Hi All,

I'm Tyler. I mostly EDH and some Pioneer. I also love a good game of Tower. I started playing this amazing game when I was a freshman in college (2016), so right when Kaladesh block started. Magic very quickly became my primary hobby, so I might not be as experienced as some players, but that doesn't change my love of the game. Since then, I've really gotten in semi-competitive EDH and then into Pioneer.

I believe that magic is about the best personality test in existence. So, me telling you that I'm mostly a combo player that doesn't like combat and loves Jeskai (or just not green) should tell you everything you need to know about me (for better or worse). My favorite way to play is with a quick combo and "selective amounts of control."

I've been slowing working on getting some customization done for my decks and profile. I hope you enjoy it. I'm open to suggestions.

Lastly, I'm an L1 judge who is on track to become an L2. Even though I play only a few formats, I love judging just about any format.

Thanks and happy casting!!

(P.S. The background of my profile is Archfiend of Ifnir. I had a goofy combo deck that used them back when I started, and I've loved that card every since. Also, who doesn't love Seb McKinnon's art??)

Please login to comment

For future reference, you can surround a card name with double brackets, "[", to link the card. This works sitewide.

To your question, the importance here is that both Emrakul, the Aeons Torn and Kaya's Ghostform will trigger when Emrakul dies. When a player has two or more triggers that are being added to the stack at the same time, that player gets to choose the order that they are put onto the stack.

Now, the stack is the pile of spell and abilities that are trying to resolve. The stack resolves in a first-in-last-out order. In other words, if you put everything that's trying to resolve in a tower with the newest stuff on top, you resolve the stack top to bottom. Think about something like Counterspell. If I cast Lightning Bolt and you try to counter it, obviously, my Bolt would be stopped. That's because you're Counterspell is newer than my Bolt, so Counterspell resolves first.

Back to your question, since you get to pick the order of your triggers, you get to choose whether you want to shuffle Emrukal away or reanimate Emrukal.

I want to point out one last thing. Not all effects like that of Emrakul work the same way. Consider Darksteel Colossus. Where Emrakul says "when" its put into a graveyard, Colossus says "if" its put. While these seem like they do the same thing, they are very different. This is a replacement effect, so Colossus never hits the graveyard. Meanwhile, Emrakul will, even if it's just briefly.

I know that's a lot of information, so all more questions are welcome. Hope this helps!!

June 2, 2020 10:58 p.m.

Said on Mind's Eye + ......

#2

There's no restriction that states that you can't sacrifice the Treasures from Smothering Tithe during your opponent's draw step. While it is not common for things to happen in one's draw step, there is still a pass of priority there. Also, sacrificing the Treasure in their upkeep will cause that mana to drain from your mana pool when they move to their draw step.

Both Smothering Tithe and Mind's Eye trigger when an opponent draws a card. Since you control both triggers, you get to order them. You can choose to order them so that the Tithe trigger resolves first and then the Eye trigger. This way, if that opponent doesn't pay , you can use the treasure that you just created to pay for the in the Eye trigger.

The sacrifice ability on the Treasure tokens is a mana ability, so you can activate it any time you have priority, while casting a cast, and while a spell/ability is resolving provided it asks you to pay a cost (like the Eye trigger does).

Hope this helps!!

June 2, 2020 1:45 p.m.

Said on If the Vicious ......

#3

For reference, you can surround a card name with two brackets, "[", in order for a card name to show it's picture.

The damage from Vicious Shadows will not be doubled due to Gisela, Blade of Goldnight post board wipe. In order for a replacement effect, like that of Gisela, to apply it must exist at the time of the event it is replacing.

Let's say I control Vicious Shadows and Gisela, Blade of Goldnight when my opponent casts Wrath of God. My Gisela will die which will trigger Shadows. When the trigger from Shadows goes to resolve, it's damage isn't doubled because Gisela isn't there to modify it.

In short, Gisela needs to be out when damage is dealt in order to modify it.

Hope this helps!!

May 31, 2020 5:44 p.m.

Sower of Discord triggers when damage is dealt. The damage from Warstorm Surge isn't dealt until after that trigger resolves.

So, let's say you play a 2/2. Warstorm triggers and deals 2 damage to any target. If you deal damage to a player chosen with Sower, Sower will trigger and cause the other to lose 2 life.

The example above also works when Sower enters the battlefield because the ability where you choose players isn't an ETB. When an effect does some "as [it] enters the battlefield", that happens before it exists on the battlefield. This is a type of replacement effect.

Lastly and for future reference, when multiple triggers that you control are getting up on the stack you get to order them as you wish. So, if Sower had an ETB trigger isn't of it's replacement effect, you could stack the triggers so that you pick players and then deal damage from Warstorm.

Hope this helps!!

May 31, 2020 2:48 p.m.

Said on Can Portal Mage ......

#5

I don't know if that was a rule change, but that is how it works. You must choose which "head" you're attacking. You can use cards like Portal Mage in a 2HG game, but they do almost nothing. In 2HG each player on a team can block for the other.

