Does Sudden Spoiling affect creatures with buffs?

Asked by Sniperops 5 years ago

My opponent casts Overwhelming Stampede, it resolves, and then he attacks. I cast Sudden Spoiling. His creature's base power/toughness become 0/2 but does the +X/+X from the stampede still get added onto the 0/2?

TheHroth says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. The layer system dictates that power/toughness setting abilities will be applied before power/toughness modifying abilities.

They will become 0/2's with +X/+X.

November 15, 2014 9:34 p.m.

pskinn01 says... #2

Due to the layers, the creatures would get the +x/+x added to the 0/2 but would lose the trample. Casting the sudden spoiling before the spell resolved, would of made a bunch of 0/2 creatures with trample since it checks the highest power on resolution.

November 15, 2014 9:38 p.m.

kanofudo says... #3

you should instead Sudden Spoiling in response to keep him from getting big fat guys

November 16, 2014 8:38 a.m.

This discussion has been closed