Awaken mechanic with Jace, Telepath Unbound

Asked by SamariZach 4 years ago

Jace, Telepath Unbound allows a player to cast target instant or sorcery from his/her graveyard and exile it after resolution. My question is this: if I cast Planar Outburst from my graveyard using Jace, Telepath Unbound, will I be able to cast Planar Outburst for it's awaken cost?

I have build an "esper awaken" deck that heavily relies on this mechanic, but I have been unable to locate any official rulings. Based on simply reading the text of the cards, it seems perfectly legal, but I just want to double check.

Thanks

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Jace's ability doesn't specify that you must use a specific cost, so you're able to pay either the mana cost or the awaken cost, whichever you choose.

November 2, 2015 3:35 p.m.

SamariZach says... #2

Thank you Epochalyptik. I figured as much. Just want to be 100% sure before I build the deck.

November 2, 2015 4:05 p.m.

This discussion has been closed