Captive Audience

Captive Audience

Enchantment

Captive Audience enters the battlefield under the control of an opponent of your choice.

At the beginning of your upkeep, choose one that hasn't been chosen:

  • Your Life total becomes 4.
  • Discard your Hand.
  • Each opponent creates five 2/2 black Zombie creature tokens.
Browse Alters

Trade

Have (1) metalmagic
Want (0)

Combos Browse all

Tokens

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Captive Audience Discussion

BrassLord on This Demon Brings the Slap Party!

1 month ago

Neat commander! Could also look into cards that create temporary tokens of the commander, as he doesn't really care if he sticks around. Heat Shimmer , Twinflame .

Monarchy also seems to work really well with your commander, as you're forcing everyone to attack someone other than yourself. Court of Ambition , Skyline Despot , Emberwilde Captain , Court of Ire . Captive Audience is also a rude card, as you'll force your opponents to attack eachother with the zombies, giving you five zombies to run amok.

General rude Rakdos cards, something like Mind Twist or Rakdos's Return can cripple a player. Combined with having to attack someone else leaving themselves open seems like it'd be really backbreaking!

Polaris on Vampirism on an opponent's creature

2 months ago

It doesn't matter what the enchantment is attached to; you cast it, so you are the controller. "You" always refers to the controller of the effect, not the controller of the enchanted creature. Since you cast Vampirism , it will give the opponent's creature +1/+1 for each creature you control, and give each of your creatures -1/-1.

Also compare Cage of Hands , which uses this rule to let you pick it back up and recast it to lock down a different creature, Inevitable End , which gets around this by giving the ability to the creature (making your opponent the controller of the effect that's making them sacrifice things), and Captive Audience , which shows how an enchantment would have the caster not be the controller.

Mcat1999 on Is there a rule which …

4 months ago

I've had a judge in the past tell me this, basically verbatim: "It's not your job to remind your opponent of their triggers. Not your control, not your problem."

I was watching a video recently of a 35 minute debate on whether or not an opponent's missed trigger was "cheating" or not. The card in question was Captive Audience. They had already allowed their life total to be reduced to 4 and have already given their opponent 5x 2/2 zombies. The only option left was to discard their hand. What had apparently been happening is the OWNER of captive audience had been reminding their opponent in a friendly manner to recall their trigger. The CONTROLLER would then put the desired trigger onto the stack, move to resolution and draw step like normal. On the 3rd trigger, the OWNER failed to mention to the CONTROLLER that they had a 3rd trigger left (discarding their hand). When the CONTROLLER drew their card, the OWNER called a judge.

The judge ruled (correctly) that it is the CONTROLLER'S job to remember their triggers, and that if they played through the first two triggers normally and understood there was a third, that this was hard to believe the trigger being missed was an accident. Furthermore, by drawing a card before discarding, it is unknown what card they drew. Therefore, even if the judge has them discard down to one card (the one they'd have drawn), there is no way to tell if the card they are keeping is the card with which they would have normally drawn into, or just the "best" in their hand for the current situation.

The CONTROLLER was arguing that the OWNER is the one responsible for the triggers (wrong) and that the OWNER is to remind him, the CONTROLLER of it, (wrong).

TLDW - The CONTROLLER was found in penalty for missing a serious detrimental trigger.

So this got me wondering, in a less confusing situation, is it your opponent's job to remind you of triggers? For example, in a game of EDH if your opponent is the monarch, they get to draw a card at the beginning of their end step. If they forget to, the miss it.

I was talking with some friends and it made us realize that none of us actually know if there IS a rule that states outright that your opponent must remind you of your own triggers. Obviously nobody would say you need to remember to draw a card (at least competitively), but competitive levels aside... is there? Does such a rule exist?

VorelNailo on Blim's Comedy Hour

5 months ago

I'm not sure that Phage the Untouchable works with Blim's ability - she doesn't come into play when you give her to your opponent, so she won't trigger. If you have her in the deck just as a bomb, I would recommend swapping her out for one of the cards below:

I really like this deck! I used to play a Standard Rakdos Control with Captive Audience, so I was really excited for this commander, and your deck is the most optimized one I have seen yet!

marco-piatti on I love Blim but...

5 months ago

Thanks everyone for your feedback, it's very much appreciated. To answer some of the fair points that came out: No, it won't be my main deck. I like to make budget decks (like around 50 bucks or so) that have a clear, defined stratey that won't require contant upgrading over time. This deck would be of them. About the strategy, i could built it without the cards like Demonic Pact/ Captive Audience that are super annoying because they very much kill you soon afterwards.

That being said there's people in my playgroup that thinks it's fun to play Obliterate while they pilot a Lord Windgrace deck so it's much more a personal moral choice rather than being 100% honest with others.

SinJidyu on Nicol Bolas, the Ravager - Commence the Endgame

8 months ago

Captive Audience could be fun in here. Fun deck!

casual_competitive on Illusion of Choice Given by Marchesa

9 months ago

never though of Captive Audience as a politic card. i normally used it as a (whos gunna be the one that gets destroyed).

Load more