Clone

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Oldschool 93/94 Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Premodern Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Clone

Creature — Shapeshifter

You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield.

Gidgetimer on what happens to copies/clones of …

1 week ago

Correct, a Clone or Infinite Reflection copy will work as intended and suspend themselves and another creature if you choose to exile. Token copies will cease to exist before you get the chance to exile them and will not suspend either themselves or a creature an opponent controls.

Gidgetimer on what happens to copies/clones of …

1 week ago

You can link cards by enclosing the card name in double brackets.

Sinister Concierge

The effect works assuming that it was a non-token copy. "Dies" triggers are a special case of leaves the battlefield trigger. LTBs use the existence of objects right before the trigger event occurs to determine if they trigger. At that time the copy was a Sinister Concierge and so the ability will trigger. If you are worried about the fact that the Clone has a different name in the graveyard, abilities that refer to the object they are on by name, it is referring to the object it is on regardless of the object's actual name.

603.10. Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the event. The list of exceptions is as follows:

603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.

201.5b If an ability of an object refers to that object by name, and an object with a different name gains that ability, each instance of the first name in the gained ability that refers to the first object by name should be treated as the second name.

Rhadamanthus on Boss's chauffeur and multiple other …

2 months ago

The first ability (the replacement effect) won't count other creatures entering at the same time. This is a result of the text in 608.2h quoted by Gidgetimer ("...the answer is determined only once, when the effect is applied...") and the general explanation of replacement effects given in 614.1:

614.1. Some continuous effects are replacement effects. Like prevention effects (see rule 615), replacement effects apply continuously as events happen—they aren’t locked in ahead of time. Such effects watch for a particular event that would happen and completely or partially replace that event with a different event. They act like “shields” around whatever they’re affecting.

The important part there is "replacement effects apply continuously as events happen", i.e. before the event is finished, because an event can't be replaced with a different one after it's already happened. Because the ETB event hasn't yet finished happening at the time you would apply the replacement effect, that means any other creatures entering at the same time haven't yet entered the battlefield either. This concept is also an important part of the Clone ruling quoted earlier.

The second ability (the triggered ability) will count other creatures entering at the same time, as as would normally happen for an ETB trigger like this.

Gidgetimer on Boss's chauffeur and multiple other …

2 months ago

My problem is that the first ability isn't an ETB, it is a replacement effect. Creatures must already be on the battlefield to replace how another creatures enters. Clone has a ruling that states "If Clone somehow enters the battlefield at the same time as another creature, Clone can't become a copy of that creature. You may choose only a creature that's already on the battlefield." This ruling illustrates the point, but I can't find the comprehensive rule this is based on to cite, and Boss's Chauffeur doesn't have a similar ruling on Gatherer.

The Boss's Chauffeur will enter with one counter and then triggers will put two more on it for a total of three.

TypicalTimmy on Card creation challenge

5 months ago

seshiro_of_the_orochi, in the correct deck Glassdust Hulk is extremely powerful. Based on its wording, it does not say "one or more", meaning the ability to gain +1/+1 will stack. Additionally it doesn't say "nontoken", meaning Treasure tokens and other such artifact tokens will fire it off. For example, Deadeye Navigator has the blink ability everybody knows about. You could blink something such as Palladium Myr. If you were to give Palladium Myr haste, you could tap it and use its ability to add when it ETBs. Unfortunately this is not mana, so you'd need to also color-fix it into blue.

Now, you can tap Palladium Myr for , spend it as to blink it and when it ETB you can repeat the cycle.

Infinitely. And since the +1/+1 stacks, your Glassdust Hulk gets infinitely bigger. And since he also can't be blocked that turn, he becomes a wincon. Or, more precisely, a "losecon" as he can deal lethal damage, no matter their life total. All you'd need to do is ensure he is protected for the turn.

Now obviously this is a bit of a messy and high-costed infinite combo that, really, only plays out against one opponent. Unless you, of course, Clone it. Either way, Glassdust Hulk is actually a sleeper. He's a Glass Cannon, if you will. You just haven't been playing him right. :)

Anyway, this just serves as one example. There are many more. I believe there are some infinite Myr token combos, and some infinite Treasure token combos, which is why that part is also important - that tokens trigger him, as well.

Rhadamanthus on Interaction between Orvar, the All-Form …

6 months ago

The rules about this have recently changed. With the introduction of transforming double-faced Incubator tokens in March of the Machine, the copy rules now say that token copies of transforming double-faced permanents are transforming double-faced tokens. In your example that means token copies of Foreboding Statue  Flip will also be double faced and will transform if they meet the requirements. Technically token copies of Forsaken Thresher  Flip will also be double-faced but won't have any way to transform back to the front side so it won't really matter.

Here's the full rules quote including examples:

707.8a If an effect creates a token that is a copy of a transforming permanent or a transforming double-faced card not on the battlefield, the resulting token is a transforming token that has both a front face and a back face. The characteristics of each face are determined by the copiable values of the same face of the permanent it is a copy of, as modified by any other copy effects that apply to that permanent. If the token is a copy of a transforming permanent with its back face up, the token enters the battlefield with its back face up. This rule does not apply to tokens that are created with their own set of characteristics and enter the battlefield as a copy of a transforming permanent due to a replacement effect.

Example: Afflicted Deserter  Flip is the front face of a transforming double-faced card, and the name of its back face is Werewolf Ransacker  Flip. If an effect creates a token that is a copy of that transforming permanent, the token also has the same two faces and can transform. It enters the battlefield with the same face up as the permanent that it is a copy of.

Example: Clone is not a transforming double-faced card, so a token that is created as a copy of a Clone is not a transforming token, even if it enters the battlefield as a copy of a transforming permanent due to Clone’s replacement effect.

eliakimras on Jund Dragons

10 months ago

Hello! I saw your deck help tag and I wanted to give my two cents.

First of all, beware cloning effects: a single Clone on Karrthus, Tyrant of Jund can steal your whole board.

Secondly, I would put Hellkite Tyrant, Drakuseth, Maw of Flames and Crucible of Fire back. The Tyrant is greeeeeeat if you face players that rely on artifacts. Drakuseth is amazing in killing creatures or just dish out damage. Both are made even more reliable with the many haste enablers you have in the deck. Crucible is an undercosted pump effect, even better on tokens: Nesting Dragon.

Quickspell on None

10 months ago

I have Hidetsugu and Kairi on the battlefield and cast, say, Clone.

From what I know, this should happen:

  1. When Clone enters the battlefield, it’s ETB trigger (that is, the copied Hidetsugu and Kairi’s ETB trigger) would go on the stack. However, before that happens the legendary rule applies as a state-based action.

  2. By choice, I send the clone to the graveyard, which will trigger the copied Hidetsugu and Kairi‘s death trigger.

During these events, when do I put the copied ETB trigger on the stack? Before or after the death trigger? I think after, so the ETB would resolve first, but I’m not sure.

Load more