Absolute Law

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Vintage Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Urza's Saga (USG) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Absolute Law

Enchantment

All creatures have protection from red.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

USG

Ebay

Have (2) Supremespeed , primusinterpares
Want (0)

Absolute Law Discussion

colton815 on How does Protection work??

1 month ago

Absolute Law specifically says CREATURES get protection from red. not players. Runed Halo and Burrenton Forge-Tender are very self-explanatory.

Ryjo on How does Protection work??

1 month ago

In the case of Absolute Law, it gives all creatures Protection from Red. Protection from Red means that creatures can't be blocked by red creatures, dealt damage from red sources, targeted by red spells or abilities, or enchanted by anything red. Your opponent can still attack you, since you don't have protection from red, though any non-red creatures you have will be able to block red creatures and won't take any damage in combat from red creatures.

Jaysterbaby on Help With Protection Card Rules

1 month ago

I have Absolute Law and I am playing against someone with a Krenko, Mob Boss deck. I was wondering in my opponent can still attack my life points directly. With creatures, sorcery, or instants, etc. For example: He has Goblin War Strike

Jaysterbaby on How does Protection work??

1 month ago

I have Absolute Law and I am playing against someone with a Krenko, Mob Boss deck. I was wondering in my opponent can still attack my life points directly. With creatures, sorcery, or instants, etc. For example: He has Goblin War Strike

shaistyone on Old, Hidden Gems in EDH

5 months ago

Love the ones already mentioned. Some of my favorites you don't see very often:
Absolute Grace / Absolute Law - people tend to shy away because of their variability, but they can be absolute beatings
Gideon's Intervention - brand new, but woefully underrepresented - drop it, name Nekusar or Purpohoros, and feel excellent.. lol
Soul Sculptor - this is a very silly card that functions like a veritable toolbox of creature control
Meltdown - Oh, the things I've blown up on turn 2 (Sol Ring, Mana Crypt, artifact lands, etc)

TehGrief on Protection regarding Global Effects

6 months ago

Among the group that I play with, we have encountered a troubling question which none of us can agree on an answer for.

The situation is as follows:

  • With Absolute Law active on the battlefield, its effect reads "All creatures have protection from red.".

And if we read the rulings:

  • " 702.16e. Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent or player with protection is prevented."

We can assume all damage from red sources is prevented. So no target damage can be applied from spells or abilities.

In this situation; if we were to apply a global effect, such as an attacking Lord of Shatterskull Pass or casting Blasphemous Act where no targets are applied, does this bypass the protection ruling for preventing damage from red sources?

The reason we are curious is because the ruling makes it appear that it would simply sponge the damage. Though, effects like Wrath of God bypass "protection from white".

Ideas?

Load more