I am unaware of any specific interaction when something like Portal Mage might affect your combat decisions in 2HG. That said, you do have to choose a player that you are attacking.

Hope this helps!!

May 30, 2020 12:52 p.m.

Yes, that would work, but wording is very important here. The key is that Captain's Maneuver is a replacement effect that changes what is getting damaged. There are other "redirection" effects that seem like they do the same thing but don't, such as Acolyte's Reward. The Reward prevents damage then it deals damage. While the effects from Reward and Maneuver seem identical, they are importantly different.

Since the replacement effect from Maneuver changes that is being dealt damage, you commander would be dealing combat damage to that player. All combat damage dealt to players is commander damage.

Hope this helps!!

May 30, 2020 8:07 a.m.

Ya, that's correct. The effect from Artificial Evolution is a text-changing effect, so the future tokens will be 1/1 Wizards (or whatever you choose) for as long as that Young Pyromancer is on that field. Once it leaves, that Pyromancer will make Elementals again.

Hope this helps!!

May 30, 2020 7:50 a.m.

Said on Banding Mechanic...

#8

Quick note: I won't quote all the rules about Banding (because several will be used). To get a good idea about Banding, I highly recommended reading the section about Banding. That section is 702.21. of the CR (found here).

Here's a quick summary of the three major things Banding lets you do:

  1. You can form bands with attacking creatures.
  2. If you control an attacking creature with Banding, you determine the combat damage order for the blocking creature(s) (not the defending player).
  3. If you control a blocking creature with Banding, you determine the combat damage order for that attacking creature(s)/band (not the attacking player).

In short, what you described doesn't work. Blocking creatures don't form bands. Rather, a blocking creature with Banding lets it's controller decide how damage from the blocked creature(s) will be dealt to the blocking creature(s) is dealt.

In the first/second question, Wall of Caltrops is blocking one creature. Wall of Caltrops gains Banding, but there is nothing special about that damage assignment order as it is 1-on-1. Combat happens like normal for the other two creatures.

In the third question, Wall of Frost can still only block one creature, so its trigger will only affect one creature.

Some of these answers change slightly if they horde that's attacking you also has Banding. But Banding-on-Banding questions are different than the ones that you posed.

I hope this helps!!

May 29, 2020 6:04 p.m.

A point of clarification Gattison, Swan Song's target can be changed, although not with cards stated in the question. Something like Misdirection could change the target of Swan Song.

Practically speaking, there is almost no point in this unless you are using it as an effective counterspell. Since Song was second to the bottom, you could not change the target of Song and have it not fizzle. (Redirecting a spell don't change its position in the stack.)

May 29, 2020 2:22 p.m.

In our scenario, the stack was Hurkyl's Recall, Swan Song, and Narset's Reversal, bottom to top. The stack resolves top to bottom, so Reversal will resolve first. When it does, you copy Recall (choosing your targeted player) then put the original Recall into your hand. The stack is now Song and then the copy of Recall, again bottom to top. Since the copy of Recall is on top, it resolves first, so you bounce your artifacts (assuming you target yourself). Then Song then tries to resolve, but its target is nowhere to be found, and it fizzles.

During all of this, your opponents have chances to respond after each spell resolves, like normal, so they might have more interaction. Barring that, you would have (basically) gotten two Recalls out of this ordeal.

Based on your question, it is important to remember that spell enter and resolve from the top of the stack. Also, the targets of a spell don't change unless another spell changes them. From your question, Song wouldn't have found the copy of Recall because it was looking for the original. It won't search the stack for another spell called "Hurkyl's Recall". It will only look for the exact spell that it was pointed at.

Hope this helps!!

May 29, 2020 1:44 p.m.

You can not overpay for a spell. Once the total cost of a spell has been determined, that's the price you must pay, no more no less.

The second to last step in casting a spell (per 601.2h) is the payment of the total cost. That rule state that you pay the cost. While it states partial payments aren't allowed, the same logic applies in the opposite case too. You must pay the exact cost of a spell.

Hope this helps!!

601.2h The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can’t be paid.

May 28, 2020 8:49 p.m.

Right, I misread Hazoret's Favor. The delayed sacrifice trigger isn't tied to the creature. You control that trigger, so you need control the creature when the trigger resolves. My bad.

May 28, 2020 7:40 p.m.

Provided the creature that you gained control of never leaves the battlefield, it will be sacrificed at the end of "the next End Step". The vast majority of the time this will be on your End Step (it could have on someone's End Step, but that really not likely). Regardless of whose control the creature is under, there will be a delayed trigger that will see that creature, and it's controller must sacrifice it. Again, this is barring a situation when that creature has left the battlefield and returned.

Hope this helps!!

May 28, 2020 7:28 p.m.

Said on None...

#14

I believe you double-posted. Check my answer on the other thread.

May 28, 2020 7:20 p.m.

You will keep the creature at the end of your turn. When the delayed trigger from Kheru Lich Lord triggers, it can't find the creature that was brought back with the first part of the ability, so it does nothing. The reason for this is that when a creature (or any anything) moves zones it creates a new object. This new object is distinct from one that was brought back originally.

