Kogarashi Deckling

I got my start playing magic with the purchase of the Starter 1999 2-player starter set, teaching myself how to play, followed by picking up cards from Invasion. I took a hiatus after Champions of Kamigawa, returning to the game late in New Phyrexia (and unfortunately missing my personal favorite sets flavor-wise, Time Spiral and Lorwyn/Shadowmoor).

I'm mostly a casual and EDH player, preferring kitchen table games and Limited events over more competitive settings. My husband's and my collection lacks a lot of power cards because we bulked it up with purchases of common/uncommon lots, so we tend to run a lot of budget decks, with our pet decks getting the lion's share of good rares. I also have a thing for building theme and tribal decks. Every deck on my profile is one I actually have a physical copy of, unless otherwise stated in the deck's description.

Current Pet Decks: Dark Harvest, Soul of Elements, and Angelic Legion.

Current Favorite MtG Artists: Rebecca Guay, Terese Nielsen, Steve Argyle, and John Avon, though several others come close. (Todd Lockwood's Seraph of Dawn, I'm looking at you.)

I've also dabbled in graphic design making custom deckboxes for my decks. I'm willing to send the box template to those interested, or even do the graphic work necessary for the printable box files in exchange for card trades or similar projects.

Please login to comment

The relevant rules for when a player leaves the game are actually at 800, not 704. As Neotrup said, if Aminatou, the Fateshifter's controller leaves the game, all that player's owned cards are removed from the game, all their spells and effects on the stack go away, any effects that gave them control over someone else's things end (but this doesn't completely undo Aminatou's ultimate, just the part that gave her controller control of some things), and anything left controlled by that player is exiled.

So the player that currently has cards owned by Aminatou's controller loses that stuff, and the player that previously controlled cards controlled by Aminatou's controller gets them back.

September 19, 2018 10:29 p.m.

Said on Negative counters...

#2

Ultimately the basic effect (reduction of power and toughness) is about the same, but as mentioned, one is temporary, and the other is permanent and could be moved around with the right spells or abilities.

Either one would get around a Darksteel Sentinel's indestructibility.

September 19, 2018 10:20 p.m.

I assume your example is meant to be that you control Mirage Mirror and your opponent controls Necrotic Ooze, with the other two cards in their graveyard?

The answer is yes. Mirage Mirror would copy Necrotic Ooze, meaning it has the same name, type line, power/toughness, and text box. This includes Necrotic Ooze's ability that gives it the activated abilities of all creature cards in all graveyards.

And that ability specifically says "all graveyards," not "your graveyard," so I'm not sure what you mean by "would it have their graveyard abilities or my abilities?" If you had a Llanowar Elves in your graveyard, their Necrotic Ooze would also have the Elves' ability to tap for green mana, and by extension, so would your Mirage Mirror copy.

September 19, 2018 10:18 p.m.

Said on If I have ......

#4

Unfortunately no.

All abilities that have "at the beginning of your/the next end step" in them trigger at the same time. This includes both Conjurer's Closet and the delayed triggered ability of AEtherling. When Conjurer's Closet triggers and goes on the stack, you have to choose its target at that point. Mairsil, the Pretender will still be in exile and thus not a valid target.

If Conjurer's Closet instead read "you may exile a creature you control" instead of "target creature," then it would work if you put the triggers in the right order on the stack, as in that case the Closet wouldn't target, and therefore wouldn't need to have a trigger chosen when it goes on the stack.

September 19, 2018 10:13 p.m.

Said on Mentor Ability...

#5

To add on to what Boza said, a spell or ability that targets checks twice that the target is valid: once when you cast/activate/trigger it, and once again when it resolves.

The two mentor triggers can both target Swiftblade Vindicator because at the time you choose targets, Swiftblade will have lesser power. Then the first trigger will resolve, check that Swiftblade still has lesser power, and make it a 2/2. Then the second trigger will resolve, check Swiftblade, and see that it no longer meets the criteria for being a valid target, and thus be removed from the stack without resolving.

