Obelisk Spider

Obelisk Spider

Creature — Spider

Reach

Whenever Obelisk Spider deals combat damage to a creature, put a -1/-1 counter on that creature.

Whenever you put one or more -1/-1 counters on a creature, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain 1 life.

Latest Decks as Commander

Obelisk Spider Discussion

wallisface on Neraaz the Venomous

1 month ago

If you’re looking for feedback, here are my thoughts:

  • phyrexian mana is gross. I’d just price it at 3BR and maybe make it a 4/4. Nobody is going to pay for those Phyrexian symbols with actual mana, so lets not pretend they might.

  • the gain life static ability feels really out of place. BR is not a colour pair that typically gains life. I feel this should be changed to life drain (like Obelisk Spider) so it at least feels more in-theme.

  • the tap ability feels very very expensive, in a colour pair that’s typically aggressive. I’d drop it to X1BR, or if you’re worried about big-mana, just change it to deal 2 damage for tap and 2BR.

Dr_Wurm on Golgari -1/-1 Counters

11 months ago

real_zarek Sorry I overlooked Obelisk Spider what are the other combos? I see some but not 4 more.

Pabs4444 on JLK's Hapatra | Extra Turns #04

1 year ago

Also, not having Obelisk Spider doesn't seem the best... And be carful not to accidentally kill your own creatures by accident through Doubling Season if you wanted it to live... Can't wait to see the deck in action!

Tylord2894 on What counts as "putting counters …

1 year ago

Yes, Obelisk Spider will trigger for each creature that you bring back during the resolution of Pyrrhic Revival. When an event occurs, anything that exists immediately after that event is checked to see if its triggered ability was triggered during that event. The Spider will see that you brought back some creatures and in doing so had to put a -1 counter on all of them. It will, therefore, trigger that many times (it will count itself since you had to put a -1 counter on it too).

Here is the important rule. It talks about exceptions, but none of them apply here.

603.10. Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the event.

Hope this helps!!

Gidgetimer on What counts as "putting counters …

1 year ago

Obelisk Spider's second ability will trigger for each creature that enters under your control. Since no player is specified to place the counter on the creatures, each player will put the counters on their own creatures.

122.6a If an object enters the battlefield with counters on it, the effect causing the object to be given counters may specify which player puts those counters on it. If the effect doesn’t specify a player, the object’s controller puts those counters on it.

Eonaut on What counts as "putting counters …

1 year ago

I am curious as to whether Obelisk Spider's second ability will trigger during the resolution of Pyrrhic Revival.

Load more