Does this infinite mana combo work?

Asked by drwhosmith4 2 years ago

Now I know Recurring Nightmare is banned in EDH, which is primarily what I play but tell me if I am thinking about this wrong.

So you play Sengir Autocrat , Recurring Nightmare , and Culling the Weak in the game. You sac a serf to trigger Culling the Weak to get 4 mana, sac the Sengir Autocrat to use Recurring Nightmare to return Sengir Autocrat and use the mana to play Recurring Nightmare again. Each iteration adds one floating mana so infinite mana, right?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Culling the Weak is an instant, not an enchantment.

July 21, 2017 5:15 a.m.

sonnet666 says... #2

Even if Culling the Weak was an enchantment, this wouldn't work.

Sacing the creature and returning Recurring Nightmare to your hand are both activation costs of Recurring Nightmare's ability.

Activating an ability works the same as casting a spell, you choose the spell's targets before actually paying the spell's cost. You can't target the creature you decide to sacrifice to Recurring Nightmare because it's not in the graveyard yet when you're choosing targets.

July 21, 2017 9:26 a.m.

drwhosmith4 says... #3

Ah I didn't see that Culling is an instant. Got it

July 21, 2017 10:36 a.m.

drwhosmith4 says... #4

But in that case put Culling the Weak on Elite Arcanist and to make it better just use Gravecrawler. So it could be a blue black infinite mana combo that is actually legal in EDH.

July 21, 2017 10:40 a.m.

drwhosmith4 says... #5

Just add Freed from the Real and voila

July 21, 2017 10:41 a.m.

sonnet666 says... #6

How are you going to pay for Freed from the Real with only black mana?

There are lots of infinite combos in EDH. If you want one with Sengir Autocrat, Nim Deathmantle plus Ashnod's Altar works well.

But this isn't a thread on infinite combos, it's a rules Q&A. So if you understand how the rules work here you should select an answer and ask any new questions in a new Q&A.

July 21, 2017 11:55 a.m.

Please login to comment