September 19, 2018 12:24 p.m.

It's worth noting that a player could invoke 101.3 themselves without losing Lazav if they somehow flicker it. Even though the card is back on the battlefield after the flicker effect, the game sees it as a new object and not the one that should be shuffled back into the library.

September 19, 2018 8:22 a.m.

You would be correct in this situation.

You cast Molten Disaster which goes on the stack. Pyromancer's Goggles triggers putting a copy of Disaster on top of the original. Assuming you kicked Disaster, giving it split second, the copy resolves and deals 18 damage to each player.

At this point Exquisite Blood triggers five times (once for each of that player's opponents), and those triggers go on the stack above the original Molten Disaster. However, unfortunately for that player, before anyone can get priority so the triggers can resolve, state-basted actions are checked. The player with Exquisite Blood is at or below 0 life, and therefore loses before their Blood triggers can resolve.

Assuming more than one person survived that blow, the Exquisite Blood triggers would be gone from the stack due to their controller losing, and then the original Molten Disaster would deal another 18 damage to whoever or whatever was left.

September 19, 2018 1:39 a.m.

Unless your opponent has some way to give his creatures flash (or cast them as if they had it), he'll be summoning creatures on his turn. That means in order for you to cast your spell, he has to pass priority to you.

He casts the creature you want to kill. You let it resolve, because Dismember can't affect it while it's on the stack because it's not a creature (permanent) yet, just a creature spell. Your opponent has priority at that point, so either he will pass it to you to move onto the next step or phase (in this case either combat or end of turn, depending on which main phase he cast the creature during), or he will cast another spell, and will have to pass priority to you in order for that spell to resolve. Either point is when you want to cast your Dismember.

September 18, 2018 7:44 p.m.

Said on How soon do ......

#9

It's worth noting that there aren't currently creature cards with the stated ability (or similar) on them, possibly due to the potential confusion in whether or not that particular creature would also count for the "whenever a creature enters the battlefield" trigger. The closest I could find was Akoum Battlesinger, which has the ability phrased with "Whenever Akoum Battlesinger or another Ally enters" in order to clear up the confusion.

In your hypothetical case, though, the creature would enter the battlefield, and then any relevant "enters the battlefield" triggers would trigger unless something else prevents it (such as an effect that causes creatures to lose all abilities). This would include the creature with your hypothetical ability itself, given the wording, and you would draw the card. There is no state where the creature has triggered the ability but is still "entering" instead of "has entered." It enters and the ability triggers, with the creature actually on the battlefield.

As for static vs. triggered (vs. activated, while we're at it).... Activated abilities always are phrased "(Cost): (Effect)." Triggered abilities always begin with "When," "Whenever," or "At." All other abilities are static.

Llanowar Elves has an activated ability. is the cost, and the effect is adding to your available mana. You pay the cost, and then you get the effect.

Abzan Beastmaster and Abzan Ascendancy have triggered abilities with each of the starting words I mentioned. These all trigger when the trigger condition is met (the beginning of your upkeep, when the card enters the battlefield, and when a nontoken creature you control dies).

Anything else is a static ability (unless it's a spell). It can be as simple as a keyword like haste or flying, or something wordier like Blood Moon. These take effect as soon as the card enters the appropriate zone, and only stop working when that card leaves the zone or when the card says it ends.

September 17, 2018 3:26 p.m.

Thanks, Gidgetimer. I must have scrolled past that one at least a hundred times while searching the rules.

September 17, 2018 12:59 p.m.

What your friend fails to note, as well, is that even if it was "turning back into a land" (and not just losing the creature type), that doesn't untap it anymore than turning into a creature in the first place untaps it unless specifically stated. In this case, if he tapped Mutavault for and then spent that on its "turn into a creature" ability, it would still be tapped from being tapped for mana, because the ability doesn't say "untap it."

