Umm yeah so didn't used to have text. Now it is required. Sooooo....... bye now.

Please login to comment

Said on Can I Reanimate ......

#1

Since Reanimate has you lose life as an effect, you can cast it even if it would take your life total negative.

February 18, 2019 6:14 a.m.

Said on If I were ......

#2

I just assumed that you knew you got an unanimated land and were just doing some janky ramp stuff or copying legendary lands. Here are the rules on what is copied. Notice that type-changing effects are specifically mentioned as not being copied.

706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object's characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The "copiable values" are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by "as . . . enters the battlefield" and "as . . . is turned face up" abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.

February 17, 2019 4:56 p.m.

Said on If I were ......

#3

The helm will not stay on it. It will be detached as a state-based action after the land is no longer animated.

301.5. Some artifacts have the subtype "Equipment." An Equipment can be attached to a creature. It can't legally be attached to an object that isn't a creature.

704.5n If an Equipment or Fortification is attached to an illegal permanent, it becomes unattached from that permanent. It remains on the battlefield.

February 17, 2019 11:50 a.m.

If you only have 2 Reflecting Pool s that is correct, they can not produce mana.

February 17, 2019 9:54 a.m.

Said on Is there an ......

#5

I'm not the person to ask about Group Hug, man. I don't like the archetype at all. You are either not trying to win and just give everyone advantage, or are trying to curry favor by giving people stuff for long enough to destroy them. The problem is that I see my 3 opponents getting the same advantage as I am being given as canceling my advantage out and then double the disadvantage on top of that. As a result I immediately go "scorched earth" against group hug and they are way behind even if I am eliminated first and rarely recover.

February 17, 2019 9:01 a.m.

Since the transmuter is only one less mana than Ugin's Nexus I am assuming that it is simply being used as a repeatable bounce source, not as a discount. Did the place you saw the combo explicitly state that it was for infinite turns? If not, they could have meant that it was for infinite extra turns.

The way you would get infinite turns for is by paying for the Nexus, copying it, allowing the token to die and exiling it, then bouncing the Nexus back to your hand before the end of turn. The way Ugin's Nexus is worded says "If a player would begin an extra turn, that player skips that turn instead." This means that the prevention effect does not do anything to stop extra turns from being created, only from starting. So as long as it isn't on the field when you would start the turn, you can take the extra turn.

As a small point of terminology; though it is convenient to think of it as such, the legend rule doesn't cause you to "sacrifice" anything. For example you could put a creature equipped with Assault Suit into your graveyard because of the legend rule if you wanted.

February 17, 2019 8:45 a.m.

If you need any further clarification, feel free to ask. I answered what I thought you were asking, but it seems like you may not be a native English speaker because of some odd wordings. As a result I may not have completely understood you, and apologize if I missed something you were asking.

February 16, 2019 11:38 p.m.

Please link all cards in your question using double square brackets.

Reflecting Pool

Sulfur Falls

Sunken Ruins

Shadowblood Ridge

The second card ruling on Reflecting Pool actually says exactly what I was going to say, so I will just use WotC's words instead of my own. (though I was going to use Vivid Grove as my example)

Reflecting Pool checks the effects of all mana-producing abilities of lands you control, but it doesn’t check their costs. For example, Vivid Crag says “, Remove a charge counter from Vivid Crag : Add one mana of any color.” If you control Vivid Crag and Reflecting Pool , you can tap Reflecting Pool for any color of mana. It doesn’t matter whether Vivid Crag has a charge counter on it, and it doesn’t matter whether it’s untapped.

I think this answers most of your questions since the other lands being tapped doesn't matter to what mana Reflecting Pool could make, and being able to pay other costs (such as on Sunken Ruins or on Shadowblood Ridge ) also doesn't matter.

February 16, 2019 11:32 p.m.

Said on Is there an ......

#9

You seem to be bouncing all over the place today. Grim Monolith and Mana Reflection do indeed make infinite mana, as would Basalt Monolith . The monoliths untap for 3 and 4 and would tap for 6, netting you mana per activation and untap.

