mtg, mtg cards, magic the gathering, gaming, geeks
When Fiend Hunter enters the battlefield, you may exile another target creature.
When Fiend Hunter leaves the battlefield, return exiled card to the battlefield under its owner's control.
in Roon, im playing
Flickerwisp Restoration Angel Mistmeadow Witch Flickerform Strionic Resonator Conjurer's Closet Deadeye Navigator
Prophet of Kruphix Murkfiend Liege
Thragtusk Kitchen Finks Luminate Primordial Masked Admirers Pestermite Deceiver Exarch Acidic Slime Armada Wurm Duplicant Fiend Hunter Phyrexian Metamorph Prime Speaker Zegana Angel of Finality djinn of inifinite deceits
Many of the cards like duplicant, acidic slime, luminate primordial are super abusable, Djinn of Infinite Deceits is amazing, since you take control of their creature in exchange for yours, then blink yours so you essential get both
To Expand on what I meant here Is The official Gatherer ruling:
If Fiend Hunter leaves the battlefield before its first ability has resolved, its second ability will trigger and do nothing. Then its first ability will resolve and exile the targeted creature indefinitely.
So basically like this :
Fiend Hunter Enters the battlefield, you choose a creature, After your opponent chooses not to respond, you respond to His exiling ability by Flashing in Flickerwisp targeting Fiend Hunter before His exiling ability fully resolves thus making it impossible for the creature to re-enter the battlefield. Then at the end of the turn you get your Fiend Hunter back allowing you to Repeat step one. Interesting enough, the same Example also does apply to Oblivion Ring .
Oblivion Ring ruling says :
If Oblivion Ring leaves the battlefield before its first ability has resolved, its second ability will trigger and do nothing. Then its first ability will resolve and exile the targeted nonland permanent forever.
Krark-Clan Ironworks + Salvaging Station + Flayer Husk = infinite colorless mana. You shouldn't need sac beyond the Ironworks because if you sac the Husk the germ will die, which untaps the Station. However, if you add Blasting Station to the combo you can do infinite damage.
Given that infinite mana has at least a few viable combos (I'm sure there are many many to be had) you should run a win condition with it. Blue Sun's Zenith decks a player. Steel Hellkite can swing for infinite power.
You can also use infinite mana to cast, bounce, and re-cast Batterskull if you can think of a use for that. It at least causes infinite artifact entry triggers, creature entry triggers, and creature death triggers. If you had something to sac the germ you could abuse that as well ( Blasting Station / Carnage Altar / Spawning Pit off the top of my head ).
You're right, this shit goes way deep.
Well Fiend Hunter doesn't permanently exile anything because when he leaves the battlefield they come back. I do like Fiend Hunter a lot but I have noticed a card like Oblivion Ring is a good catch all that is hard to get rid of. Oblivion Ring is for things like Karn Liberated that would just wreck me if I don't answer them.
How do you feel about Flicker tricks with Fiend Hunter ? You perma-exile one creature while exiling another under him.
If I understand your situation correctly, there is a Fiend Hunter
controlled by your opponent that has exiled your Restoration Angel
, and now you're having your own Fiend Hunter
entering the battlefield and targeting your opponent's Fiend Hunter
Basically, what wil happen is this:
1. Your Fiend Hunter 's ETB ability triggers and targets and opponent's Fiend Hunter
2. It resolves and exiles that Fiend Hunter .
3. Your opponent's Fiend Hunter 's LTB ability triggers and resolves, so your Restoration Angel enters the battlefield.
4. If you target your own Fiend Hunter with the Angel's ETB ability, it will then resolve and "flicker" your Fiend Hunter , which will result in both your Fiend Hunter 's ETB and LTB abilities trigger at the same time.
5. Because you control both of those abilities, you can now choose the order in which they will be put onto the stack. But, the outcome probably won't be what you expect, because you must choose the target for your ETB ability at the time it triggers, at which point, your opponent's Fiend Hunter that you've previously exiled has not yet returned to the battlefield. You will need to choose a different target for it, regardless of what order of resolution you choose. Eventully, your opponent's Fiend Hunter will return to the battlefield, resulting into yet another of his ETB triggers.
|Power / Toughness||1/3|
|Avg. draft pick||2.63|
|Avg. cube pick||5.70|
|Commander / EDH||Legal|