As for the card needing to remain tapped until your untap step or another effect lets you untap it, that's basic game rules. I can't seem to find specific rules to reference anywhere. You could point out that it's similar to the difference in gaining control of a creature via an effect like Act of Treason, where you are specifically told to untap the stolen creature, versus Mind Control, where it doesn't specifically state it (and thus if you Mind Control a tapped creature, it will come under your control still tapped).

It's a basic game thing. Cards don't untap just because they changed permanent type.

As Neotrup said, if he wants to attack with a land-creature and still use it for mana, he needs vigilance.

September 16, 2018 7:01 p.m.

Said on X spells (and ......

#12

No to both.

Isochron Scepter acts as an alternative cost for the spell you're copying. You can't pay a different alternative cost, but you can pay additional costs.

However, convoke and improvise are neither alternative costs nor additional costs. They are an alternate method of payment, and thus function like tapping Llanowar Elves for green mana, though tapping them doesn't actually generate mana and thus isn't done when you activate mana abilities. Instead it's done during the step of casting a spell where you pay the cost of the spell...which you're not doing if you're using Isochron Scepter to cast the spell.

Add to this that if you're casting a spell "without paying its mana cost," X in the cost must be 0. Unless there's an additional cost somewhere in the spell (like kicker, or something phrased "as an additional cost"), you probably aren't going to be able to change the value of X from a spell imprinted on the Scepter.

September 14, 2018 12:25 p.m.

Yes, you would be able to use the flicker ability.

What happens is that first the flicker ability on Deadeye Navigator's soulbond partner (the manifested creature) moves that permanent to exile. Because cards are exiled face-up unless specifically instructed not to, and the flicker ability doesn't say "exile face-down," the manifested card is face-up in exile. The flicker ability then goes to move that card (still face-up) back to the battlefield.

So if it's a creature that was manifested (which it would be since Ghastly Conscription only affects creature cards), it would return to the battlefield face-up. You could then pair it up with the Navigator again if you so chose (especially if you want to flicker the Navigator so you can pair it with another manifested creature).

If it's a different card that was manifested, it depends on whether or not that type of card can "enter the battlefield." Other permanent cards, like planeswalkers and enchantments, have no trouble entering the battlefield, though they couldn't pair with the Navigator anymore since soulbond only works for creatures. Planeswalkers get their starting loyalty counters when entering the battlefield, so you don't even lose them due to this, and auras entering the battlefield can be attached to creatures with hexproof or shroud.

Sorceries and Instants, however, can't enter the battlefield, and thus remain in their previous zone (exile) instead. So don't do this with a manifested instant or sorcery.

September 12, 2018 8:23 p.m.

Clarifying, devotion such as on Nylea, God of the Hunt specifically looks for colored mana symbols in the cost of your permanents (as it says in the reminder text). World Breaker has one green mana symbol in its cost, even though devoid makes it colorless. Therefore that symbol counts toward devotion.

Fun tidbit: phyrexian mana symbols and hybrid mana symbols also count toward devotion, as long as they're in the card's cost, but hybrid mana symbols only count once each, not twice.

September 10, 2018 4:41 p.m.

So given the rule cdkime quoted, if I'm reading things correct....

Assuming Multani, Yavimaya's Avatar is a 10/10 and Unbreathing Horde is an 8/8, when it comes time for Multani to assign damage, it would have to assign 8 damage to the Horde, because that would be lethal. The second effect on the Horde doesn't happen until it's actually time to deal that damage (at which point the 8 damage would be prevented and the Horde would lose a counter, going down to a 7/7). You would still take 2 damage from Multani due to trample, but your Horde would survive to block again (with diminishing effectiveness).

September 9, 2018 8:51 p.m.

When you cast Swords to Plowshares targeting the bear, you trigger Fractured Loyalty. That goes on the stack above your Swords, and resolves first, giving you control of the bear.

However, since Swords to Plowshares doesn't specify that it must be a creature your opponent controls, and the bear hasn't become a new object as it hasn't changed zones, it's still a valid target. It will be exiled once Swords resolves, and because you are now its controller, you will gain life equal to its power.

