Skullbriar, the Walking Grave
Legendary Creature — Zombie Elemental
Whenever Skullbriar, the Walking Grave deals combat damage to a player, put a +1/+1 counter on it.
Counters remain on Skullbriar as it moves to any zone other than a player's hand or library.
|Have (2)||, Forkbeard|
Printings View all
|Commander Anthology 2018 (CM2)||Rare|
|MTG: Commander (CMD)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
- do planeswalkers keep their loyalty counters when targeted by liquimetal coating?
- is Skullbriar, the walking graves counters afected in graveyard
- Does a manifested skullbriar the walking grave keep it's +1/+1 counters?
- What happens when Skullbriar dies after receiving Bear Umbra + Solidarity of Heroes?
- About timing of triggered abilities and valid targets
Recommendations View more recommendations
Latest Decks as Commander
Skullbriar, the Walking Grave Discussion
2 weeks ago
For future reference, TappedOut has a Rules Q&A section of the site specifically devoted to posting questions about card rulings and interactions between cards. It also means that answers to questions (just like the ones posted here) are format independent so that everyone can look in the same spot.
As for the specifics of this, there are two key parts to this:
The first is the wording on Omnath's ability: "if this is the (X-th) time this ability has resolved this turn." If the wording was "if this the first land to enter the battlefied under your control this turn..." then then the ability would care about the total number of lands you've played in a turn. But because it's the former, it only cards about how many lands the Object (in this case Omnath) has seen enter.
The sencond specific here is that whenever an obejct changes zones (i.e. battlefield to graveyard, battlefield to exile, exile to battlefield, etc.) then it becomes a new instance of itself and losses all memory of the previous instance (with the exception of a few cards like Skullbriar, the Walking Grave who specifically state what information gets retained).
So pulling the two togehter, becuase in this example Omnath would be changing zones (blink usually refers to Battlefield to Exile to Battlefield), Omnath becomes a new instance of the card and has no memory of the number of lands which have previously entered this turn, so you would start counting from zero again.
Same thing if you played a land, Played Omnath and then played another land - It would still be at a count of one.
1 month ago
If you play with the same play group regularly, they'll know what to expect from your deck in short order. If you play with random pickup groups, then expect more hate the more powerful your commander is.
It definitely helps that Ghave is a higher CMC commander if you are playing him janky. Your early drops will point to that before the commander hits the table.
If you are playing a jank version of say Najeela or Tymna/Thrassios paring, your commander is probably going to meet some early removal before they figure out that your are playing a casual deck.
The opposite is also true. If you are playing an optimized version of a more casual commander with a low cost like Skullbriar, the Walking Grave, it might fly under the radar until it is too late. But if you race a Vaevictis Asmadi, the Dire out turn three or four with haste, people are still going to be afraid of you even through Vaevictis is considered a lower tier commander.
1 month ago
Unfortunately, Ajani's Pridemate will not retain its counters if it is brought back from the graveyard, as far as I’m aware the only creature in the game to be able to keep counters in the graveyard is Skullbriar, the Walking Grave. However, it will often grow pretty quickly again anyway, so I don’t think this is much of a problem.
Now that you’re running, Return to Nature, I’d be tempted to maybe cut the Watchers of the Dead from the mainboard, since you now have a far more effective form of graveyard hate. This would allow you to add the final copy of Ajani's Pridemate that I think would be better in almost every situation, but still keep the Watchers in the sideboard for when their effect is needed.
I get where you’re coming from regarding Blessed Alliance, I just feel that for a creature based tribal deck you might be running just a few too many non-creature cards, so it might be a good idea to trim back on a few of them. The deck will win with creatures, and with so many spells in the deck it could be possible to have points where you are just drawing spells, which will never be good for you. You might replace Invigorating Surge with a second Brimaz, King of Oreskos, you might decide to only run 3 Anointed Procession, since it is a (relatively) expensive card that has no immediate effect, and this might give you the space to have an extra Leonin Warleader or even a Cubwarden. These are just a few possible ideas, I have no idea if any of these seem like good ideas to you, but I think since the deck is now 70 cards, increasing the creature count might be a good idea.
2 months ago
but under the old rules the put the the commander in the command zone was a replacement effect so of course it would not double. what i was getting at in the first post was that now the commander hit the graveyard and then hits the command zone. But i do get now that when it hits the graveyard it is no longer an object you control. and even though i get to choose where my commander goes that is a state-based action of EDH and not me controlling the Skullbriar, the Walking Grave
2 months ago
A point Rhadamanthus is making that I want to underscore, in Magic, a "creature" is always something on the battlefield. If you cast Skullbriar, the Walking Grave and it's countered, that would be a creature spell you control, not a creature, so Reyhan, Last of the Abzan wouldn't trigger. In zones other than the stack or battlefield in addition to not having a controller (only owner) they are creature cards, not creatures or creature spells.
2 months ago
ok so i get the "a creature you control" (Only objects on the stack or on the battlefield have a controller. Objects that are neither on the stack nor on the battlefield aren't controlled by any player). but putting the trigger of the commander going to the command zone put it on the stack making Skullbriar, the Walking Grave a object you control.
2 months ago
Since Reyhan, Last of the Abzan checks both the graveyard and the command zone. and now the new death trigger rule your commander hits the graveyard and the command zone do you get double +1/+1 counters. Like I have Reyhan, Last of the Abzan on the field and I sack Skullbriar, the Walking Grave with 3X+1/+1 counters on it. do i get 6X+1/+1 to play with.
3 months ago
Often an auto-win if T2 Skullbriar, the Walking Grave followed by a T3 Unspeakable Symbol. Also, insane synergy with Winding Constrictor, Hardened Scales, and Corpsejack Menace (and Pir, Imaginative Rascal).
A more expensive suggestion is to avoid lands that enter tapped and also reduce the number of lands that don't produce black or green (and adding Lotus Petal for some potential turn one plays). Getting Skullbriar, the Walking Grave into play one turn earlier makes a huge difference:
- More likely to get through before opponents get blockers into play (early growth also increases the probability to get through on later turns).
- Exponential growth; adding an additional attack is often the difference between a win or a loss.