The Gitrog Monster

The Gitrog Monster

Legendary Creature — Frog Horror

Deathtouch

At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice this unless you sacrifice a land.

You may play an additional land on each of your turns.

Whenever one or more land cards are put into your graveyard from anywhere, draw a card.

Start Commander Deck Browse Alters

Trade

Have (1) Azdranax
Want (0)

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

The Gitrog Monster Discussion

seshiro_of_the_orochi on Custom Commander: Atlask, Morass Shaman

1 day ago

That commander is gorgeous. The only thing I don't like about it is that it doesn't actually exist. It would be an absolute blast to play. The power level seems fine. It could go infinite with The Gitrog Monster , any free discard outlet and Dakmor Salvage , but needing three cards, two of which are very specific, for an infinite cycle is ok for a precon commander.

Your other custom designs seem pretty well rounded out, as well. Fennelis is a great second-in-command for the deck while still being a potentially very powerful commander on its own. Will of the Marsh and Book of the Wayfinder are very cool from both a flavour and a power level stand point. They are good, can be great, but you need synergy for them to matter. That's a good point to be. I adore Pestilent Fiend, but this would be insane in The Gitrog Monster . Then again, Froggy goes infinite with everyone and their uncle, so that's fine.

Well donw seems to be what I wanna say!

GrimlockVIII on Custom Commander: Atlask, Morass Shaman

1 day ago

Damn so he's kinda like The Gitrog Monster but he generates board presence instead of hand advantage.

That's pretty cool.

legendofa on When do you draw cards …

2 weeks ago

Dredge 6 is one action of cards going into the graveyard. Since one or more lands entered the graveyard during this action, you draw one card.

Into the hypotheticals of the second question: If Golgari Grave-Troll was something like Dredge 1+1+1+1+1+1, or Dredge 1 then repeat this five more times (there's no good way to template it as multiple abilities), so that each card milled was a separate action on the stack, I believe you would draw each card after that land hit the graveyard individually and triggered The Gitrog Monster .

gitfrogged on When do you draw cards …

2 weeks ago

Lets say there is a Golgari Grave-Troll in your graveyard and The Gitrog Monster on your field. You use the dredge ability to mill 6 cards and 3 of them are land cards. Would The Gitrog Monster trigger 3 times or just once? And if it does trigger multiple times do you draw after each land card hits the graveyard or after all of the cards are milled?

RambIe on About Urza's Saga in cEDH

3 weeks ago

To be fair i do agree with most of your assessment.
1st. I agree turn 1 colorless mana really sucks, even when i have enough rocks in opening hand to over come it i could have had a better play if i had access to color.
2nd I completely agree that the constructs are useless, i mean the best play i've seen with constructs was mid game with Rite of Replication . but if you brake that down, play a land to combo next turn, and then wait another turn to swing 6 fatty's in a deck that's designed to combo win? that's just bad timmy, bad bad timmy, like go stand in the corner timmy and think about what you just did.....
3rd i partially agree with your assessment of the tutor function. waiting 3 turns to tutor completely sucks and i believe this renders the card useless in The Gitrog Monster . But as for my opponents running anti tutor this land is the perfect bait. even in worse case if they nail me with an Opposition Agent its tutor is restricted enough that i can recover. but after it resolves i know its all clear i grab my top then can freely cast Mystical Tutor and use the top to combo off immediately.
i know its just not good enough that i'm wasting my time rooting for this little guy, but in my izzet deck Urza's Saga has consistently out performed Strip Mine , Blast Zone , Gemstone Caverns , & Inventors' Fair which were the other options i was considering for the colorless land slot.

Metroid_Hybrid on About Urza's Saga in cEDH

1 month ago

The one place it may be good in is The Gitrog Monster . But I never built one, so IDK..

Neotrup on If Ashaya, Soul of the …

1 month ago

No. Abilities generally look at the object in the new zone to see if they trigger. Leaves the battlefield triggers are a big exception to this, they look object as it existed on the battlefield, however, because The Gitrog Monster doesn't specifically look at lands going to the graveyard from the battlefield, it only looks at how they exist in the graveyard.

603.6. Trigger events that involve objects changing zones are called "zone-change triggers." Many abilities with zone-change triggers attempt to do something to that object after it changes zones. During resolution, these abilities look for the object in the zone that it moved to. If the object is unable to be found in the zone it went to, the part of the ability attempting to do something to the object will fail to do anything. The ability could be unable to find the object because the object never entered the specified zone, because it left the zone before the ability resolved, or because it is in a zone that is hidden from a player, such as a library or an opponent’s hand. (This rule applies even if the object leaves the zone and returns again before the ability resolves.) The most common zone-change triggers are enters-the-battlefield triggers and leaves-the-battlefield triggers.

603.6c Leaves-the-battlefield abilities trigger when a permanent moves from the battlefield to another zone, or when a phased-in permanent leaves the game because its owner leaves the game. These are written as, but aren't limited to, "When [this object] leaves the battlefield, . . ." or "Whenever [something] is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . ." (See also rule 603.10.) An ability that attempts to do something to the card that left the battlefield checks for it only in the first zone that it went to. An ability that triggers when a card is put into a certain zone "from anywhere" is never treated as a leaves-the-battlefield ability, even if an object is put into that zone from the battlefield.

Russ1981 on If Ashaya, Soul of the …

1 month ago

If Ashaya, Soul of the Wild turns my creatures into lands, will I get the draw triggers from The Gitrog Monster when they die?

Load more