Archangel Avacyn

Back:

Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip

Legality

Format Legality
Modern Legal
Legacy Legal
Vintage Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Standard Legal
Frontier Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Shadows over Innistrad Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Archangel Avacyn

Legendary Creature — Angel

Flash

Flying, vigilance

When Archangel Avacyn enters the battlefield, creatures you control gain indestructible until end of turn.

When a non-Angel creature you control dies, transform Archangel Avacyn at the beginning of the next upkeep.

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO)

21.84 TIX $23.13 Foil

Ebay

Archangel Avacyn Discussion

A1286446821 on GW Humans and Angels

10 hours ago

saber4734 I really do love Tireless Tracker, she provides both good stats and rewards you for playing lands which i think is a very nice effect for any midrange deck. While i appreciate the suggestions i really want to add the angels, simply because i think they are cool and have cool effects. I realize that it will make the deck slightly less competitive, but im mostly just trying to make a fun deck. I actually considered cutting Thalia's Lancers for another Bruna, the Fading Light since she can fish up both Gisela, the Broken Blade, Archangel Avacyn  Flip and Sigarda, Heron's Grace.

Odric, Lunarch Marshal was also in my list earlier with Thalia, Heretic Cathar, but i felt that Odric was hard to get an effect from since none of the earlier drops have any effects he can boost. For Thalia i felt that i would rather play Tireless or my enchantments to further my own gameplan instead of trying to slow the enemy down.

Wyrmweird on Advertise your STANDARD deck!

14 hours ago

SkoomaDaDrug you made a cool deck. Do you side board in any counter spells? Ceremonious Rejection and all of the other blue counters might be hard on your deck. I'm sure your deck can steal a game or two at an FNM, which is cool to see a home brew pull off. Fun looking brew you have.


Poor White Trash

Standard Wyrmweird

3 COMMENTS | 203 VIEWS


With the new embalm mechanic in AKH I'm looking forward to getting a boost to the deck I've been tinkering with since KLD. If I get some Gideon, Ally of Zendikar I'll have to rename it to WHITE TRASH, but I'm poor af so the one copy of Archangel Avacyn  Flip was the BIG money card I added. Hoping to cue up some WHITE ZOMBIE tunes and finally have a competitive deck at FNM this season!

PhotogenicParasympathetic on can Consulate Surveilance prevent combat ...

1 day ago

To further clarify, unlike the Transforming Planeswalkers (Nissa, Vastwood Seer  Flip, for example), Archangel Avacyn  Flip does not leave the battlefield when she transforms. Therefore, as far as the game is concerned, she is still the same instance of the same permanent, although some characteristics of that permanent have changed. When you choose a permanent with Consulate Surveillance, it does not matter which side she is currently on - all damage she attempts to deal to you after the resolution of the ability will be prevented.

GearNoir on Protection and dual-color DFC interaction.

1 day ago

Scenario 1 - Akroma's Memorial would not protect Ornithopter from Archangel Avacyn  Flip because Avacyn is .

Scenario 2 - Circle of Protection: White would not protect your opponent from Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip as it is transformed and is when the damage is dealt.

Color identity, which is what I beleive you are thinking about, is only really applicable in Commander/EDH to determine if a card can go into the deck; it has to account for both sides of the transform card in case of varied colors.

Double-faced Card Rules:

  • 711.4. Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics.

  • 711.4a While a double-faced card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.

  • 711.4b While a double-faced permanents back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. However, its converted mana cost is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. This is a change from previous rules. If a permanent is copying the back face of a double-faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double-faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.

Panzerforge on Protection and dual-color DFC interaction.

1 day ago

Scenario 1:
My opponent has Akroma's Memorial in play, giving her creatures protection from red and black. I attack with Archangel Avacyn  Flip (not transformed into Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip), and she is blocking with an Ornithopter.

Does the pro-red from Memorial have any effect whatsoever on the white side Archangel Avacyn  Flip, or has the "color identity" aspect of EDH just caused us to have a very confused perspective of double faced card colors?

Scenario 2:
Archangel Avacyn  Flip transforms into Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip, dealing 3 damage to each creature and each opponent, and my opponent has Circle of Protection: White.

Same kind of question, does the CoP:W have any effect whatsoever on damage inflicted by Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip's red side?

Thank you for your help!

GearNoir on can Consulate Surveilance prevent combat ...

1 day ago

To keep Archangel Avacyn  Flip's flip damage from occurring, you would have to destroy her before the end of your turn or be able to counter the delayed transform trigger before the end of your turn, neither of which Consulate Surveillance can do.

The issue with Surveillance is that it is only valid for the current turn. If you were to activate it during your turn, even at the last possible moment before your opponent's turn, "this turn" would have ended. Conversely, the earliest time priority can be passed is during the upkeep step, but Avacyn would have already transformed "at the beginning" due to her delayed trigger already being on the stack from the previous turn. There is not a way for you to respond to such a trigger in a timely manner; activating Consulate on her then would only prevent you from further damage after the transform damage.

yeahboy on can Consulate Surveilance prevent combat ...

1 day ago

Note that the rulings in Gatherer says "Consulate Surveillances second ability doesnt target anything. You choose a source of damage as it resolves." that's why I'm confused about Archangel Avacyn  Flip's triggered ability and combat damage.

yeahboy on can Consulate Surveilance prevent combat ...

2 days ago

My opponent has Archangel Avacyn  Flip and it's going to flip on his upkeep. I have Consulate Surveillance and I activate it's ability to prevent the 3 damage from Archangel Avacyn  Flip's flip. Question, can Archangel Avacyn  Flip still deal combat damage to me?

Load more

Latest Commander