Mirari

Mirari

Legendary Artifact

Whenever you play an instant or sorcery spell, you may pay (3). If you do, copy that spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.

Latest Decks as Commander

Mirari Discussion

TypicalTimmy on seshiro_of_the_orochi

1 month ago

For some reason my phone keeps having the page crash on your post.


The average result on a single d12 roll is 6.5. because we can't deal in half-rolls, we can assume one will be a 6 and one will be a 7.

So for 7mv, you are theoretically able to, on average, deal 6 damage to each creature "for free". The issue, however, is that for an average to be realized, multiple rolls must be made. In EDH, you get to cast this spell once unless you have ways to copy it or recur it.

Yes, you can roll a 1 and a 3. You can also roll a 12 and a 12.

Consider it like this, 50% of the time your roll is less than average (6 or less) and 50% of the time your roll is more than average (7 or greater) on any one roll. Now people can say that your chances of, say, rolling two 10s are drastically lower than rolling one 10, and while mathematically this is true, your first and second roll have no barring on each other. How you roll on your first die is not going to have any effect on your second die.

This is the type of card you'd want to run in gimmick decks to take advantage of copying it. Krark, the Thumbless would be a good Commander but you'd want to be in Izzet at minimum to really take advantage of everything, such as Ral, Storm Conduit, Mirari, Double Vision, Swarm Intelligence, etc.

Generating infinite mana in Izzet is easy so these high MVs are not difficult to attain. But then you must ask why you aren't playing something larger to just win the game?

Also Pixie Guide is worth a shout-out there...

My opinion? It's a fun D&D themed card for a fun D&D Precon and nothing more. Doesn't have a whole lot of utility outside of that setting. Even something like Charmbreaker Devils barely assists you as you could pull anything else you might have in the deck.

So you need to ask yourself: Are you playing to have fun, or to win? If you are playing to win, the card is a shim for your wobbly table. If you're playing to have fun, fun is subjective; If you enjoy it, it's as valuable as Dockside Extortionist.

TypicalTimmy on Reckless Endeavor too reckless?

1 month ago

The average result on a single d12 roll is 6.5. because we can't deal in half-rolls, we can assume one will be a 6 and one will be a 7.

So for 7mv, you are theoretically able to, on average, deal 6 damage to each creature "for free". The issue, however, is that for an average to be realized, multiple rolls must be made. In EDH, you get to cast this spell once unless you have ways to copy it or recur it.

Yes, you can roll a 1 and a 3. You can also roll a 12 and a 12.

Consider it like this, 50% of the time your roll is less than average (6 or less) and 50% of the time your roll is more than average (7 or greater) on any one roll. Now people can say that your chances of, say, rolling two 10s are drastically lower than rolling one 10, and while mathematically this is true, your first and second roll have no barring on each other. How you roll on your first die is not going to have any effect on your second die.

This is the type of card you'd want to run in gimmick decks to take advantage of copying it. Krark, the Thumbless would be a good Commander but you'd want to be in Izzet at minimum to really take advantage of everything, such as Ral, Storm Conduit, Mirari, Double Vision, Swarm Intelligence, etc.

Generating infinite mana in Izzet is easy so these high MVs are not difficult to attain. But then you must ask why you aren't playing something larger to just win the game?

Also Pixie Guide is worth a shout-out there...

My opinion? It's a fun D&D themed card for a fun D&D Precon and nothing more. Doesn't have a whole lot of utility outside of that setting. Even something like Charmbreaker Devils barely assists you as you could pull anything else you might have in the deck.

So you need to ask yourself: Are you playing to have fun, or to win? If you are playing to win, the card is a shim for your wobbly table. If you're playing to have fun, fun is subjective; If you enjoy it, it's as valuable as Dockside Extortionist.

seshiro_of_the_orochi on Life is a Series of Choices Between Bad and Worse

3 months ago

+1, the deck name is perfection considering Toshi's lore. I recently added a Mirari to my list. Did you leave out Revel in Riches on purpose? It s a great win con, and even if it doesn't work, the amount of mana it generates is absurd. Aetherflux Reservoir is another great win con when combined with Bolas's Citadel . Both of these fit very nicely with K'rrik and Vilis.