Rings of Brighthearth and Basalt Monolith work for infinite mana, you don't need a reusable source of 2 generic, simply an initial infusion. You would activate the untap and copy costing you 5, 3 of which would be floated from the monolith. You then allow the first untap to resolve, tap for mana, allow the second to resolve, tap for mana, and have 6 floating and can make another 6 by spending 5 of it, netting a mana. Grim Monolith would allow you to infinitely untap, but nets no mana without another card since it costs 4 to untap.

I do know of a 5 card combo that makes infinite colorless at sorcery speed, but it takes up an awful lot of card spots and tutors if you are not already running all the pieces. A sacrifice effect Myr Retriever , Scrap Trawler , Paradox Engine , and 3 mana from any non-land sources (including the monoliths) makes infinite mana. I'm not sure if you were looking for a way to do this without Paradox Engine , but thought I'd offer it since you may already be running 3/5 of the pieces.

I don't know if this is in any way helpful, but thought I'd put it out there since you seemed to be a bit confused on if those interactions worked. If you were trying to say something else pardon the confusion.

February 16, 2019 10:37 p.m.

Said on Can you cast ......

#10

No, the two abilities of Kaho, Minamo Historian are what is known as linked abilities. The second ability only interacts with cards exiled by the first ability of the same permanent.

February 16, 2019 6:52 p.m.

Said on Can you pay ......

#11

Please link all cards in your question using double square brackets.

Intet, the Dreamer

Bonfire of the Damned

Banefire

Intet's ability ONLY allows you to play that card without paying it's mana cost. It does not allow you to play it via any other mechanism.

February 13, 2019 10:28 p.m.

I hate to keep piling on additional information, but...

Since Elvish Mystic has a mana ability, you can actually activate it at some times that you wouldn't be able to activate non-mana abilities or cast instants. The corner cases where you can activate a mana ability but not other abilities or cast instants include in response to a spell with split second, before payments are made when you are casting a spell or activating an ability, and during the resolution of a spell or ability that asks for a mana payment.

The major take away though as stated in the accepted answer is that unless the ability specifically states otherwise you can activate abilities during any step or phase.

February 11, 2019 9:45 p.m.

Said on Help Me Find ......

#13

My first EDH deck was Esper combo/control helmed by Oloro, Ageless Ascetic . Oloro is basically an emblem that gains you life every turn. Esper allows you to run all the best board wipes, tutors, and targeted removal. You can use this disruption and consistency to set up a combo turn with any number of infinites and have counterspell backup to protect them.

February 11, 2019 9:06 p.m.

Teysa Karlov tokens with Grave Pact seems a good way to go. You could even include Teysa, Orzhov Scion and some of her combos. Or switch it around and just do combo Orzhov Scion with a Karlov in the 99.

February 11, 2019 4:45 p.m.

Darkest Hour does nothing against the counter adding ability. Protection stops damage, enchanting/equipping, blocking, and targeting (easily remembered with the mnemonic DEBT), and the counter adding ability does none of those things.

Darkest Hour does go well with my suggestion of running Teysa, Orzhov Scion to keep the rest of the non-protected creatures clear and then running Edicts though.

Grave Pact is a bit of a no-brainer, as is Academy Rector since there are so many important enchantments in the deck after these suggestions.

February 11, 2019 4:44 p.m.

Said on How does the ......

#16

Ninja'd because I had to stop mid-post to do something.

February 10, 2019 10:53 p.m.

Said on How does the ......

#17

Not quite, think of it exactly like blocking one creature with two just in reverse. The blocking Spike-Tailed Ceratops doesn't have to have any toughness "left over" in order to block the second creature. If the defending player wants to throw it in front of 2 10/10s they can. It can simply block two creatures.

I thought that you were asking about who decides how damage is dealt and so I linked the rules on who decides how damage is dealt. The attacking player decides what order their creatures deal damage to each creature blocking them, and then the defending player decides what order their creatures deal damage to what they blocked.

Let's add a second Spike-Tailed Ceratops for the defender and a second attacking 3/3. Each Spike-Tailed Ceratops blocks a separate 3/3 and both block the 5/5.

