Tiana, Ship's Caretaker


Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Standard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
Frontier Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Dominaria (DOM) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Tiana, Ship's Caretaker

Legendary Creature — Angel Artificer

Flying, first strike

Whenever an Aura or Equipment you control is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, you may return that card to its owner's hand at the beginning of the next end step.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts



Have (0)
Want (1) MirrorMountain
Brood Keeper
Champion of the Flame
Valduk, Keeper of the Flame
Flowstone Blade
Flamespeaker's Will

Latest as Commander

Tiana, Ship's Caretaker Discussion

Kederekt on The Boros Army

4 weeks ago

Really solid deck. I’m sure you didn’t notice but you have two Giselas. I’m gonna throw some cards at you. Anya, Merciless Angel, Tiana, Ship's Caretaker, Ordeal of Heliod, Ordeal of Purphoros, Ring of Thune, Ring of Valkas, and Volt Charge would all be killer in this deck. I’m questioning your commander choice. He’s okay but you have so many better commanders in your deck. I really like it overall though.

2040364 on Gospel of Boros

2 months ago

This is just my two cents, but it feels like Tiana, Ship's Caretaker and Tragic Poet feel a bit weak here, as they will not have a ton of targets. I would include something that has token production instead.

Kogarashi on 2 questions: When can I ...

3 months ago

Argy is correct. Example to clarify:

If you have a Knight token enchanted with both Eidolon of Countless Battles (via bestow) and Lifelink, and someone casts Murder on the token, both Auras "fall off." Lifelink, being a normal Aura, goes to the graveyard (and Tiana would return it to hand at the end step). The Eidolon, on the other hand, becomes a creature and stays on the battlefield due to the rules specific to bestow.

Similarly, a creature-only sweep like Wrath of God will kill the Knight token, causing both Auras to fall off. Again, Lifelink would go to the graveyard, while Eidolon of Countless Battles would become a creature.

Planar Cleansing, however, isn't creature-only. Since it destroys all nonland permanents, it will destroy both Auras at the same time that it destroys the Knight token (and Tiana). Because the Eidolon is destroyed at the same time as the Knight token, it doesn't have time to fall off and become a creature, so it's destroyed as an Aura. In our example, Tiana sees two Auras (Eidolon and Lifelink) destroyed and the delayed triggered ability is set up to return them both to hand at the beginning of the end step.

It would happen the same way if someone just uses Naturalize on Eidolon of Countless Battles while it's bestowed. It's destroyed as an Aura, not detached and turned into a creature.

So this is why I mentioned that it's situational. If an opponent casts Planar Cleansing, but then Murders the Knight token first, then the Eidolon falls off and becomes a creature before the Planar Cleansing resolves, and thus Tiana, Ship's Caretaker doesn't see it as an Aura.

Argy on 2 questions: When can I ...

3 months ago

I'm not fantastic at rulings but I may be able to help here.

After Planar Cleansing is cast the Creature with Bestow doesn't become unattached to the Creature it is enchanting. In order for that to happen it would have to still be around, but Planar Cleansing has already destroyed it. It is no longer on the Battlefield as it is in the Graveyard.

Since it was an Aura when it went to the Graveyard Tiana, Ship's Caretaker sees it get put into the Graveyard as an Aura, and it will return to hand at the beginning of the next end step.

oliveoilonyaasscureshemorrhoid on 2 questions: When can I ...

3 months ago

@Kogarashi I don't believe Eidolon of Countless Battles goes to the graveyard, because the the gatherer.com rulings says it doesn't go to the graveyard like a normal aura, if it becomes unattached. But if Planar Cleansing doesn't make Eidolon become 'unattached' then I believe you're right. Your thoughts? And would a delayed trigger, like on Tiana, Ship's Caretaker, stop Eidolon from becoming a creature, even though it's state-based? Thanks for answering.

Kogarashi on 2 questions: When can I ...

3 months ago
  1. It depends on whether or not your bestow creature is actively an Aura when Planar Cleansing resolves. If it is an Aura attached to another creature when the Cleansing resolves, then Tiana, Ship's Caretaker will see an Aura going to the graveyard and her ability will trigger. If, however, someone casts Murder in response to the Planar Cleansing on the creature that's enchanted by a bestow creature, the bestow creature will "fall off" and become a creature again before the Cleansing destroys it, and thus it won't trigger Tiana.

  2. Surge is a keyword that provides an alternative cost for the spell. It does not get around timing restrictions on the spell, and therefore you would not be able to cast a sorcery on an opponent's turn with surge.

oliveoilonyaasscureshemorrhoid on 2 questions: When can I ...

3 months ago

Question 1: Say I have Tiana, Ship's Caretaker on the battlefield, and Eidolon of Countless Battles bestowed on a creature I control, and a player casts Planar Cleansing. Does Eidolon become a creature and stay on the battlefield, or does it come back to my hand because of Tiana's delayed triggered ability?

Question 2: Say I cast an instant spell on an opponent's turn. After the instant resolves, can I cast Crush of Tentacles's surge cost? Or does the surge mechanic not allow a sorcery to change the casting "timezone"?

Thanks in advance!

berryjon on Pattern Recognition #85 - Range ...

3 months ago

Tyrant-Thanatos: You and I certainly agree there. When I talked about Volvers a year and a half ago, I noted that Wizard's treatment of multicoloured cards has become more and more tight as time goes on. ? You're playing Artifacts. (Depala, Pilot Exemplar being an excellent example of this pidgeon-holing, and Tiana, Ship's Caretaker being another that isn't as restrictive in design, but still telling players what to play, rather than giving players the tools to build what they want.

But the worst combination is , which Wizards absolutely and stubbornly refuses to move from "Playing with Instants and Sorceries ONLY" to "Hey, Artifacts are cool!". Even their Saheeli, the Gifted deck showed they had no idea what they're doing - and the calls for the Izzet to stop being just Mad Scientists/Mages and return to the fact that they guys are the Engineers of Ravnica were ignored by Wizards. When I saw the near-admission to that by Rosewater on his Blog, my heart sank, let me tell you.

Load more