Riftsweeper

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Modern Masters Uncommon
Future Sight Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Riftsweeper

Creature — Elf Shaman

When Riftsweeper enters the battlefield, choose target face-up card that's removed from the game. Its owner shuffles it into his or her library.

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO)

0.01 TIX $0.03 Foil

Ebay

Have (4) ironax , bakeraj4 , TheRealPeaches , maR2307
Want (1) gosora

Riftsweeper Discussion

TearsInRain23 on My Arms, Your Hearse [[EDH]]

3 days ago

@Zenaku17: I have been meaning to put Eternal Witness and Replenish in this deck. Maybe even Nissa, Vital Force. I don't really care about enchantment recursion, all of my friends in my play group have a tendency not to run a lot if any removal for it and in most situations thy'd be dead cards. I don't like situational cards especially if they're not in my meta. No offense, but I think Riftsweeper is a terrible waste of a slot in commander. If I'm at such a loss from one exile effect in my commander deck that i need to take up the 99 on a worthless creature just to get it back (maybe, I mean it doesn't even put it into your hand) in that rare situation, I don't feel like my deck is properly completed or running well.

Zenaku17 on My Arms, Your Hearse [[EDH]]

3 days ago

This is a token deck and I see no cards for recovering your enchantments when they are destroyed. I also recommend Riftsweeper if one is exiled.

freakman13 on Other Options

2 weeks ago

For what you want, the only real option are Riftsweeper and Pull from Eternity. getting it back from your yard is easy enough afterwards. Riftsweeper also combos with it though. Any particular reason you want to use this card? And remember that Pull can be imprinted on an Isochron Scepter

DarkMagician on Other Options

2 weeks ago

Are there any other ways to get cards back from exile other than Riftsweeper?

Aethaleon on Does a card care how ...

2 weeks ago

I see, so my creatures could still be affected by an opponent's Riftsweeper too, even if it's under my Helvault.

sickrobot on [List - Multiplayer] EDH Generals by Tier

2 weeks ago

Hey sonnet666, thanks for the placement! That being said, I'd have to disagree on Varolz's placement, although I am biased. The deck does have some weaknesses, yes, but I can assure you that resiliency is not one of them. There are many ways to win even if a combo piece gets exiled or killed prematurely. Riftsweeper is a very powerful card, and can deal with a lot of the damage that exiling hulk does, and even if you can't get hulk back, you can still go for a manual Mike/Trike. I'd urge you to move Varolz to tier 2, as I feel that is where he is more accurately represented.

Leptys on Gitrog Land Combo

4 weeks ago

@n0bunga

Hello! texaslady's art indeed is very beautiful, not bad alters on your end either!

You're correct that Necropotence does exile cards when I discard them, but one thing to note is that the discarded cards each create a trigger that says "remove this card in your graveyard from the game", instead of exiling it outright via replacement effect. See the following ruling for the Necropotence:

6/8/2016: If the discarded card isnt put into your graveyard (due to an effect such as madness) or leaves your graveyard (perhaps because another effect returned it to your hand), it wont be exiled.

What this means in practice is that despite the popular belief, Necropotence doesn't disturb the combo we are running at all (unless you're trying to go off on your discard phase using it as your discard outlet, that requires changing phases). This is because when you discard Dakmor Salvage to an outlet with a Necropotence in play, you can stack the Gitrog draw trigger on top of the Necro's exiling trigger, dredging the land back to the safety of our hand before the exiling trigger from Necropotence resolves. Same applies for when we discard a Kozilek, Butcher of Truth: putting the shuffle trigger on top of the exiling trigger just shuffles the graveyard back to the library before any exiling occurs.

Finally, if you for some reason did exile any wincon cards, you can just continuously reanimate and sacrifice a Riftsweeper as long as you still have Necromancy and Culling the Weak in the deck aside from the Dakmor loop. This reshuffles any exiled cards back to our library, allowing us to restore even a large amount of pieces back from exile.

Regards on Faith of the Devoted, here's my write-up on how the card works as an optional backup wincon for the deck:

https://www.reddit.com/r/CompetitiveEDH/comments/6bkowu/state_of_the_deck_gitrog_dredge_posttournament/

Load more