Emissary of Grudges

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Custom Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2018 (C18) Rare

Combos Browse all

Emissary of Grudges

Creature — Efreet

Flying, haste

As Emissary of Grudges enters the battlefield, secretly choose an opponent.

Reveal the player you chose: Choose new targets for target spell or ability if it's controlled by the chosen player and if it targets you or a permanent you control. Activate this ability only once.

Emissary of Grudges Discussion

Kogarashi on Can I response to a ...

1 week ago

In order for any item on the stack to resolve, the players must each pass priority in turn without adding anything to the stack. This applies for every single item in the stack. They don't resolve in one bunch.

So in your scenario, here's what happens, broken down:

  • You blink Parallax Wave , let's say with something that returns it right away, since you didn't say. Your blink effect is on the stack, and the Parallax is still on the board.

  • You have priority first (since you're the one who used the blink effect). You pass without adding anything. Your opponent passes without adding anything to the stack either. Parallax Wave leaves the battlefield, triggering its LTB, then returns with 5 fading counters on it.

  • Triggered abilities go on the stack when a player would next receive priority, and state-based actions are checked first. There are no state-based actions to worry about here, so your Parallax trigger goes on the stack.

  • In order for the trigger to resolve, everyone must pass priority again without adding things to the stack. We'll say you do so.

  • Parallax trigger resolves, returning both Gilded Drake and Emissary of Grudges to the battlefield. Your opponent secretly chooses you for Emissary. Gilded Drake triggers.

  • Still no state-based actions. Drake trigger goes on the stack, and you target Emissary.

  • In order for the Drake trigger to resolve, everyone must pass priority without adding things to the stack. However, when your opponent receives priority, they instead choose to activate Emissary of Grudges , targeting the Drake triggered ability and changing its target to another creature you don't control. There are no timing or targeting restrictions, everything is legal. Now Emissary's ability is on the stack on top of the Drake's.

  • A new round of priority begins with your opponent (since he can hold priority after adding Emissary's ability to the stack). We'll assume that no one else adds anything to the stack as priority passes around the table once.

  • Emissary's ability resolves, switching Drake's target.

  • Another round of priority happens, starting with you (active player) since no one directly added a spell/ability and held priority. We'll again assume no one adds anything to the stack.

  • Drake ability resolves, switching control with the new target, not the Emissary. The stack is now empty.

Your comment about "no priority for him between resolving his own trigger on the stack and mine" doesn't work. First, he has no triggers to worry about. As others have mentioned, choosing an opponent secretly is something that happens as Emissary of Grudges enters the battlefield. It's not a triggered ability (which begin with "when, whenever, or at"). It can't be responded to. It's timing is simultaneous with it entering the battlefield. Your Gilded Drake , on the other hand, has a triggered ability that must go on the stack when a player would receive priority, and then resolve to happen.

Second, currently the only thing that can prevent people from responding to a spell or ability on the stack is the Split Second mechanic, as seen on cards like Sudden Spoiling , which explicitly prevent players from casting spells or activating abilities that aren't mana abilities while it's on the stack (special actions and mana abilities are still allowed). Gilded Drake 's ability doesn't have any effect that would prevent your opponent from activating an ability in response to it.

Third, each item on the stack must resolve individually, and players each receive priority between every item on the stack. You can have a stack four items tall, resolve two of them, add three more, resolve four of them, add another, and so on, as long as players have the means to do so. The stack is not resolved in one large chunk.

Long-winded, but hopefully clears it up for you.

ElgAbri on Can I response to a ...

1 week ago

Boza, so my oponent is right, his Emissary of Grudges can change the target of Gilded Drake ?

Boza on Can I response to a ...

1 week ago

Emisarry's first text block starts "as ~ enters the battlefield", meaning the choice is made right before the card ETBs.

The second ability requires to reveal the chosen player and it must be specifically in response to an ability targeting Emissary of Grudges 's controller or his/her permanents.

Even if we assume it is an ETB ability, even then, before any item on the stack resolves, there is a round of priority when any player has a chance to respond. The topmost object on the stack resolves only when all players in succession pass priority without taking an action.

ElgAbri on Can I response to a ...

1 week ago

Ok, this is what happens in the game:

I have a Parallax Wave and there is my Gilded Drake and a Emissary of Grudges of my opponent removed with the Parallax.

In my turn, I blink the Parallax Wave , making my Gilded Drake and his Emissary of Grudges enters the battlefild again in the same time.

The abilities goes to the stack in APNAP order, Gilded Drake First, Emissary next. Resolving the abilities:

"As Emissary of Grudges enters the battlefield, secretly choose an opponent." - He chooses me.

"When Gilded Drake enters the battlefield, exchange control of Gilded Drake and up to one target creature an opponent controls." - I choose his Emissary of Grudges .

Nobody have anything to do now, than the stack beggins to resolve, and this is the problem (and the question):

My oponent wants to use the activated ability of the Emissary of Grudges (Reveal the player you chose: Choose new targets for target spell or ability if it's controlled by the chosen player and if it targets you or a permanent you control.) to change the target of my Gilded Drake for some other creature.

I say that this is not possible, because there is no priority for him betwin resolving his own trigger on the stack and mine. He says that he can.

