splinters Army of Rats

1 month ago

If you're using them primarily to discourage attacking, I think Typhoid Rats are way better at that and they work with Swarmyard; I would at least run 4 Typhoid Rats before any Drainpipes.

Lame_Duck on Master Splinters Army of Rats

1 month ago

I don't think Drainpipe Vermin is a very good card; without a reliable way to sacrifice it, you're almost completely dependant on combat and your opponent to kill it and since it's just a 1/1 they really have no incentive to block it but trying to use it on defence requires you to hold up a mana on the opponent's turn and they can hold off on attacking until they have something they don't mind discarding. If you want to keep it, I would recommend including a couple of ninjitsu Rats so you can at least punish the opponent for not blocking it - Throat Slitter, Okiba-Gang Shinobi or Ink-Eyes, Servant of Oni - which are also good with Typhoid Rats and Ravenous Rats.

Diabolic Tutor also seems kind of out of place here; unless you're assembling some kind of infinite combo, spending 4 mana to not impact the board at all nor generate any card advantage is not really a good use of your turn.

I've had good experiences with Nezumi Shortfang as a 1- or 2-of as a repeatable source of discard that turns into a The Rack when the opponent is hellbent. Lashwrithe is a powerful equipment in a mono- deck; it's a threat in and of itself and helps buff up your Rats to be able to compete with bigger creatures but isn't reliant on having a big board-presence like Coat of Arms is.

dotytron on Eye for an Eye

1 month ago

i would replace Pharika's Chosen with Typhoid Rats so it can be regenerated with Swarmyard

Load more