Ravenous Chupacabra

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Custom Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Arena Legal
Standard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
Frontier Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Masters 25 (A25) Uncommon
Rivals of Ixalan (RIX) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Ravenous Chupacabra

Creature — Beast Horror

When Ravenous Chupacabra enters the battlefield, destroy target creature an opponent controls.

Ravenous Chupacabra Discussion

multimedia on Help with Meren plz

1 week ago

Hey, saw your forum topic asking for help. enigmadox gave you great advice; I'll expand on it some.

Include budget creatures who can sac themselves because these creatures can give you experience counters without needing a sac outlet which is another card. Needing both a creature and a sac outlet to sac that creature is more difficult to get then just needing a creature. Sac outlets are also good and you should include them, but they're not as important in my opinion as creatures who can sac themselves.

Four drop Meren can benefit from early game ramp to be able to possibly play her turn three. Budget mana dorks can be ramp in the early game or sac fodder in the mid/later game to get experience counters.

Budget lands to consider adding:

Other budget cards to consider adding:

If you like some of these suggestions I offer advice on cuts to make. Good luck with your deck.

cdkime on ETB with 0 toughness?

3 weeks ago

TypicalTimmy - you seem to be getting two terms of art confused, specifically dying and being destroyed.

Dying occurs when an object “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.” (R. 700.4). In this case, the Ravenous Chupacabra does die--it successfully entered the battlefield and then was sent to the graveyard. As such, it will trigger Butcher of Malakir and like effects.

A creature being "destroyed" only occurs when an effect specifically says the object is destroyed, or when the rule for the state-based-action specifically specifies the object is destroyed.

Edit: dragonstryke58 beat me to it.

dragonstryke58 on ETB with 0 toughness?

3 weeks ago

@ TypicalTimmy: if a creature moves from the battlefield to the graveyard, it does die.

700.4. The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield."

So in the case stated above, Ravenous Chupacabra does die. It is not destroyed however.

cdkime on ETB with 0 toughness?

3 weeks ago

For future reference, this site has a Rules Q&A section for questions regarding rules, cards, or card interactions. That section has some added functionality, such as the ability to mark accepted answers indicating you no longer need assistance and linking to the card's individual page, so future users can quickly see any questions and answers for specific cards. I have gone ahead and moved the thread on your behalf.


The last stage of resolving a permanent spell is that permanent entering the battlefield. This is part of the spell's resolution, and state based actions will not be checked until the spell has fully resolved.

Because Ravenous Chupacabra enters the battlefield, its ETB ability will trigger. It does not matter that Ravenous Chupacabra will be sent to the graveyard immediately upon resolving due to having 0 toughness, triggered abilities exist independently of their source.

ti_mk on ETB with 0 toughness?

3 weeks ago

I have a question about ETB effects of a creature entering the battlefield. My friends and I were playing som EDH and one opponent had an Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite in play. That would mean my Ravenous Chupacabra would enter the battlefield with 0/0 and die. Does his ETB to detroy target creature still trigger?

Dischord on Competitive Aminatou

3 weeks ago

Here's my personal Aminatou list.

I play a full control deck, utilizing 10 different counterspells and various removal/stall cards like Lavinia of the Tenth and Ravenous Chupacabra . There are two win condition combos in my deck.

One combo uses the Altar of the Brood combo with either Felidar Guardian or Spark Double to create infinite ETB triggers with Aminatou, the Fateshifter 's [-1] loyalty ability to mill out all of my opponents.

The other combo is to use Deadeye Navigator / Archaeomancer + Ghostly Flicker and Peregrine Drake / Great Whale to generate infinite mana and ETB triggers to draw out my deck and win the game.

My deck isn't optimized, since I don't currently have the budget allocated towards my Aminatou deck, but it is focused. I have a clear win condition and a game plan to get it. Your deck is definitely not focused, since there are several cards in your deck that don't synergize together well at all. I suggest you check around the internet for more Aminatou decks before deciding on what kind of strategy you want to expand on.

Savage_Jaguar on Saproling

3 weeks ago

cool deck but I would sideboard Song of Freyalise and Ravenous Chupacabra . Also unless you have The Immortal Sun I wouldn't invest in it for this deck. Good Deck Though!

Load more

Ravenous Chupacabra occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.04%

Black: 0.24%

Golgari: 0.21%

Standard:

All decks: 0.44%

Golgari: 5.81%