Jace, Telepath Unbound
Planeswalker — Jace
+1: Up to one target creature gets -2/-0 until your next turn.
-3: You may cast target instant or sorcery card from your graveyard this turn. If that card would be put into your graveyard this turn, exile it instead.
-9: You get an emblem with "Whenever you cast a spell, target opponent puts the top five cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard."
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Jace, Telepath Unbound Discussion
1 month ago
Jace, Telepath Unbound 's -3 is actually better than a Snapcaster Mage trigger at sorcery speed, on behalf of not using the actual keyword Flashback to recast your spell. You can pay alternative costs like Overload on a Cyclonic Rift when you target it with Jace, which Snapcaster can't, because the Flashback cost is an alternative cost itself.
10 months ago
It seems like you're running burn as your wincon.
Here are some cards that might help.
Since these are symmetrical burn, you could also run Glacial Chasm and stall it out. This is also the most important land card to run with these mono red sorcery finishers. Your Pariah is also a god level card with this setup. You might also consider Heartless Hidetsugu as a combo with these 2 cards.
For more drastic changes, you can fix around your landbase to cut a lot of nonbasics and add basics with a load of fetchlands, such as Fabled Passage, Prismatic Vista, , Ash Barrens, Terramorphic Expanse, Evolving Wilds, Myriad Landscape, Warped Landscape, some Panorama fetches, and keeping Flooded Strand + Scalding Tarn + Arid Mesa. I have this landbase in another of my burn decks and its fully sufficient for tri-colour commanders. In white, you get access to Land Tax as well so it helps further fix your mana - although in my experience with this landbase I would say its not even necessary.
With a basic land landbase, it opens you up to more burn, such as Price of Progress, Burning Earth. It also opens you up to hard stax cards if you have a vendetta against someone: Magus of the Moon, Blood Moon, Back to Basics.
An alternative package you can consider with your wheels is Narset, Parter of Veils and Alms Collector to discard their entire hand. You already have Smothering Tithe as well. Psychic Possession is also insane with wheels as it lets you draw 14 off a single wheel.
I would also just add Underworld Breach because its straight up insane.
You can also try Mana Geyser for a super explosive turn by recasting it from the graveyard again.
Dack Fayden is both a ramp card and a way to dump cards into your graveyard.
Some cards I see that you could also try cutting/changing are:
Land Tax - you can run ramp artifacts instead, such as Surveyor's Scope. Surveyor's Scope is an excellent card with many fetchlands as you can tap them to sac as a cost, then activate Surveyor's Scope for up to 3 basics untapped since your fetchland is no longer on the field. Or basically any other 2 mana rock will do.
I would consider Ral, Izzet Viceroy a bit too slow.
Long live our Overlord Sevinne
11 months ago
The thing to note with Snapcaster Mage is that it actually gives you an alternative cost to be paid, which in the case of Wheel of Fate means you can pay 0, because that's the card's converted mana cost.
Lurrus of the Dream-Den runs into the same problem as Jace, Telepath Unbound's -3 in that it doesn't give you an alternate cost to use, so you have to pay the spell's normal cost. Which as Tylord2894 explained, you can't do with spells with no mana cost.
1 year ago
To clarify. I'm using this site on mobile and the quick add function wouldn't allow me to add Jace, Unraveler of Secrets even when copy pasted instead Jace, Telepath Unbound was all that showed up. I was able to manually add it in the deck list. Sorry for the confusion.
1 year ago
I think those cards should be more than enough. I may be wrong but I think blue has all the colors to deal with noncreature decks / combo. The only other things I would suggest are Sorcerous Spyglass for planeswalkers and Relic of Progenitus for graveyard decks.
I can't see your decklist, but I would be very scared of facing a creature deck that builds up a massive board and maybe has a few disruptive cards winning because I didn't draw a fog or they disrupted me at the right moment. So, maybe something like AEtherize or Kiora-like effects like Jace, Telepath Unbound 's + ability
1 year ago
Ok Rules clarification.
On the Tapped Out, Rules Q & A
Somebody answered, cited official rule.
According to that.
Using Snapcaster Mage to cast graveyard instants, sorceries, those instants, sorceries, not saved, and are still exiled.
Jace, Telepath Unbound , the transformed, flipped side of Jace Vryn Prodigy 0/2 draw, discard creature, if use that to cast instants, sorceries, from graveyard, then those instants, sorceries are saved by Narset's Reversal, and not exiled instead.
So cant save Snapcaster instants, sorceries from being exiled.
Narset's Reversal is still a awesome card in this deck, and better then dual casting
1 year ago
Yes, if you use Jace, Telepath Unbound to recast the spell from your graveyard, it would go to your hand instead of exile, unlike with flashback.
From the Gatherer rulings for Jace, Telepath Unbound :
- The card is exiled only if it’s cast from the graveyard and put back into the graveyard (either by resolving or being countered). If, at any time, the card goes to a hidden zone (such as your hand or your library), the effect loses track of the card. It won’t be exiled, even if that card is put into your graveyard later that turn. (2015-06-22)
1 year ago
What about Jace, Telepath Unbound
It doesnt flashcast like Snapcaster Mage does, it just say that may cast instant, sorcery card, from graveyard, and that if the card would goto a graveyard, to exile it.
So if I use Jace's ability to cast a instant, sorcery, then Narset's Reversal copy it, it copies the instant, then sends it to my hand, then since it didnt go to graveyard, it doesnt exile.
So if I got this right:
Temporal Mastery is saved, not exiled
Jace casting instants, soceries from graveyard are saved.
Snapcaster Mage graveyard instants and sorceries are exiled.
Is that right then?