September 9, 2018 1:03 a.m.

Said on Show me your ......

#17

We generally don't have that many.

  • No mass land destruction unless it's part of a game-winning move. If you're just doing it to slow down the game, that's not fun and the point of EDH is fun.
  • Proxies are allowed for expensive cards you actually own that are in other decks. This way you don't have to keep swapping cards between decks. Less-expensive cards everyone in the group just buys copies anyway.
  • No silver-bordered cards unless the whole group agrees. Gold-border is fine if you happen to actually own them.
  • Patience with the players who are not as experienced with the game. This is because we have new players join periodically, including the children of various group members, and patience is a must. Yes, this includes adult players who run fairly uncomplicated decks and are still slow with them.
  • Not quite a house rule, but generally players will announce if there are certain planeswalker abilities they never plan to activate because those don't quite work with their deck's theme. Usually ultimates.

Otherwise we run with the regular banlist, the multiplayer Vancouver mulligan, no restrictions on deck archetypes (though you may find certain decks of yours ganged-up on if they become notorious), and politicking is fine (though some players insist that politics aren't part of the game, but will generally fall to politicking themselves if they need to).

September 8, 2018 10:28 p.m.

Yes. Between the counter and the Triumph, Hydra Omnivore will be a 10/10 with trample and infect. As long as you attack someone with no available blockers and they don't somehow redirect or prevent the damage another way, that player will take the damage in the form of 10 poison counters. The Hydra's ability triggers and goes on the stack, state-based actions cause the first player to lose the game due to poison counters, and then the ability resolves if it hasn't been prevented some other way, and each other opponent will take 10 damage in the form of poison counters, and also lose.

September 8, 2018 9:41 p.m.

Basically, once you've declared you're casting a spell (Enter the Infinite in this case), that process can't be interrupted until the spell is on the stack and paid for, at which point nothing's going to "undo" what you've paid for the spell. The closest your opponent could get to mucking with what you've paid for the spell is counters like Mana Leak, and those merely add another cost that has to be paid.

September 8, 2018 9:33 p.m.

Unfortunately, you can't.

When you cast a spell, declare values of variables (such as how many cards you're discarding for Nostalgic Dreams, and which ones) and choose targets (such as which cards in your graveyard you're returning) before you pay costs. Paying the cost of a spell is actually the last thing you do, not the first.

So Giant Growth will not be in the graveyard in time for you to target it with Nostalgic Dreams, if you're discarding it as part of the cost.

September 8, 2018 2:09 a.m.

Friends

leachShadrachAnki

Followers

ShadrachAnki

Decks

Wealth of Imagination

Commander / EDH Kogarashi

SCORE: 1 | 6 COMMENTS | 47 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Plague of Rats

Commander / EDH Kogarashi

2 COMMENTS | 51 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Dark Harvest

Commander / EDH Kogarashi

SCORE: 4 | 5 COMMENTS | 1203 VIEWS | IN 4 FOLDERS

Undying Evil

Casual Kogarashi

SCORE: 3 | 5 COMMENTS | 1087 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Angelic Legion

Casual Kogarashi

6 COMMENTS | 1747 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Death From Above

Commander / EDH Kogarashi

7 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Soul of Elements

Commander / EDH Kogarashi

SCORE: 4 | 4 COMMENTS | 1226 VIEWS | IN 5 FOLDERS

Graveborne

Commander / EDH Kogarashi

SCORE: 2 | 5 COMMENTS | 1033 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Finished Decks 13
Prototype Decks 1
Drafts 0
Playing since Starter 1999
Avg. deck rating 3.00
T/O Rank 16
Helper Rank None yet
Favorite formats Pre-release, Commander / EDH, Planechase, Pauper, Casual, Limited
Good Card Suggestions 3
Venues Dragon Star Hobbies
Last activity 6 hours
Joined 5 years