Experiment Kraj

Experiment Kraj

Legendary Creature — Ooze Mutant

Experiment Kraj has all activated abilities of each other creature with a +1/+1 counter on it.

: Put a +1/+1 counter on target creature.

Experiment Kraj Discussion

Yesterday on How do staggered infinite loops …

3 weeks ago

Third scenario:

And if I'm all correct so far, then let's assume that Player 1 instead has a more realistic infinite damage combo in the form of Experiment Kraj , Argothian Elder with a +1/+1 counter, Ashaya, Soul of the Wild , Pemmin's Aura enchanting Kraj, Island , Prodigal Sorcerer with a +1/+1 counter. (Tap Kraj using the Elder's ability to untap Kraj and an Island, tap Kraj to deal 1 damage to any target, pay the Island's to untap Kraj with the Aura.)

Yesterday on None

3 weeks ago

I want to make sure I'm understanding correctly.

From MTG Tournament Rules

4.4 Loop

A loop is a form of tournament shortcut that involves detailing a sequence of actions to be repeated and then performing a number of iterations of that sequence. The loop actions must be identical in each iteration and cannot include conditional actions ("If this, then that".)

...

If two or more players are involved in maintaining a loop within a turn, each player in turn order chooses a number of iterations to perform. The game advances through the lowest number of iterations chosen and the player who chose that number receives priority.


So, Player 1 is the active player and controls a Spirit Mirror . Player 2 is the nonactive player and controls a Conspiracy naming Reflection, and a Frenetic Efreet .

Player 1 wants to destroy the Efreet before Player 2 gets the chance to resolve the Efreet's ability to potentially save itself. Both players can activate their abilities in response to the other player activating theirs, and wishes to keep on doing so. The modus is on the active player to not continue the loop. In this case, Player 2 gets a chance to save the Efreet before Player 1 can destroy it. Assuming we wait until Player 2's turn, if the same loop were to play out, then Player 1 (the nonactive player) would be able to destroy the Efreet before Player 2 gets the chance to save it.

Is this right?


Likewise, say Player 1 is has infinite damage in the form of an artifact that reads ": This permanent deals 1 damage to any target." And Player 2 has an artifact with ": You gain 1 life."

As long as Player 1 is the active player, they can't win the game. But when Player 2 becomes the active player, Player 1 can win the game because Player 2 is forced to decide how many iterations of the loop they're committing to before Player 1 does, and thusly 1 damage will get through when the loop resolves (and then it can be restarted)?


And if I'm all correct so far, then let's assume that Player 1 instead has a more realistic infinite damage combo in the form of Experiment Kraj , Argothian Elder with a +1/+1 counter, Ashaya, Soul of the Wild , Pemmin's Aura enchanting Kraj, Island , Prodigal Sorcerer with a +1/+1 counter. (Tap Kraj using the Elder's ability to untap Kraj and an Island, tap Kraj to deal 1 damage to any target, pay the Island's to untap Kraj with the Aura.)

Player 2 still controls the nonsense artifact with ": You gain 1 life."

In this case, regardless of who the active player is, Player 1 is unable to win the game as, in the shortcutting of the loop, Player 2 is able to activate the lifegain ability as many times as they choose in response to any of the three steps that form Player 1's combo that only deals 1 damage.

Is this all correct?

Yesterday on None

3 weeks ago

I want to make sure I'm understanding correctly.

From MTG Tournament Rules

4.4 Loop

A loop is a form of tournament shortcut that involves detailing a sequence of actions to be repeated and then performing a number of iterations of that sequence. The loop actions must be identical in each iteration and cannot include conditional actions ("If this, then that".)

...

If two or more players are involved in maintaining a loop within a turn, each player in turn order chooses a number of iterations to perform. The game advances through the lowest number of iterations chosen and the player who chose that number receives priority.


So, Player 1 is the active player and controls a Spirit Mirror . Player 2 is the nonactive player and controls a Conspiracy naming Reflection, and a Frenetic Efreet .

Player 1 wants to destroy the Efreet before Player 2 gets the chance to resolve the Efreet's ability to potentially save itself. Both players can activate their abilities in response to the other player activating theirs, and wishes to keep on doing so. The modus is on the active player to not continue the loop. In this case, Player 2 gets a chance to save the Efreet before Player 1 can destroy it. Assuming we wait until Player 2's turn, if the same loop were to play out, then Player 1 (the nonactive player) would be able to destroy the Efreet before Player 2 gets the chance to save it.