After blocks are declared the attacking player decides what order their creatures assign combat damage. Each 3/3 only has 1 thing to assign damage to so their assignment order is just that one thing. When they decide the damage order for the 5/5 they declare which Spike-Tailed Ceratops is taking damage first.

Then the defending player decides the damage order for the Spike-Tailed Ceratops es. They can decide to put the 3/3s in front of the 5/5 in damage assignment order for each Ceratops, put the 5/5 in front of each 3/3, or do one of each. There could be advantages or disadvantages to each of these three scenarios.

TL;DR

Spike-Tailed Ceratops can just block 2 things. there are no real limits on what those 2 things can be, as long as they would normally be blockable by it.

The controller of a creature decides what order it deals damage to stuff if there are multiple things blocking/blocked by it.

February 10, 2019 10:52 p.m.

Said on How does the ......

#18

I found what happens in the rules for trample. You take into account damage assigned in the same combat damage step, so the controller of the two blocked creatures could assign trample damage as long as the Spike-Tailed Ceratops is being assigned lethal damage in the combat damage step.

702.19b The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it. Once all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among those blocking creatures and the player or planeswalker the creature is attacking. When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already marked on the creature and damage from other creatures that's being assigned during the same combat damage step, but not any abilities or effects that might change the amount of damage that's actually dealt. The attacking creature's controller need not assign lethal damage to all those blocking creatures but in that case can't assign any damage to the player or planeswalker it's attacking.

February 10, 2019 8:02 p.m.

Said on How does the ......

#19

The following is the order of things happening in the assign blockers step and explains how damage assignment order works. I can't find how something like trample would work in the comprehensive rules, so I'm about to go check some card rulings. I will fill you in if I figure anything out.

509.2. Second, for each attacking creature that's become blocked, the active player announces that creature's damage assignment order, which consists of the creatures blocking it in an order of that player's choice. (During the combat damage step, an attacking creature can't assign combat damage to a creature that's blocking it unless each creature ahead of that blocking creature in its order is assigned lethal damage.) This turn-based action doesn't use the stack.

509.3. Third, for each blocking creature, the defending player announces that creature's damage assignment order, which consists of the creatures it's blocking in an order of that player's choice. (During the combat damage step, a blocking creature can't assign combat damage to a creature it's blocking unless each creature ahead of that blocked creature in its order is assigned lethal damage.) This turn-based action doesn't use the stack.

February 10, 2019 7:54 p.m.

Said on Does the token ......

#20

The token will have summoning sickness, but it wears off at the beginning of their turn. So he will be able to attack on their next turn.

The ferocious ability will trigger even if lethal damage is dealt. Once an ability triggers it exists independently of its source, so even though most of the time Raptor Hatchling will die from any amount of damage, it will always make the token.

February 10, 2019 7:46 p.m.

Decks

Oloro's Alternate Wincons

Commander / EDH Gidgetimer

SCORE: 5 | 11 COMMENTS | 3559 VIEWS | IN 3 FOLDERS

Arcum's Even More Budget Asylum

Commander / EDH Gidgetimer

107 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Crusaders of the Lost Tokens

Casual Gidgetimer

SCORE: 1 | 7 COMMENTS | 1043 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

48 Card Belcher

Legacy Gidgetimer

SCORE: 11 | 24 COMMENTS | 1827 VIEWS | IN 3 FOLDERS

Twisted Image Combo

Casual Gidgetimer

SCORE: 2 | 2 COMMENTS | 2211 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

Private Poland (Budget RW Hero)

Standard Gidgetimer

SCORE: 19 | 30 COMMENTS | 5201 VIEWS | IN 10 FOLDERS

Cubes

cube chart

Conspiracy Plus Cube *P*

Gidgetimer — 4 years ago

SCORE 1 | COMMENTS 0 | VIEWS 66

Finished Decks 33
Prototype Decks 19
Drafts 0
Playing since Dragon's Maze
Avg. deck rating 6.22
T/O Rank 19
Helper Rank 152
Good Card Suggestions 113
Last activity 3 days
Joined 5 years