Mtg_Mega_Nerds on Urza’s Pet Dragon

4 months ago

I would add Crackle with Power as a way to potentially kill one or more opponents. Draconic Intervention and Cyclonic Rift are good wipes that keep Galazeth on the board. Mirari and Primal Amulet  Flip are great instant/sorcery synergies that are also artifacts. Mishra's Bauble , Memnite and Ornithopter are 0 mana artifacts that can now tap for mana with Galazeth.

Gidgetimer on Veyran, Voice of Duality, what …

5 months ago

Your first two points are correct, So I am not going to address anything you said in them. I will address the rest of the question in the order the ideas are presented. Though it isn't going to be a nice ordered list, because some of your numbered points are mixing cards that operate differently.

Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind triggers off of drawing cards, not casting spells. The effect of the spell triggered Niv, not the casting of the spell, so Veyran, Voice of Duality has no interaction. Baral is the same. As is anything that doesn't trigger from casting a spell.

No cards in MtG need an extra cost to trigger. They trigger and go on the stack, and then have an optional cost to have an effect. Lunar Mystic and Mirari will trigger twice. You can pay as each trigger resolves to get the effect. You can pay for none, one, or both.

An instant or sorcery that triggers Knowledge Pool or Eye of the Storm will trigger them twice. Knowledge Pool requires you to exile the spell to have an effect, so only the first to resolve will have an effect, though there will be two triggers. Eye of the Storm doesn't require you to have exiled the spell to get the effect, so both triggers will have an effect.

Primal Wellspring and Pyromancer's Goggles trigger off of casting an instant or sorcery and so will trigger twice and make two copies.

Spellweaver Volute is an interesting case. I will look up the rules to copying objects that have left the expected zone and get back to you on it. My gut feeling is that 2 copies of the instant will be made.

cooknathan on Veyran, Voice of Duality, what …

5 months ago

I'm probably not the only one confused with which triggers Veyran, Voice of Duality works with.

603.1. Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as “[When/Whenever/At] [trigger condition or event], [effect]. [Instructions (if any).]”

  1. So cards like Guttersnipe or cards with magecraft clearly work (she triggers her own magecraft), cool, no problem.

  2. There seems to be a consensus that cards with prowess and similar ( Stormchaser Mage , Aetherflux Reservoir , Wavebreak Hippocamp ) also work so long as it triggers with an instant or sorcery and not another card type. Ok, so maybe the permanent's trigger condition does not need to say 'instant' or 'sorcery'.

  3. What about if something like Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind was triggered with a Brainstorm ? Does the permanent's trigger condition need to say 'cast' too? What 'causes' the triggered ability to trigger? Is it the casting or the drawing? Same question with Baral, Chief of Compliance .

  4. What about cards that need an extra cost to trigger Lunar Mystic or Mirari ? Do we (or can we, or can't we) pay the extra cost when Veyran triggers it an additional time?

  5. What about cards like Knowledge Pool or Eye of the Storm which also requires the card to exile?

  6. What about Primal Wellspring or Pyromancer's Goggles do you get two copies?

  7. If Runaway Steam-Kin has two counters and you cast a red instant, does it end up with four counters? Does Aria of Flame or Sphinx-Bone Wand get one or two counters? How about Mizzix of the Izmagnus ?

  8. How does Spellweaver Volute work? DO you get two copies of the same instant?

  9. I think that covers everything. If anyone has any weird edge cases, this might be a good place to post it. Do any of these cards not work for some reason? Sunbird's Invocation , Jori En, Ruin Diver .

Thanks!

carpecanum on Tripping over my Cans

8 months ago

Eventually somebody will play a scarier monster than you have. A Clone type card to copy their stuff so you can then make copies of it or a Switcheroo effect to steal then copy. Control Magic , Steal Enchantment , Cultural Exchange (very useful as it can steal shrouded creatures).

Isochron Scepter , Spellbinder , Mirari or Bosium Strip (not all 4 but one or two might be nice)

Lanzo493 on Can Drannith Magistrate’s effect mess …

1 year ago

Short answer, no. Here's why.

Rule 706.10. To copy a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isn’t cast and a copy of an activated ability isn’t activated

Just for the sake of discussion, if you wanted to make an extra copy of an epic spell, Mirari wouldn't work because a spell isn't cast so it won't trigger, but Lithoform Engine would work.

Load more