Is this right?


Likewise, say Player 1 is has infinite damage in the form of an artifact that reads ": This permanent deals 1 damage to any target." And Player 2 has an artifact with ": You gain 1 life."

As long as Player 1 is the active player, they can't win the game. But when Player 2 becomes the active player, Player 1 can win the game because Player 2 is forced to decide how many iterations of the loop they're committing to before Player 1 does, and thusly 1 damage will get through when the loop resolves (and then it can be restarted)?


And if I'm all correct so far, then let's assume that Player 1 instead has a more realistic infinite damage combo in the form of Experiment Kraj , Argothian Elder with a +1/+1 counter, Ashaya, Soul of the Wild , Pemmin's Aura enchanting Kraj, Island , Prodigal Sorcerer with a +1/+1 counter. (Tap Kraj using the Elder's ability to untap Kraj and an Island, tap Kraj to deal 1 damage to any target, pay the Island's to untap Kraj with the Aura.)

Player 2 still controls the nonsense artifact with ": You gain 1 life."

In this case, regardless of who the active player is, Player 1 is unable to win the game as, in the shortcutting of the loop, Player 2 is able to activate the lifegain ability as many times as they choose in response to any of the three steps that form Player 1's combo that only deals 1 damage.

Is this all correct?

Yesterday on How do staggered infinite loops …

1 month ago

This is a game rules question that I'm intentionally posting here because, after the ~15 hour downtime, the preview in the Rules Q&A section is showing no line breaks or text formatting and this is a pretty long post. If a mod could move it over please, I'd appreciate it.


I want to make sure I'm understanding correctly.

From MTG Tournament Rules

4.4 Loop

A loop is a form of tournament shortcut that involves detailing a sequence of actions to be repeated and then performing a number of iterations of that sequence. The loop actions must be identical in each iteration and cannot include conditional actions ("If this, then that".)

...

If two or more players are involved in maintaining a loop within a turn, each player in turn order chooses a number of iterations to perform. The game advances through the lowest number of iterations chosen and the player who chose that number receives priority.

-

So, Player 1 is the active player and controls a Spirit Mirror . Player 2 is the nonactive player and controls a Conspiracy naming Reflection, and a Frenetic Efreet .

Player 1 wants to destroy the Efreet before Player 2 gets the chance to resolve the Efreet's ability to potentially save itself. Both players can activate their abilities in response to the other player activating theirs, and wishes to keep on doing so. The modus is on the active player to not continue the loop. In this case, Player 2 gets a chance to save the Efreet before Player 1 can destroy it. Assuming we wait until Player 2's turn, if the same loop were to play out, then Player 1 (the nonactive player) would be able to destroy the Efreet before Player 2 gets the chance to save it.

Is this right?


Likewise, say Player 1 is has infinite damage in the form of an artifact that reads ": This permanent deals 1 damage to any target." And Player 2 has an artifact with ": You gain 1 life."

As long as Player 1 is the active player, they can't win the game. But when Player 2 becomes the active player, Player 1 can win the game because Player 2 is forced to decide how many iterations of the loop they're committing to before Player 1 does, and thusly 1 damage will get through when the loop resolves (and then it can be restarted)?


And if I'm all correct so far, then let's assume that Player 1 instead has a more realistic infinite damage combo in the form of Experiment Kraj , Argothian Elder with a +1/+1 counter, Ashaya, Soul of the Wild , Pemmin's Aura enchanting Kraj, Island , Prodigal Sorcerer with a +1/+1 counter. (Tap Kraj using the Elder's ability to untap Kraj and an Island, tap Kraj to deal 1 damage to any target, pay the Island's to untap Kraj with the Aura.)

Player 2 still controls the nonsense artifact with ": You gain 1 life."

In this case, regardless of who the active player is, Player 1 is unable to win the game as, in the shortcutting of the loop, Player 2 is able to activate the lifegain ability as many times as they choose in response to any of the three steps that form Player 1's combo that only deals 1 damage.

Is this all correct?

Yesterday on None

1 month ago

Player 1 is the active player and controls a Spirit Mirror . Player 2 is the nonactive player and controls a Conspiracy naming Reflection, and a Frenetic Efreet .

