|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Masters Edition IV (ME4)||Rare|
|Fifth Edition (5ED)||Rare|
|Fourth Edition (4ED)||Rare|
|Revised Edition (3ED)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
Each noncreature artifact loses all abilities and becomes an artifact creature with power and toughness each equal to its converted mana cost. If Titania's Song leaves the battlefield, this effect continues until end of turn.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
Titania's Song Discussion
1 week ago
Hey fella! Met you on Tabletop the other; good game. How about Titania's Song? Saves you having to use all your removal, just automatically destroys stuff - only $0.19 too!
3 months ago
Correct. Even though Titania's Song removes the abilities, anything copy effect, control changing effect, text changing effect, type changing effect, or color changing effect will still be applied even though it gets removed. Regardless of if it shows up before or after Titania's Song.
3 months ago
I (think) I am understanding your answers so far, however...
So far, with your answers, we have determined that:
Both Mycosynth Lattice's and Titania's Song's type-changing effects resolve and remain persistent for the turn, because of the ruling that "If a continuous effect has started applying in an earlier layer, it will continue to apply in later layers even if the ability that created that effect has been removed."
But here is the part that is getting me... perhaps it is disbelief, perhaps I do not want to believe... It all just seems paradoxical.
- Once Titania's Song becomes a creature and it checks itself, it loses it's abilities, but they continue to remain for the rest of the game?
(Now correct me if I am wrong...)
Despite this continuous effect continuing...
Since Mycosynth Lattice no longer has it's ability (or does it?), after all of this madness has been sorted out;
- any new or future permanents entering the battlefield are NOT artifacts in addition to their other types,
- any future non-creature artifacts are NOT creatures with power and toughness each equal to their converted mana costs?
I think I have another answer to all of this... Show
The layer system is a cleverly designed system used to divide our focus from the more important and dire situations around us.
It's all just a conspiracy...
3 months ago
The order doesn't matter. I'm quiet confused as to how pskinn01 seemed to understand layers, and then decided they don't apply. What happens is in Layer 4 Mycosynth Lattice makes everything artifacts and then Titania's Song makes everything creatures. It happens in this order regardless of timestamps because Titania's Song is dependent on Mycosynth Lattice. Then in Layer 5 Mycosynth Lattice makes everything everywhere colorless. Then in Layer 6 Titania's Song removes all abilities from all the things it turned into creature (presumably every permanent). Only abilities that have been applied in part before layer 6 can now be applied. In layer 7b Titania's Song now sets the power of each permanent it turned into a creature. It can do this because the ability started to apply way back in layer 4, so even though the ability is gone, it still finishes applying. Mycosynth Lattice's first two abilities applied before they could be removed, but it's final ability doesn't apply in the layer system at all, and thus no longer functions. Mana has to be spent properly instead of being used as if it were any color, but considering lands probably died from being 0/0s or at the very least no longer have abilities, you probably aren't spending mana anyways.
3 months ago
Sorry, but your answer is quite confusing; or perhaps it was the way I worded my question.
However, Titania's Song's ability "Each noncreature artifact loses all abilities and becomes an artifact creature with power and toughness each equal to its converted mana cost." happens in layer #6.
My understanding of the rules is that if Titania's Song has timestamp A (A = first on the field) and Mycosynth Lattice is played (being assigned timestamp B (B = second on the field)); Titania's Song will recognize Mycosynth Lattice as an artifact, immediately removing its ability and turning it into an Artifact creature with P/T = 6/6.
However, what I wanted to know is if the same is true if the order is reversed.
"All permanents are artifacts in addition to their other types." happens in layer #4, meaning that anything that is a permanent is also tagged with "Artifact".
When Titania's Song enters the battlefield it becomes an Artifact Enchantment.
We now check Titania's Song's ability; "Each noncreature artifact loses all abilities and becomes an artifact creature with power and toughness each equal to its converted mana cost.", both cards now lose their abilities and become artifacts.
Mycosynth Lattice now no longer has the ability "All permanents are artifacts in addition to their other types.", meaning that Titania's Song goes back to being just an enchantment with the ability; "Each noncreature artifact loses all abilities and becomes an artifact creature with power and toughness each equal to its converted mana cost.". (?)
At this point... has Titania's Song taken presidence? Am I correct in my understanding of how this would play out?
- In situation #2... which card has priority?
3 months ago
I am curious about the interaction between these two cards.
Would the time-stamp determine which ability took presidence?
Which effect is checked first?
3 months ago
City of Solitude - Stops countermagic,
Hum of the Radix - punishing artifact tax
Choke - lolbluedecks
Freyalise's Winds - can harm you but it's a staxy control thing that really hurts opposing decks
Dosan the Falling Leaf - like City of Solitude, but a people.
Magus of the Library (not control/stax, but should be good for card advantage?),
Willow Satyr - Green Empress Galina!
Titania's Song - artifact hate
Arboria - a weeeird, janky card that could work in your favour. You could spend turns activating loyalty abilities.
Kudzu - land destruction but it comes back to bite you. Being green, you should have enough ramp to not care though.
Drop of Honey - green Porphyry Nodes
Power Conduit could help with your age counters, but that's entirely optional.
Thank you sir, you've inspired me for some Green Shenanigans.