Quenchable Fire

Quenchable Fire

Sorcery

Quenchable Fire deals 3 damage to target player. It deals an additional 3 damage to that player at the beginning of your next upkeep step unless he or she pays {{U}} before that step.

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Conflux (CON) Common

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Highlander Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Pauper Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Quenchable Fire Discussion

wereotter on What is Your Opinion of ...

1 week ago

Creatures having a color is already something you can break in commander, though. You can use Painter's Servant naming in your Elesh Norn deck (not that you would in this case) to give all of your opponents protection from your creatures with Absolute Law.

Additionally, Transguild Courier and Sphinx of the Guildpact both get boosts that apply to color even with no changes to the current rules. The point isn't that "this card is x color" because we can already break that in commander. The reason they're banned is because of the rule that the mana symbol appears on the card. This is the same reason that Quenchable Fire can't be run in a mono-red deck despite nothing about the card being blue.

On the point of Gyruda, Doom of Depths I will say you're not entirely wrong here, but let's not forget that Wizards has been pushing color pies and power levels a LOT lately. So to that end I would defend the card pointing to limited blue reanimation effects like Back from the Brink or Body Double. Blue has limited ability to copy or create tokens of creatures in graveyards, so the fact that this latest one is extremely limited feels like it's pushing blue, but not entirely out of context. You can only reanimate something milled with its ETB effect and only if it has an even CMC. It's possible to entirely whif on this and not get anything to reanimate, unlike similar black effects that are more or less guaranteed to bring you back something from the graveyard.

Neotrup on Righteous Aura's wording. Is it ...

2 years ago

Also important to know is that most choices for spells and abilities other than targeting are made on resolution (distribution among targets is made with targeting), so you don't decide what source you're preventing until after your opponent decides whether to respond. Part of the reason Righteous Aura doesn't target is the shear variety of things you can choose for damage prevention, many of which are not objects so cannot be targeted.

You can of course choose a permanent (such as a creature) or a spell on the stack, but you can also choose anything being referenced by a spell on the stack (like a creature that died when enchanted with Spiteful Shadows), an object referenced by a replacement effect waiting to apply (like that created by Comeuppance), a delayed triggered ability (like that created by Quenchable Fire), or even a face up object in the command zone (like the emblem from Chandra, Torch of Defiance).