Transguild Courier

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Dissension (DIS) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Transguild Courier

Artifact Creature — Golem

Transguild Courier is all colors (even if this card isn't in play).

Transguild Courier Discussion

Icbrgr on Need rulings check

2 weeks ago

Transguild Courier may be a better option for the 1st requirement?

Caerwyn on Commander

5 months ago

There are three factors in deterring a card’s colour identity:

  • Colors of mana symbols in the card’s mana cost.
  • Any characteristic defining ability or colour indicator defining the color of the card (see: Transguild Courier and Ancestral Vision ).
  • Any mana symbol in the card’s rules text (note, Reminder Text is not rules text, so the mana symbol in Extort’s reminder text does not count).

The word “Black” as in “create a Black zombie army token” does not implicate colour identity. So long as the remainder of the Amass card you wish to use is Red/Green, you can use that card with Samut.

RicketyEng on Magic Story: Old Friends and ...

6 months ago

This comment will be spoiler-free wrt the WAR book, but may offer one or two insights which allude to it without really revealing anything.

This was great to see things from Rat's perspective. We actually see in the book all of the events onward from the moment she meets Teyo, but we see them from Teyo's and other planeswalkers' perspectives. The cliff hanger ending isn't really a cliff hanger for anyone who has read the book.

I had been trying to think of Rat's colour identity. Her Gateless state combined with her Gruul heritage and attraction to Selesnya and Rakdos had started to make me think everything but blue. However, in this story we got a few more details confirmed about her abilities which were only strongly implied in the book. Her natural bit of psychic ability definitely gives her some blue. Once I consider all of the above together and also a couple of spoiler-ish things she accomplishes in the book I think I would be quite satisfied to see her as 5-coloured.

She is definitely the type of character for which fans will be asking for a card. I actually think it would be neat if she were 5-coloured in the style of Transguild Courier . After all, it's hard to imagine casting Rat for the same cost as Niv-Mizzet Reborn .

Caerwyn on Ramos deck -Does Rattleclaw Mystic ...

7 months ago

A card's colour and a card's colour identity are related with one another, but slightly different.

A card's colour is defined as follows:

Rule 105.2: An object can be one or more of the five colors, or it can be no color at all. An object is the color or colors of the mana symbols in its mana cost, regardless of the color of its frame. An object's color or colors may also be defined by a color indicator or a characteristic-defining ability. See rule 202.2.

Colour Identity, on the other hand, is defined as follows:

903.4. The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with a certain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that card's mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).

Notice how Colour Identity adds mana symbols in the card's rules text.

Applying these to the two cards:

Transguild Courier has a characteristic-defining ability that makes it five colours. As such, it is a five-colour card, and will put five counters on Ramos. It also has a five-colour identity.

Rattleclaw Mystic is only one colour, , since colour does not look at mana symbols on the card's rules text. However, it would have a colour identity of, because show up in the rules text.

Kogarashi on Ramos deck -Does Rattleclaw Mystic ...

7 months ago

A card's color and its color identity are two different things.

  • A card's color is defined by the symbols in its mana cost, its color indicator, and any characteristic-defining ability that sets its color.

  • A card's color identity is defined by all mana symbols that appear in its casting cost and rules text, its color indicator, land type (on the type line), and characteristic-defining ability that sets color.

Ramos, Dragon Engine is looking for the color of a spell, not its color identity.

Because of the "Transguild Courier is all colors" text, Transguild Courier is all colors despite having no colored mana symbols in its cost, and therefore puts five counters on Ramos. Rattleclaw Mystic is a green spell, though its color identity is actually RUG, so it will only put one counter on Ramos.

Shathron on Ramos deck -Does Rattleclaw Mystic ...

7 months ago

I am building a Ramos, Dragon Engine deck. I see some people putting in Transguild Courier into their decks for counters]]. It apperently gives counters because its color is all colors.

I was thinking of adding in Rattleclaw Mystic . Does it trigger for 3 counters because its color identity is 3?

If it doesn't, then how does transguild courier get counters? Isn't its cost colorless?

Kogarashi on Bloom Tender & Najeela, The ...

10 months ago

As an additional note, some cards were last printed before color indicators were a thing, such as Transguild Courier. These will have rules text defining their color(s). Similarly, cards with devoid will not allow Bloom Tender to tap for the colors in their costs, because devoid makes them colorless.

TheVectornaut on Bloom Tender & Najeela, The ...

10 months ago

Please link cards with double brackets to make it easier for people to understand your question.

Bloom Tender, Najeela, the Blade-Blossom

With only those two creatures out, the Tender would tap for , with the green coming from itself and the red from Najeela.

The confusion here is coming from the distinction between a card's color and its color identity. Here is a quote from Gamepedia that explains the rules on this subject:

"Color identity is a concept expanding the color of cards. While in game play mechanics the color of a card is always determined exclusively by the colors used in its casting cost or its color indicator [...], the color identity of a card is specified by all mana symbols that appear in its casting cost, color indicator, and rules text. This is primarily relevant for the Commander format, in which players are not allowed to use any cards whose color identity isn't encompassed by that of their deck commander."

Najeela, the Blade-Blossom's color is red because only red symbols appear in her casting cost. Her color identity is 5 color because all 5 symbols appear in her rules text, but Bloom Tender doesn't care about color identity. Only something like Child of Alara with all five colors in its cost (or something like Transguild Courier which should have all 5 colors in its color indicator) would be considered a 5 color permanent for an effect like the Tender's. Then again, because Bloom Tender sees itself as a green permanent, even a 4 color card like Breya, Etherium Shaper would be sufficient.

Load more

No data for this card yet.