Stifle

Stifle

Instant

Counter target activated or triggered ability. (Mana abilities can't be targeted.)

Browse Alters

Trade

Have (1) Azdranax
Want (1) tgger000

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Arena Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Premodern Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Stifle Discussion

enpc on Can I retarget / neutralize …

1 month ago

For the first question, Leveler doesn't actually target, so you cannot retarget the ability. If it was worded as "When Leveler enters the battlefield, target player exiles their library" then you could, but as it currently stands it's not a targeted ability (and for good reason). You can however Stifle it and use Mystic Reflection in response to your opponent casting a creature spell.

As for the second question, yes. Because Phyrexian Dreadnought's ability is a triggered one, Stifle allows you to counter it. Similarly, cards like Torpor Orb would prevent it from activating at all. In their case however, the ability just doesn't happen rather than go on the stack and then getting countered.

Droolz on Can I retarget / neutralize …

1 month ago

Hey,

there are not many cards that retarget or neutralize creature abilities. but there are a few. Can I retarget Leveler triggered ability with Willbender so that my opponent mills his deck? Also can I neutralize Phyrexian Dreadnought ability with Stifle when it comes to play?

Thanks

PurePwnage on The effects of countering a …

2 months ago

Hello everyone,

Let's say my opponents taps thier fetch land (ex. Polluted Delta , Flooded Strand , Misty Rainforest , etc.), and in response I cast Stifle or Tale's End . What happens to the fetch land? I assume it goes to the graveyard?

Coward_Token on Adventures in the Forgotten Realms …

2 months ago

Not super innovative but I'd like to point out that for Tomb of Annihilation, a fairly cheap and quick way of reaching the end is to choose the Oubliette and then Stifle the rather harsh trigger. Might matter if there's a card with a powerful reward for having completing a dungeon.

(Also, Atropal should probably be Zombie Gods right?)

Guerric on Does Providence make your STARTING …

3 months ago

Yeah, Neotrup and seshiro_of_the_orochi are right. This is like Leyline of Anticipation in that you need to reveal it from your opening hand, which would dictate that happening before you draw a card, then on the first upkeep of the game (whether yours or your opponents) the triggered ability would go on the stack where it could be technically be hit with a Stifle effect if your opponents have it, though likely it being the first upkeep they don't.

Rhadamanthus on Stifle or Trickbind

3 months ago

That works, but it's because Stifle and Trickbind target the ability, itself, not the source of the ability. The ability on the stack is its own separate object.

In your example, when Gaea's Blessing is milled and its last ability triggers, the trigger goes onto the stack and people can make responses before it starts resolving. That's when you can target the ability with Stifle/Trickbind.

Wbg1415 on Stifle or Trickbind

3 months ago

Can Stifle or Trickbind target a card in a graveyard like Gaea's Blessing when it gets milled?

B0NGUS on Rograkh is the Final Boss

3 months ago

Removed Wear / Tear .

Added Dismantling Wave .

Cons: 1. Dismantling wave is more expensive most of the time.

  1. Dismantling Wave cannot target two pieces of one opponent.

Pros: 1. Dismantling Wave will often get three pieces.

2.Dismantling Wave can target multiple artifacts or multiple enchantments.

  1. The special action to cycle Dismantling Wave is not a spell, so to be countered it must be targeted with a Stifle or Voidslime effect, causing it to be a hard to avoid wipe.
Load more