Importantly, when the creature that gets blinked comes back, it won't have Trample, Flying, and Haste from the Lich. Again, because it's a different object and is unaffected by the ability of the Lich.

Hope this helps!!

May 28, 2020 7:19 p.m.

Provided Lazav doesn't have a -1 counter already, Lazav will come back as themself.

Lazav has the Persist ability from Puppeteer Clique, so then they die, there will be a Persist trigger since Lazav had the persist ability up until death. Lazav will get brought back, but the effect that made them a copy of the Clique doesn't affect Lazav because it affects the old Lazav (a permanent entering and leaving the battlefield will create new "objects"). Since the new Lazav is a new object, they don't have anything affecting them.

Hope this helps!!

May 28, 2020 2:53 p.m.

Monomanamaniac, while I don't know what the designers of Breach were thinking, I'm sure they were not concerned about this interaction. I agree that it is not very intuitive, but the rules (namely the two that we quoted) explain why you can't use Breach to cast Lotus Bloom. Moreover, the rulings on the Gatherer are far from comprehensive and are not kept up to date. Rarely will the rulings on a card be updated. For questions that are fairly niche (like this one), the CR, someone that knows the CR well, or a judge (like myself) should be consulted.

May 28, 2020 9:49 a.m.

Reading the next sentence in that rule should answer your question. The excerpt that you pointed out is saying that you may begin casting the spell, so you can proceed through the first handful of steps of casting Lotus Petal. However, once you get to the spell-casting step where you need to pay costs, you'll be trying to pay something that is unpayable. At that point, the game has to rewind back to when you began casting the spell because you are trying to do the impossible (pay the unpayable).

In short, it is a legal action start casting a spell with an unpayable cost, but you will quickly run into issues.

May 28, 2020 9:15 a.m.

The specific example you pointed out with Lotus Bloom would not work.

Underworld Breach gives nonland cards in your graveyard Escape with an Escape cost equal to that costs mana cost plus exile three cards from your graveyard. The problem is that Lotus Bloom has no mana cost. This is an unpayable cost, so you can't Escape cast it (118.6). This is the same reason you can cast Lotus Bloom from your hand.

That said, it's CMC is still 0. Since Vadrok, Apex of Thunder allows you to cast some without paying it's mana cost, you can cast Lotus Bloom with Vadrok's trigger.

Hope this helps!!

118.6. Some objects have no mana cost. This represents an unpayable cost. An ability can also have an unpayable cost if its cost is based on the mana cost of an object with no mana cost. Attempting to cast a spell or activate an ability that has an unpayable cost is a legal action. However, attempting to pay an unpayable cost is an illegal action.*

May 28, 2020 8:04 a.m.

In short, no. You only get the one trigger. The triggering condition for Rielle is your act of discarding cards in a turn. That discard count exists independently of Rielle and her triggers.

To that point, if you cast Faithless Looting, cast Rielle, then flashed back Faithless Looting, Rielle wouldn't trigger. By that point, you've already discarded once that turn and that's what her trigger cares about. Think of it like a "discard storm count".

Hope this helps!!

May 27, 2020 11:40 p.m.
## The Deckcoder's oath ## _"For the CSS pages of everyone, I will ke...

Specialties

Commander / EDH - Combo, Commander / EDH - Infinite Combo, Commander / EDH - Mono-White, Commander / EDH - RUW (Jeskai, America), Commander / EDH - UR (Izzet)

Decks

Tas's Tutelage

Commander / EDH* Tylord2894

163 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Mizzix's Stack Exchange

Commander / EDH* Tylord2894

SCORE: 1 | 296 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

My Tower

Casual Tylord2894

91 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Life, Death, and Zombies

Pioneer Tylord2894

SCORE: 15 | 23 COMMENTS | 986 VIEWS | IN 5 FOLDERS

Darien, King of Generals (w/ Primer)

Commander / EDH* Tylord2894

SCORE: 13 | 5 COMMENTS | 1152 VIEWS | IN 5 FOLDERS

Elsha the Artificer (Not Full Price cEDH w/Primer)

Commander / EDH Tylord2894

SCORE: 20 | 8 COMMENTS | 4129 VIEWS | IN 11 FOLDERS

Liliana's Grave Command

Commander / EDH* Tylord2894

SCORE: 2 | 160 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Lavinia, Prahv's Warden

Commander / EDH Tylord2894

116 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Finished Decks 15
Prototype Decks 11
Drafts 0
Playing since Kaladesh
Points 5121
Avg. deck rating 12.50
T/O Rank 9
Helper Rank 77
Favorite formats Commander / EDH, Pioneer
Suppressed formats MTGO, Unformat, Heirloom, Archenemy, Planechase, Vanguard, Noble, Casual, Hero, Tiny Leaders, Highlander, Magic Duels, Penny Dreadful, Frontier, Leviathan, Canadian Highlander, Brawl, Arena, Oathbreaker, Custom
Good Card Suggestions 6
Last activity 10 hours
Joined 2 years