will it count as a color?

Asked by koylucumert 4 years ago

while running a mono-green commander deck,can i use Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip? if i can , can i flip it to Withengar Unbound ?

DeathChant17 says... #1

Yes. The actual card in the library is the artifact, which is ok to run in mono green. The flip side only enter's after Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip's ability triggers.

December 28, 2014 11:31 a.m.

KrosanTusker says... #2

You may not run it. It is a colourless card, but its colour identity is black.

December 28, 2014 11:31 a.m.

KrosanTusker says... #3

Ooh! Controversy! I did not expect that!

December 28, 2014 11:31 a.m.

DeathChant17 says... #4

Lol, it's gonna get real!

For the color identity to be black, doesn't a black mana symbol have to appear somewhere on the card?

December 28, 2014 11:35 a.m.

KrosanTusker says... #5

I believe that because the flip side is itself a black card, that counts as black for colour identity. Could be wrong!

December 28, 2014 11:38 a.m.

raithe000 says... #6

KrosanTusker is correct. Withengar has what is known as a color indicator symbol on it, making it a black card (its the black circle next to its type line). Double sided cards are considered to be all colors either side has, so in EDH, Withengar has a color identity of black. It cannot go in a monogreen deck.

December 28, 2014 11:44 a.m.

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #7

From the comprehensive rules (emphasis mine):

903.4. The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with a certain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that card's mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).

903.4c. The back face of a double-faced card (see rule 711) is included when determining a card's color identity.

So, Elbrus can only go in an EDH deckw hich includes black.

December 28, 2014 12:31 p.m.

This discussion has been closed