Orvar, the All-Form

Combos Browse all Suggest

Tokens

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Brawl Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Pre-release Legal
Standard Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Orvar, the All-Form

Legendary Creature — Shapeshifter

Changeling (This card is every creature type.)

Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, if it targets one or more other permanents you control, create a token that's a copy of one of those permanents.

When a spell or ability an opponent controls causes you to discard this card, create a token that's a copy of target permanent.

legendofa on Nonbasic Outcasts

2 weeks ago

Cloudpost and Glimmerpost, with Vesuva and Thespian's Stage. With griffstick's suggestion of Orvar, the All-Form, some stuff like Hidden Strings, Capsize, and Replication Technique, you get a pile of blue ramp jankosity.

Neotrup on How does Orvar interact with …

2 months ago

Orvar, the All-Form's ability uses an intervening if clause, so by removing the target you can keep it from doing anything (though whether this should be referred to as fizzling is a matter of terminology). Since Mizzium Skin is no longer targeting one of their permanents, Orvar's ability will not make a copy. You're good to remove the Precursor Golem before either trigger resolves.

From Orvar, the All-Form's rulings: 2/5/2021: As the first triggered ability tries to resolve, the spell that caused it to trigger and that spell's targets are checked again. Ignore any target of the spell that has left the battlefield by that point. If all of the permanents you controlled that were targets have left the battlefield by that point, the triggered ability will do nothing and no token will be created. If at least one permanent you control that's a target is still on the battlefield, the triggered ability will resolve, even if that permanent is now an illegal target for the spell.

Gidgetimer on How does Orvar interact with …

2 months ago

"Fizzle" is magic parlance for "countered by the game rules for having no legal targets". Orvar, the All-Form's ability does not target and as such can not fizzle. Orvar is only going to make one token in this example. Whether your opponent will keep the copy will depend on how they stack their triggers.

If they stack them so that Precursor Golem's trigger on first so the way they will resolve is making the copy and then copying Mizzium Skin onto all of their creatures including the new one, then you can respond after the token is made and kill it. If they stack them so that they get all of the Mizzium Skin copies first tehn you will have to respond to it and the token will survive.

wolfboy on How does Orvar interact with …

2 months ago

Question: How does the stack work with Precursor Golem and Orvar, the All-Form on the battlefield. My opponent plays Mizzium Skin, targeting precursor golem, and I respond with a removal spell. Will removing the golem before orvar resolves make his ability fizzle?

ClockworkSwordfish on Good Cards That You Just …

3 months ago

I have a real loathing for all the "kitchen sink" cards that have been cropping up more and more lately - the type that give you a ton of fiddly little incremental advantages. Strixhaven was especially bad for this. Things like Magma Opus, Culmination of Studies, Multiple Choice, Pestilent Cauldron  Flip, Scale the Heights... there's being versatile, then there's being overdesigned and obnoxious.

The same goes for creatures with a number of "might as well" abilities that are likely to never come up in actual gameplay. Questing Beast is perhaps the worst offender, but Moritte of the Frost, Vadrok, Apex of Thunder, Koma, Cosmos Serpent, Graveyard Trespasser  Flip, Orvar, the All-Form, any double-sided creature... these things aren't even fun to read.

Beebles on Mono White Ramp/Draw

3 months ago

While white can use a bit more help in the carddraw department I don't understand why people consider white to be bad at ramping. Especially nowadays. In addition to running mana rocks and ramp equipment like Sword of the Animist and Sword of Hearth and Home, white has access to 2 strategies that ramp through lands.

The first one is through a less lands matter ramp package. You can now have ramp cards such as Archaeomancer's Map and Keeper of the Accord and complement those with lands that set you back on land count while not setting you back on mana, like Lotus Field, Guildless Commons and Urza's Saga. Add Weathered Wayfarer to get those lands more often, and include lands that synergize with them, like Flagstones of Trokair and Thespian's Stage. It also makes Path to Exile a little bit better ;).

Another land ramp route you can take is through land recursion cards, such as Brought Back, Sevinne's Reclamation and Second Sunrise to rebuy fetches, although you need to run quite al lot of fetches for that to work.

Both those strategies are white ramping through lands. To my knowledge, black, blue and red cannot do that (apart from some exceptions maybe like Orvar, the All-Form).

Halphinianian on Can you exile a token …

3 months ago

I am thinking about making an Orvar, the All-Form deck, and a cool interaction I found was making copies of Islands, then making copies of Extraplanar Lens and exiling the token Islands to get the extra mana. However, since tokens do not exist anywhere except on the battlefield, will those Extraplanar Lenses with tokens imprinted do anything?

Load more