Question regarding ETB effects

Asked by SurpriZe 8 months ago

Let's say there are no creatures on the battlefield, and then several creatures enter the battlefield at the same time, Ravenous Chupacabra among them. Will I be able to target one of the creatures an opponent controls that entered the battlefield together with the Ravenous Chupacabra with Chupacabra's ability?

Madcookie says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, since by the creatures entered at the same time. Order is this.

  1. Say Show and Tell resolves with both of you and your opponent selecting a card.
  2. Opponent puts his card and you yours at the same time say Rampaging Baloths and your Ravenous Chupacabra. This means both creatures are on the battlefield when their (if any) ETB triggers activate, which in turn allows you to target their creature with the chupa.
  3. ETB Triggers are resolved in APNAP order (active player-non-active player). Since in this example there are no other ETB except the chupas you target the opponent's baloths and if no other actions are taken you destroy it.
October 12, 2018 6:07 a.m.

Kogarashi says... #2

Slight correction, Madcookie: ETB triggers are placed on the stack in APNAP order, so they resolve in the reverse of that. Your opponent's ETB triggers (if any) would resolve before yours do.

October 12, 2018 8:57 a.m.

SurpriZe says... #3

Thanks for the answers!

October 12, 2018 9:03 a.m.

Madcookie says... #4

Yes, but in my example there are no other ETBs and I didn't specify whos turn it is because it doesn't really matter with just one trigger. I just mentioned the APNAP order to be thorough. Also just to clear any remaining misunderstandings. We assume its your turn. You cast Show and Tell. Both you and your opponent put Ravenous Chupacabra from your hand. Both chupas enter at the same time, targeting each other. Their triggers are placed in APNAP order which means since it is your turn your Ravenous Chupacabra will die first due to your opponents chupa targeting it, then your trigger will resolve killing your opponents chupacabra.

In any case the main question was can Ravenous Chupacabra "see" the opponents creature when they enter at the same time to target it? Yes.

October 12, 2018 9:17 a.m.

Kogarashi says... #5

In your first answer you said "ETB triggers are resolved in APNAP order," which is what I was correcting. It's important to be clear with that since it could potentially cause confusion down the road with other things. Or even with this depending on which creature exactly the opponent is putting onto the battlefield.

October 12, 2018 10:14 a.m.

Madcookie says... #6

Ok, now I see my mistake in the first comment. What I meant was "placed", instead of "resolved". Thanks, @Kogarashi

October 12, 2018 12:14 p.m.

Please login to comment