Player 1 wants to destroy the Efreet before Player 2 gets the chance to resolve the Efreet's ability to potentially save itself. Both players can activate their abilities in response to the other player activating theirs. This is a staggered infinite, which is only an infinite because it reaches the same game state* as long as neither player chooses do anything different. As I understand it, the rules specify that this can't result in a draw like with uninterruptable infinites, and that the modus is on the active player to not continue the loop. In this case, Player 2 gets a chance to phase out the Efreet before Player 1 can destroy it. Assuming we wait until Player 2's turn, if the same combo were to play out, then Player 1 (the nonactive player) would be able to destroy the Efreet before Player 2 gets the chance to save it.

At least, that's what I remember reading one time in a post dated from several years ago that I can't find. Firstly, is this still correct?

*Also, I'm confused about what exactly defines the "same game state" in a combo. It's not exactly the same, because each set of activations would result in the same outcome except that now the game has an additional set of abilities on the stack to resolve.


Now let's assume Player 1 is has an infinite damage combo assembled with Experiment Kraj and, uh... Argothian Elder with a +1/+1 counter, Ashaya, Soul of the Wild , Pemmin's Aura enchanting Kraj, Island , Prodigal Sorcerer with a +1/+1 counter. Player 1 can deal an indefinite amount of damage to any number of targets, 1 at a time. (Tap Kraj using the Elder's ability to untap Kraj and an Island, tap Kraj to deal 1 damage to any target, pay the Island's to untap Kraj with the Aura.)

Player 2 somehow has an artifact that just reads ": You gain 1 life."

Assuming I'm correct in the first example, then if Player 1 is the active player in this example, then Player 2 is able to survive until their turn (in a 2-player game) regardless. But then if Player 2 is the active player, then they're the one who has to choose to not gain life in response to taking lethal damage?

As with the first example, I'm confused with if and how this qualifies as a repeated game state (as Player 2 could gain 1 life in response to taking the first instance of damage, then 200 for the next, then 5000, etc.).

Also in this second example, Player 2 as the active player is able to gain an arbitrarily large amount of life in response to each one of the three individual steps that Player 1 has to take in order to deal 1 damage to Player 2. Player 2 can literally gain 99999 life in response to taking 1 damage from Player 1. Does this somehow... change it? IDK. It seems preposterous to me that Player 2 would be forced to lose in that game state.

FormOverFunction on Top 10 multicolored cards at …

1 month ago

Experiment Kraj is a lot of fun, playing off the abilities of your (and your opponents) cards. Pretty balanced, too, because you trade a +1/+1 counter for the ability.

KorvoldMizzet on Sakashima, of a thousand faces …

7 months ago

Y'all, I need help building this deck, I have the best colors for clones, now I just need some broken, stackable legendary (and non-legendary) creatures, please bring it at me!

The reason I am committed to Sultai is for Dimir cards like Evil Twin and simic cards like Progenitor Mimic

My reason for choosing Reyhan, Last of the Abzan, is for the situation that my opponents have nothing good to copy and I can just go off with stackable +1/+1 counters and win off commander damage.

Once I build the deck IRL, I will post the decklist here, and then close the thread, I appreciate the help!

(I'm not talking card recs like Sol Ring, Arcane Signet, Cyclonic Rift or any other staples, I'm looking for niche cards that will make for a fun/unique play experience)

(Also, I already know about all the other clone cards, so pls don't recommend cards like Progenitor Mimic)

Cards like: Soul Foundry, Mimic Vat, Nezahal, Primal Tide, Lithoform Engine and Experiment Kraj

Homelessguy on * text wall* Local tournament …

9 months ago

First sorry if I put this in the wrong place. Second I'm sorry for not being able to condensed this in a way that makes sense.

So in my area friend of mine started something call silver league. Basically regular Commander but Only Commons and uncommons in the 99. We're on our way like 7th season of this, it's really enjoyable what decks that I wouldn't normally and turn two of them it's a full-fledged Commander decks after the season was over. But now that we've done this for a while I am not quite sure what to build.

I've done Combo:Experiment Kraj placed 7 out of 16 Tokens:Omnath, Locus of Wrath 9/22 Voltron:Sigarda, Host of Herons 1/14 ( made into a commander) Goad: the big lion guy. dead last ( made into a commander) Skip one season

And we're getting ready for the next which will start in November I think

And I'm trying to get something ready for that season. I've tried to put together a weaver/ kondo infect deck but it was really slow

I just got done trying a another partner combinations also super slow not really getting a board state until turn eight

I'm trying to build something that I have not done before and something that would do well without the need for rares or Mythic cards.

Anybody got a commander I could try? And card suggestions for said Commander.

Load more