Perplexing Chimera

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Hero Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Heirloom Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
MTGO Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Born of the Gods (BNG) Rare

Combos Browse all

Perplexing Chimera

Enchantment Creature — Chimera

Whenever an opponent casts a spell, you may exchange control of Perplexing Chimera and that spell. If you do, you may choose new targets for the spell. (If the spell becomes a permanent, you control that permanent.)

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

BNG

Ebay

Recent Decks

Perplexing Chimera Discussion

nobu_the_bard on How does Perplexing Chimera interact ...

2 days ago

Generally when a spell is copied, it is not cast. There are some similar effects such as Elite Arcanist which do specifically use the word "cast" (though it actually copied a card - not exactly the same as copying a spell).

Conspire actually has two parts- an optional additional cost that may be paid while casting it ("as you cast the spell ...") and a trigger that is put onto the stack ("When you cast this spell, if its conspire cost was paid, copy it"). Even though Perplexing Chimera's trigger may cause you to lose control of the original spell (its trigger will resolve before the Conspire trigger if you cast the spell on your own turn), you still control the triggered ability that creates the copy, and by extension you also control the copy that trigger creates.

DragonKing90 on How does Perplexing Chimera interact ...

2 days ago

copies of spells are separate entitites from the original. the opponent would only be able to use the Perplexing Chimera to gain control of the original spell. unless a card specifically says it can affect multiple spells on the stack, it only affects 1.

Penguno on How does Perplexing Chimera interact ...

2 days ago

Situation:

An opponent has Perplexing Chimera and I have Wort, the Raidmother with a goblin token. I cast something, like Shatter and tap my 2 creatures to conspire it. If my opponent uses his perplexing chimera trigger to gain control of the spell, does he also gain control of the copy as well? Does this rule also apply to other effects that copy spells, like storm, reverberate, etc?

420chandra on ulamog vs perplexing chimera

2 weeks ago

why would you think they "couldn't" take your ulamog? Perplexing Chimera is actually really simple if you just read it.

Gidgetimer on ulamog vs perplexing chimera

2 weeks ago

What cdkime said except that you are casting the ulamog in step one and both the ulamog trigger and Perplexing Chimera's ability are triggered so both go on the stack after Ulamog was cast. Triggers go on the stack in APNAP order, so the order of resolution remains the same.

Kogarashi on ulamog vs perplexing chimera

2 weeks ago

To add further onto this mess, if you somehow give Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger flash and cast him on your opponent's turn, your opponent's Perplexing Chimera trigger will go on the stack before your Ulamog trigger, so your Ulamog exile trigger will resolve first. This is because triggers go on the stack in APNAP (Active Player, Non-Active Player) order, and on your opponent's turn they are the active player, not you.

This actually prevents you from losing control of Ulamog. Per rulings on Perplexing Chimera, if it leaves the battlefield before the ability resolves, you can't actually make the exchange. Because in this instance Ulamog's trigger would resolve first, the Chimera is exiled before the Chimera's ability resolves, and the exchange can't be done.

cdkime on ulamog vs perplexing chimera

2 weeks ago

I want to add a bit to what FLATSO99 said, because it is a bit more complicated than that.

Here's the stack in this situation:

  1. You opponent casts Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger. Ulamog is on the stack at the bottom.

  2. Upon being cast, Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger's exile ability goes on the stack and you choose two creatures to exile. The stack now looks like (a) Ulamog; (b) Ulamog's ability.

  3. Your opponent may activate Perplexing Chimera's ability. The stack now looks like (a) Ulamog; (b) Ulamog's ability; (c) Chimera's ability.

  4. As the last one in, Chimera's ability resolves first. Your opponent now gains control of the Ulamog spell. Here's the important part--THEY DO NOT GAIN CONTROL OF THE ULAMOG EXILE ABILITY. Per rule 112.7a, abilities exist independently of their source. Regardless of what is done to the Ulamog on the stack, you still controls the exile effect. Note, this means targets can't be changed by the Chimera. The stack now looks like (a) Ulamog (now your opponent's); (b) Ulamog's ability, and you have the Chimera on the battlefield under their control.

  5. Ulamog's ability resolves. The two targeted creatures are exiled. If you targeted Perplexing Chimera, that is still a valid target for the ability, even though it is now under your control. If you targeted it, you would now be exiling your own creature. The stack now just has your opponent's Ulamog spell on it.

  6. Ulamog resolves and enters the battlefield under your opponent's control.

Load more