Front:Archangel Avacyn Flip
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Shadows over Innistrad (SOI)||Mythic Rare|
Combos Browse all
Avacyn, the Purifier
Legendary Creature — Angel
When this creature transforms into Avacyn, the Purifier, it deals 3 damage to each other creature and each opponent.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
Avacyn, the Purifier Discussion
1 week ago
Kvad: Part of that is just an inherent weakness in voltron archetypes, I'm afraid :( You could also run Teferi's Protection as a backup if you wanted. Beyond that, you could make your first tutor Sunforger so you always have access to Boros Charm. And finally, there's always the option of not overextending (keeping an equipment or two in hand anticipating the rest of them being lost).
Generally speaking, I find that if my start was fast enough, I can still reasonably win through normal combat damage, though. Serra Ascendant and Avacyn, the Purifier Flip have high power inherently, and most of the double strike granters aren't artifacts.
I hope that helps! :)
2 months ago
I'm considering pulling Mox Opal from my Avacyn, the Purifier Flip list and putting it in The Locust God. In a deck somewhat relying on Paradox Engine as a win-con, I feel it's more relevant and necessary. Thoughts?
3 months ago
4 months ago
Grasp of Darkness has been a better card for me more times than I can count. Revolt is so hard to trigger in standard so I'm forced to play with Push as if it only hits CMC 2... They both hit a lot of things so I'll look at what they hit that the other can't...
Pretty much any 3 drop because Revolt is super hard to trigger
As you can see, despite costing one more , the utility of Grasp of Darkness in what it hits is too big to ignore.
5 months ago
Additionally, to make extra sure, you can activate the ability of Consulate Surveillance in response to Avacyn, the Purifier Flip's damage dealing trigger. By the time that trigger is put on the stack, the creature has already transformed (that is what caused the trigger).
Note that Consulate Surveillance will not prevent damage done to creatures, only to you. And you will also prevent any combat damage from Avacyn, the Purifier Flip to you during that turn with that activation of CS on upkeep.
5 months ago
The above answer is incorrect.
On your turn, you can activate Consulate Surveillance and choose Avacyn. This will do nothing for you, as the effect wears off when you pass back to your opponent.
However, when your opponent's turn begins, first, they untap all tapped permanents, then they move to upkeep. Avacyn's ability triggers, and goes on the stack. At this moment, you can respond by activating Consulate Surveillance, choosing Avacyn. If that ability resolves, Avacyn will then transform, attempt to deal damage, and be prevented.
Alternatively, you can allow Avacyn to transform without activating CS. In this case, Avacyn completes her transformation, and puts her ability to deal damage on the stack. You can then activate CS to prevent that damage, before the ability resolves.
In either case, CS will continue to protect you from all damage, combat or otherwise, that originates from that copy of Avacyn, the Purifier Flip. Note, however, that in both cases the damage Avacyn attempts to do to creatures still happens, as CS only protects you.
5 months ago
the source you would choose would have to be Avacyn, the Purifier Flip the flip with the 3 damage trigger on the stack you CHOOSE the source and this turn at resolution not target so spells like Reroute don't effect it
5 months ago
Color identity, which is what I beleive you are thinking about, is only really applicable in Commander/EDH to determine if a card can go into the deck; it has to account for both sides of the transform card in case of varied colors.
Double-faced Card Rules:
711.4. Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics.
711.4a While a double-faced card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
711.4b While a double-faced permanents back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. However, its converted mana cost is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. This is a change from previous rules. If a permanent is copying the back face of a double-faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double-faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.