So, what happens in this case? the trade happens or not?

Below is the rule:

117.5. Each time a player would get priority, the game first performs all applicable state-based actions as a single event (see rule 704, “State-Based Actions”), then repeats this process until no state-based actions are performed. Then triggered abilities are put on the stack (see rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities”). These steps repeat in order until no further state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the player who would have received priority does so.

603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority.

draaien on elemental/land commander [Help Needed]

3 weeks ago

Nice to see this deck updated The easy cards to cut are the mana rocks as long as you add some land ramp like Skyshroud Claim other cards i would remove are the non elemental creatures which are just being big like Emissary of Grudges or the Crash of Rhino Beetles an other card i didn't mention but does this roll a lot better is Multani, Yavimaya's Avatar . it also being an elemental. So maybe remove 5 of the 7 mana rocjs you are running at two or 3/4 more land ramp cards and maybe fill the rest with some commander protection like the greaves or maybe a Temur Sabertooth . or some more lands like Myriad Landscape . The trick in building this deck is trying to find cards which fill 2 rolls at ones like the landscape or the Fertilid you now added. Instead of the Acidic Slime you can run Ingot Chewer which is slighlty more on flavour or maybe even both.

Other cards to cut in my opinion: Grapple with the Past you should be drawing like crazy and if you want graveyeard recursion there are better options. Rabid Bite you are in red so better removal is plentyfull. Undying Rage i don't really like enchantments in general and you are not trying to punch fast i think at least. Scute Mob very meta depended in my meta there is a stupid amount of removal so explosiveness and recursion are very important if you don't encounter much removal this could be great.

Hope it helps this was a bit less structured than i like to be so sorry.

greatdevourer on Rise From Your Grave *PLZ HALP*

9 months ago

I think you need an Eternal Scourge for this deck.

AH HA! I finally see figured out what this deck is really needing. More punch.
Specifically, this deck should be maximizing the 'creature enters the battlefield' effects.
You are creature one or more token copies of a creature.
Those creatures should not just sit there looking at you like an idiot. Make those token work.
I know that the token come into play tapped and attacking, but by using the ETB triggers those tokens will be doing double duty.
Another thing I noticed while looking at what other people are doing with this deck is the use of +1/+1 counters to power things.
Not sure if that is a direction this deck need to go, so I'm not going to use that too much.
With that new idea in mind, lets look at some swaps.
OUT: Budoka Gardener, Charnelhoard Wurm, Emissary of Grudges, Indulgent Tormentor, Rubblehulk, Scute Mob, Scuttling Doom Engine, Seedborn Muse, Zendikar Incarnate
Not sure about: Loyal Apprentice, Loyal Guardian, Loyal Subordinate, Rampaging Baloths

IN, with no particualr order:
(I'm going to list more cards than we take out so that you have some options to consider.)
Wood Elves, note that the Forest does not have to be a basic Forest. We can fecth a dual or shock land.
Eternal Witness, to get back any other card.
Greenwarden of Murasa, another option for card recursion.
Solemn Simulacrum, land fetch and card draw ine one.
Broodmate Dragon, because dragons.
Garna, the Bloodflame, for more graveyard recursion.
Fleshbag Marauder and/or, Merciless Executioner to help control the board. We can use the sac
Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord, fattie with life draining ability.
Mindslicer, so that we can make people's lives suck.
Pilgrim's Eye, land search and flying chump blocker. the poor man's Solemn Simulacrum
Hoarding Dragon, because it never hurts to get useful artifacts.
Netherborn Phalanx, this one has always been good to me in group games. Really punishes the token player.
Puppeteer Clique, so that we can eat and exile opponenet's creatures.
Dire Fleet Daredevil, why not cast other people's spells?
Balustrade Spy, screw your deck.
Avalanche Riders, screw your land.
Sadistic Hypnotist, screw your hand.
Entomber Exarch, give us some nice options. It is a bit weak, but useful and cheap.
Bogardan Hellkite, becuase damage is almost always good. But I'm not sure about the mana cost on this one.
Molten Primordial, let's use our sacrifice outlets on other peoples stuff.
Viscera Seer, so that we can filter the top deck when we sacrifice creatures.
Hornet Queen, tokens making tokens, now with deathtouch.
Feldon of the Third Path, create tokens of creatures that don't get exiled.
Kresh the Bloodbraided or Sek'Kuar, Deathkeeper as alternate commanders and good creatures.

Not creatues but need to be in the deck:
Warstorm Surge, let's turn each token into direct damage in addition to it's ETB.
Path of Discovery, why not explore the deck?
Evolutionary Leap, I'm not sure about this one, I like the ability to fetch more creatues from the deck, but we may need more dicard outlets to really make this work for use.
Goblin Bombardment, cheap to cast, multiple uses, may help finish off the last opponent.

So, let me know what you think.
Great. Thanks. Now after helping you with this deck, I'm going to have to finish my jund deck. I'll see if I can get my list up in a couple of days.

Penguno on Deflection Themed EDH

10 months ago

Here is a current list I've made.

@Gleeock Emissary of Grudges sounds like it could fit in my deck


Deflection EDH

Commander / EDH Penguno

1 VIEW


Load more

Emissary of Grudges occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.01%