Tale's End

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vintage Legal

Tale's End

Instant

Counter target activated ability, triggered ability, or legendary spell.

ILuvMtg on It's Just a Flesh Wound (Budget Almost-cEDH Meren)

3 days ago

ThatWeirdPerson, I had to think about this one, but I think that if you sacrifice Protean Hulk to Morbid Curiosity, then they can still use a Disallow or Tale's End to counter Protean Hulks trigger, but if they counter Morbid Curiosity then protean hulk gets the trigger. But don't take my word for it.

I also just realized I'm dumb because I misread Protean Hulk and thought that you get to put ALL creatures with mana cost of 6 or less on the battlefield, which just seemed ubsurd. But no, there was one word that I missed.

wallisface on Thing in the ice

3 months ago

Tale's End feels more like a sideboard card, as it’s be great in some matchups, but terrible in others. Maybe swap it with the Mana Leak? (Leak is a good mainboard card but a pretty weak sideboard option)

legendofa on Will Zedruu+Transcendence+Tales End+gifting to opponent …

8 months ago

Working through this step by step:

Starting point: Zedruu the Greathearted is on the battlefield and two players are at 21 life.

Step 1: Cast Transcendence. It resolves. The "20 or more life" ability triggers and goes on the stack.

Step 2: Before the triggered ability resolves, cast Tale's End targeting the triggered ability of Transcendence.

Step 3: Before Tale's End resolves, activate Zedruu's gifting ability, targeting Transcendence. It resolves, and an opponent gains control of Transcendence. State-based effects are checked, and Transcendence triggers for the opponent, putting the ability on the stack.

Step 4: The Transcendence ability affecting the opponent resolves, and that opponent loses. Transcendence is put into your graveyard.

Step 5: Tale's End resolves, countering the Transcendence ability affecting you. The stack is now empty.

Final result: One opponent has lost, and Transcendence is in your graveyard.

RonPaul21 on Will Zedruu+Transcendence+Tales End+gifting to opponent …

8 months ago

If Zedruu the Greathearted is on the battlefield under my control, I have more than 20 life, and I cast Transcendence then cast Tale's End in response to, and countering, the transcendence "loss" trigger, THEN, in response to that, used Zedruu's ability to gift Transcendence to an opponent with more than 20 life, would that make ONLY my opponent lose the game?

Trying to keep this brief due to the rules, but can go into detail if needed!

Goupe on Does Sundial work with Seht's …

8 months ago

Sundial of the Infinite can be used (like Tale's End) to prevent delayed triggers, by waiting until they go on the stack and then countering them.

Does this also work with preventing "until end of turn" effects from ending? For example, could you use Seht's Tiger with Sundial to gain protection indefinitely?

I've seen people online arguing both for and against this interaction working, so I'd appreciate an explanation of why it does or doesn't work.

Polaris on Yasharn?

11 months ago

Small addendum, if you counter the sac trigger with Tale's End or similar, it will go off on your opponent's end step since it says "at the beginning of the end step," not "at the beginning of your end step." If you counter it again, it will attempt to sac once more at the end of your next turn.

Omniscience_is_life on Yasharn?

11 months ago

Yasharn, Implacable Earth won't stop you from having to sacrifice Underworld Breach, because what causes you to do so is a triggered ability. Triggered abilities use the words "when" or "whenever" or "at". Activated abilities are written as "[cost]:[effect]".

Tale's End, however, can stop triggered abilities; so you will be able to keep Breach until your next end step... where it will trigger again.

Load more
Have (1) DudeMan1031
Want (2) rebirthgod , RipperMike