Avacyn, the Purifier

Front:

Archangel Avacyn

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Heirloom Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Casual Legal
Legacy Legal
Frontier Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Shadows over Innistrad (SOI) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Avacyn, the Purifier

Legendary Creature — Angel

Flying

When this creature transforms into Avacyn, the Purifier, it deals 3 damage to each other creature and each opponent.

Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Avacyn, the Purifier Discussion

Daedalus19876 on Judgment Day: Avacyn the Purifier EDH | *PRIMER*

2 months ago

Kvad: Part of that is just an inherent weakness in voltron archetypes, I'm afraid :( You could also run Teferi's Protection as a backup if you wanted. Beyond that, you could make your first tutor Sunforger so you always have access to Boros Charm. And finally, there's always the option of not overextending (keeping an equipment or two in hand anticipating the rest of them being lost).

Generally speaking, I find that if my start was fast enough, I can still reasonably win through normal combat damage, though. Serra Ascendant and Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip have high power inherently, and most of the double strike granters aren't artifacts.

I hope that helps! :)

Daedalus19876 on The Deckwatch [Home Base]

3 months ago

I'm considering pulling Mox Opal from my Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip list and putting it in The Locust God. In a deck somewhat relying on Paradox Engine as a win-con, I feel it's more relevant and necessary. Thoughts?

Daedalus19876 on The Ten Plagues: Locust God EDH | *PRIMER*

4 months ago

VexenX: Oh, that's your list? Haha. One of the very few above my Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip build ;)

Zaueski on Grixis Cycling

6 months ago

Grasp of Darkness has been a better card for me more times than I can count. Revolt is so hard to trigger in standard so I'm forced to play with Push as if it only hits CMC 2... They both hit a lot of things so I'll look at what they hit that the other can't...

Relevant things Fatal Push hits that Grasp of Darkness can't:

Relevant things Grasp of Darkness hits that Fatal Push can't:


As you can see, despite costing one more , the utility of Grasp of Darkness in what it hits is too big to ignore.

Boza on can Consulate Surveilance prevent combat ...

7 months ago

Additionally, to make extra sure, you can activate the ability of Consulate Surveillance in response to Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip's damage dealing trigger. By the time that trigger is put on the stack, the creature has already transformed (that is what caused the trigger).

Note that Consulate Surveillance will not prevent damage done to creatures, only to you. And you will also prevent any combat damage from Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip to you during that turn with that activation of CS on upkeep.

PhotogenicParasympathetic on can Consulate Surveilance prevent combat ...

7 months ago

The above answer is incorrect.

On your turn, you can activate Consulate Surveillance and choose Avacyn. This will do nothing for you, as the effect wears off when you pass back to your opponent.

However, when your opponent's turn begins, first, they untap all tapped permanents, then they move to upkeep. Avacyn's ability triggers, and goes on the stack. At this moment, you can respond by activating Consulate Surveillance, choosing Avacyn. If that ability resolves, Avacyn will then transform, attempt to deal damage, and be prevented.

Alternatively, you can allow Avacyn to transform without activating CS. In this case, Avacyn completes her transformation, and puts her ability to deal damage on the stack. You can then activate CS to prevent that damage, before the ability resolves.

In either case, CS will continue to protect you from all damage, combat or otherwise, that originates from that copy of Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip. Note, however, that in both cases the damage Avacyn attempts to do to creatures still happens, as CS only protects you.

fastbond_stripmine_crucible on can Consulate Surveilance prevent combat ...

7 months ago

the source you would choose would have to be Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip the flip with the 3 damage trigger on the stack you CHOOSE the source and this turn at resolution not target so spells like Reroute don't effect it

GearNoir on Protection and dual-color DFC interaction.

7 months ago

Scenario 1 - Akroma's Memorial would not protect Ornithopter from Archangel Avacyn  Flip because Avacyn is .

Scenario 2 - Circle of Protection: White would not protect your opponent from Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip as it is transformed and is when the damage is dealt.

Color identity, which is what I beleive you are thinking about, is only really applicable in Commander/EDH to determine if a card can go into the deck; it has to account for both sides of the transform card in case of varied colors.

Double-faced Card Rules:

  • 711.4. Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics.

  • 711.4a While a double-faced card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.

  • 711.4b While a double-faced permanents back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. However, its converted mana cost is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. This is a change from previous rules. If a permanent is copying the back face of a double-faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double-faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.

Load more

Latest Commander

EDH 5 / 5